We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing ”
Review of Sea Life Brighton

Sea Life Brighton
Book In Advance
More Info
US$17,82*
and up
Sea Life Brighton Admission Ticket
Ranked #36 of 176 things to do in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Two years running 2014 and 2015 winner of 'The Best Place to Visit in Brighton & Hove' - Brighton and Hove Business Awards 2014 & 2015 Visit the world's oldest operating aquarium, right here in Brighton! Based opposite the iconic pier, SEA LIFE Brighton was built in 1872 and features 3,500 memorising creatures including turtles and sharks. For an additional cost you can admire our resident giant Sea Turtles Gulliver and Lulu, sharks, turtles, rays and tropical fish as they swim under your feet on the UK's first indoor glass-bottom boat. Take a look at our Behind The Scenes on an interactive experience which will immerse you into our working world. See first-hand how we care for over 3,500 sea creatures. With over 40 other world class displays we can ensure you will have an amazing discovery throughout your underwater dive. Don't forget to keep an eye out on our website for events throughout the year. We are open daily from 10am, with last admission from 4pm depending on time of year.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This aquarium is better suited to families with Young children. It took us about 20minutes to walk around and we were not impressed with the lack of signage.

Thank MsKMs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I have worked in the aquarium for 10 years, and I think I would struggle to walk around in 20 minutes. I think each of the talks when we feed the animals hourly take longer than that. I am sorry that you did not have more time to appreciate all of the displays and creatures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 871)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"glass bottom boat"
in 250 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 132 reviews
"sealife centre"
in 104 reviews
"underwater tunnel"
in 48 reviews
"giant turtles"
in 38 reviews
"boat ride"
in 35 reviews
"star fish"
in 30 reviews
"rainy day"
in 60 reviews
"gift shop"
in 60 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 67 reviews
"half term"
in 20 reviews
"few hours"
in 54 reviews
"great for kids"
in 20 reviews
"great attraction"
in 18 reviews
"beautiful building"
in 21 reviews
"tanks"
in 246 reviews
"aquarium"
in 283 reviews
Filter

25 - 29 of 1 871 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We come here fairly often as my 18 month old is obsessed with fish and aquariums, which makes the Sea Life centre perfect as it’s only a short distance from our house.

Only issue, when it’s raining in Brighton there’s very little to do that’s indoors, so the Sea Life centre gets incredibly busy.
Unfortunately, the management are happy to cram a lot of people in, meaning you end up shuffling shoulder to shoulder with people, not clearly seeing the exhibits and feeling rushed when you do get a look.

A rainy bank holiday weekend is the worst possible time to visit if you’re not a fan of crowds.

Thank jamiereid12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Jamie, I totally agree with you, our busiest days are wet bank holidays, so I would also recommend visitors try to plan there visit not based on weather conditions.

We carefully control flow of visitors, but in order not to disappoint people it is a careful balance between slowing the flow through admissions and manageing the queue line expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I took my adult Autistic son here and he loved it. I thought it would be quieter to go when the doors are just opening however it was actually quite busy with little people but it was still ok and not too noisy. The experience is very good, with lots of interesting facts, and so many fish to view you can see why it is so popular. My son survived without sensory overload, and the staff were also very helpful too.

There are plenty of parking spaces very near to the venue, and car parks nearby too.

Thank Sunnyside2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to review, and pleased your son had a pleasurable experience as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was a fantastic place for all ages with a very large variety of sea life. Our daughter had an amazing time and a reasonable cafe inside. Was a bonus to hide from the rain for a few hours.

Thank Snarce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for choosing to shelter from the weather with us. Delighted we made is so pleasurable for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a great trip, our two boys (2 & 4) loved it and so did the adults. The glass boat is worth the £4 each. The staff here are helpful and enjoy what they do. I would recommend a trip here for a young family. Visited on Easter Sunday not very busy.

Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max L, General Manager at Sea Life Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Will, thanks for taking the time to review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Life Brighton also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Sea Life Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing