We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“At least as good as the reviews state”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Halcyon

Happy holidays
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Happy holidays
Very comfortable beds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Happy holidays
Very comfortable beds
Bedroom two
Five star comfort
Enjoy the sunshine
Anyone for a BBQ?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Brighton, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Hubert B
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“At least as good as the reviews state”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

After the great reviews it was clear theat we would book the Halcyon for our 11 days stay in UK. Right decision. It was a pleasure from A-Z. The landlords where friendly and extremely accommodating. Internet connection with Smart-TV was always available which is important for kids as the weather was seasonally precisely what you would expect for December. Parking was no problem roadside in a safe residential area. Enough spaces just outside where always available.
Clean, spacious with friendly interior decoration as well as conveniently located within walking distance to Saintsbury and pubs it is a perfect place to stay in Brighton. The baby stroller could be parked under the stairs so it would stay dry and even a little garden with toys and a slide was available for the kids to get fresh air.
Highly recommendable for family with kids and also for singles or a couple who want their space. Definitively we will rebook on our next stay. Deposit has been returned very swiftly and 10 days ahead of the proposed date at the time of booking.
Thanks again to Bruce and Jill for a very nice stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2017
Hi, Thank you very much for your review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and it was lovely to meet you and your family. Hope to see you again in the future. Best wishes Julie and Bruce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very clean
Liked least: Everything was perfect
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Mar 2017
Thank you for your review we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt at home. We are very lucky that the apartment is in one of the very few streets in Brighton that has unresticted free parking. Walking is definitely a great way to see the local area, weather permitting , thankfully we also have a regular bus service only 2 mins walk away! Thank you again for choosing to stay at Halcyon. Best wishes Julie and Bruce.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clenless, the high standard of the flat, the cosy style of it, the amenities
Liked least: the noise which came from the neighbours above and the dampness in one bedroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Nov 2017
Thank you very much for your wonderful review, we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Linda S
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment but Noise from above ”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Firstly- this apartment is stunning! Immaculately clean and well furnished. There is so much space considering it's a basement flat and the outdoor decking is lovely.

We booked halcyon for our base and a weeks stay in Brighton. Booking was easy, The owners were brilliant and informative and when we arrived checked everything was to our liking. There was fresh flowers in the rooms and complementary tea and coffee- which I thought was a real bonus along with the lovely chocolate biscuits- fair trade too :) beds very comfortable and shower room lovely. Plenty storage space- it is a home from home really.

The area is beautiful and whilst the road was busy we always got parked ok. The park nearby was good for a run and our son enjoyed visiting. You can walk to the lanes or take a bus- they're really frequent and we found it easier than taking out suv into town and then struggling to park.

The only downside for us was sadly the noise from above. We of course did expect some noise but this was awful. It frightened our three year old at times. It felt and sounded like the residents above were going to come through the ceiling. They obviously have wooden floors and wear shoes indoors as well as kids running around- which again is expected to a degree. But the noise often continued until late at night and they had a party one evening where the children just ran around screaming and shouting until past midnight and the adults played abba very loudly.

For us, it spoilt our stay somewhat.

Like I say- there is no way you could pick fault with the apartment itself or the dedicated owners. Scoring the apartment alone would be 10/10 but sadly due to lack of sleep we couldn't give it the full marks. Perhaps it was just a bad week for us? All of the other reviews are possible and noise doesn't seem to have been a problem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased that you liked the apartment but really sorry that you were disturbed by noise from above which is very unusual and was due to a family party staying for a special birthday celebration. We live next door and have spoken to our neighbours who are also very sorry that you were disturbed. This was very unfortunate as our guests usually remark on how calm and peaceful the apartment is.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elspeth W
1 review
“Beautiful flat, excellent location for visiting friends and local sites.”
Reviewed 15 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We were really pleased with the flat, its amenities and location. It is by far the best holiday rental we've found in this country.

The only small negatives were a rather noisy dog in the flat next door (we have a toddler) and parking nearby was slightly challenging at times (and we always have bags plus an increasingly heavy child to carry!) but it was only a minor problem.

Overall, we were delighted with this rental and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2016
Thank you for your kind review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry that the dog disturbed you it belonged to a guests staying in our holiday flat nex door. We do not normally allow pets and made an exception on this occasion. Thanks again, best wishes Julie and Bruce.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing