We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (665)
Filter reviews
665 results
Traveller rating
133
230
139
83
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
230
139
83
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea front brighton centre bit dated street parking short stay four poster bed enjoyable stay sea view visiting brighton seafront
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 665 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018

We started off with a little mix up re parking. The two chaps on reception sorted it all out in a kind and friendly manner, a good start. Our room 107 was big with a lovely large window, not a great view though. The bed was massive and really comfortable. The bath and shower were very good too. I would suggest the room needing more or at least brighter lights. We didn't eat in so can't comment but breakfast smelt very good. Had a couple of drinks in the bar and played pool. It's an older style hotel, just what I want in Hove. Good location less than a minute from the front and close to lots of restaurants and bars.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

What a lovely review and thank you so much for visiting us from Hemel Hempstead. As you say 107 is a good choice albeit at the back of the hotel; maybe next time we could suggest a lovely front facing room, to give you a different perspective. You really were super guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

I have been staying in the imperial on a regular basis for the last 7 or 8 years.
I come here for the horse racing and the cricket and find the hotel has a perfect location near the seafront, close to the restaurants in hove and a lovely 20 min walk along the front into brighton.
I always find the staff very friendly and helpful , special mention to caroline who is so welcoming and efficient
I look forward to my next stay with you
Terry Yates

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank yatesterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

What a lovely reply and thank you so much. It is a delight seeing you each year with the hotel perfectly placed for the County Cricket ground. We too are excited about seeing you again and meanwhile, renewed thanks for your loyalty over so many good years

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Stayed one night at this hotel first Saturday in September, the room 319 was so disgusting ceiling was nearly falling and the bedsheets were covered in dry blood and the bathroom filthy with mould and rust.
My husband found biscuit crumbs on the carpet as though the room hadn't been cleaned and for the £145 we paid for the awful room, we should be claiming a refund.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Marylyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

This review is complete nonsense and motivated by the desire for a refund and no more. Our housekeeping team operate to the highest standards and this so called guest is very welcome to call back to the hotel when we can talk to them in detail about their alleged concerns

Verily the hotel bent over backwards to help these guests given their comments which I quote "Can we check in at 12pm as we are going to a wedding in early evening, thank you"

The hotel was not full on the night in question so it would have been an easy matter to allocate another room

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

Kind staff, comfortable and clean room with view on the sea. TV + nice sofas.
The only thing I would critisize is bath - the current of water is too low to wash your hair.
If you come back, they will give you 10% discount.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kouzelnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Thank you for this lovely review which is much appreciated. We are very much looking forward to seeing you again from Czech Republic but were sorry to learn the bath presented something of a challenge. Next time you visit please ask if reception can do anything more to help

Renewed thanks for your kind words and custom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Do NOT stay at this hotel. I very rarely write reviews on here - and they will always be good ones. But out of safety for other people who may stay in this hotel alone, I am writing this review.

A man let himself into our room whilst me and my friend were sleeping - he knocked on the door and then let him self in. Which obviously terrified us both, if this is the case when other people may be staying by themselves or even if not, it is totally unacceptable. I asked to speak to the manager when we checked out and was told they were not there and to complete a form. I am still yet to hear back.
Additionally, a member of staff (I assume?) came to tell us the room beneath had reported leaking from our bathroom. Unknown to us. She knocked on our door in the morning as we were getting dressed, my friend asked if she could wait a second whilst I put a top on - this woman then barged in to our room demanding to see the bathroom whilst I was stood topless.

I genuinely wish I was joking about this as it sounds ludicrous even when typing it!

Top Tip: Do not book this hotel

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank britalian88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

This is over-wrought and inaccurate. The only way another guest could "let themselves in our room" is if the door was not properly locked and with the other guest making a mistake. Every key - obviously - is different and if hotel staff need to visit a room they will always knock and where appropriate go in pairs. If what is being said is true about a leak, such matters must be dealt with immediately to save inconvenience to our others guests, potential serious damage to the building and a large bill for those responsible

So what is totally unacceptable is this guest not taking responsibility for their actions in not properly securing their door and then trying to blame the hotel

There is no case to answer here, more so given how seriously we take the security of our guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews