We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
125
98
43
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
125
98
43
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south downs way the pub modern section newer part lovely village water bowl feature room ribeye steak guinea fowl welcome drink heritage room pretty village rose garden log fire family wedding great bathroom seven sisters
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2016

The front old part of the hotel was really old and full of character and although the bedrooms had been recently refurbished, the designer had missed the mark with regards to a boutique type establishment. We were put in one of their "feature rooms" but it was too dark and the carpet reminded me of my student days and overall it left us with the impression of a dingy hotel. Despite it being really good weather, the heating in the bathroom was still going strong resulting in an uncomfortably hot room. The bar food was good but the barman was somewhat off hand. Chose this hotel as close to Newhaven and we had an early boat to catch but no time for breakfast which surprisingly did not start until 8 am.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonyC1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarAfriston, General Manager at The Star at Alfriston, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2016

Dear TonyC1948,

Thank you for taking the time to send in a review.

It is a shame that you didn't enjoy the décor and style of our refurbished rooms. Certainly we cannot cater for everybody's taste which is, as you imagine, extremely broad across the spectrum of taste, age and expectation.

The overwhelming majority of visitors love the look and feel of our bedrooms which have been designed to weave the heritage and age of the building, with the modern needs of today's traveller.

We do apologise for the heating which should have been turned down or off. You don't mention whether you enquired at reception about this? We would have taken immediate action to sort this out at your request.

We are glad that you enjoyed the food, and we will speak with our bar staff to find out what was happening. Our service is something we take extremely seriously, and I am surprised at this.

Breakfast can be ordered earlier than 8am, but it will be a continental offer. We work to the needs of our guests, of which only a tiny minority require breakfast earlier. However if breakfast is required earlier, it is no problem at all and easy to arrange.

Once again, by speaking with reception, breakfast could easily have been ordered for earlier, enabling you to eat before boarding the ferry.

Many Thanks

Julie Garvin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

I recently visited this restaurant with a view to booking a table for my 85 year old father and myself. that evening. We were staying at Deans Place in Alfriston but fancied a change of scenery. I was informed at lunchtime that there would be no need to book a table for that evening as there were very few bookings. However, when I turned up for dinner, we were curtly told that all tables were booked and we were turned away. The attitude of the barlady was rude, uninterested and very unhelpful.. I would say do not eat at the Star as the attitude stinks - go and eat and stay at Deans Place - you will love it!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
10  Thank kevin6310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarAfriston, General Manager at The Star at Alfriston, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2016

Dear kevin6310,

As you can see by previous reviews, service is a very strong area of The Star, and something which we take incredibly seriously.

We are completely aware of the evening in question and your own unfortunate attitude as opposed to ours. All of our tables were reserved and this all happened in a very short space of time, so therefore our staff were entirely accurate earlier in the day.

When this was clearly and politely explained to you, you decided that you didn't want to take 'no' for an answer.

When the inn is quiet earlier in the day and no tables are booked for the evening, it is reasonable and understandable of us to inform customers that tables will probably be free. We were very surprised (and delighted) when we had a sudden rush of bookings.

To respond as you have is unfortunate, and ultimately the loss will be yours as we are very popular with diners and those popping in for a drink.

We do recommend that people use Tripadvisor responsibly. When we are at fault, genuinely, we have no hesitation in apologising and putting things right immediately, and most often with generous recompense such as a free meal or accommodation.

Where criticism is unfair or unfounded we stand by our great team of staff and the sound reputation of our successful inn.

Best regards to you,

Julie Garvin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed here whilst walking the South Downs Way as it goes straight past the front door! We had a room in the old part which was lovely - big bathroom, let down by the shower in the bath and the dreaded shower curtain. The bath is positioned by a window with nets, which makes you feel a little on view whilst you shower. Buffet breakfast OK, but experience was made by the delightful Lydia (?) who was so adorable we could have taken her home! REception was also incredibly helpful and friendly.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Pythonicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarAfriston, General Manager at The Star at Alfriston, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Dear Pythonicus,

Thank you for taking the time to review our inn.

I am sorry your shower was not up to standard - not sure whether you meant it wasn't working well, or that you didn't like the combination?

We will double check that the fittings and power are as they should be for our guests.

As an inn we do not offer a separate shower cubicle and a bath. We pride ourselves on our rooms, but I'm afraid to get both as separate is rather beyond our remit!

Very pleased that you found our staff to be so welcoming and attentive.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016

A bit depressing as restaurant closed and all tables reserved in the bar. Not brilliant food, no flair, ribeye steak would have been better in a sandwich and triple cooked chips were far to oily and had a rather strange taste.
Staff attentive but twice bought us two glasses of wine that we hadn't ordered!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarAfriston, General Manager at The Star at Alfriston, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Dear Alan D,

We are surprised by your negative review, which certainly isn't the experience of the overwhelming majority of our guests who rate our service, food, décor and accommodation as extremely good.

Our restaurant is only used for functions these days, and hasn't been used as such for a long time. This is because everybody clamours to eat in the bars and pub area, and the restaurant option only appeals to a far older clientlele.

We are very surprised about your comments regarding the food, and wondered if you mentioned this at the time to your waiter? We hope you will return and we will guarantee you a positive experience.

We are glad that you noticed our staff as being attentive; sorry for the doubling up of your drinks order, and we have spoken to our bar staff about this.

Thanks again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

I visited with 9 other's for a friendly days walking, eating and drinking. The breakfast was excellent, with a warm welcome from a Scottish member of staff. She was could not have tried harder. The walk to Eastbourne was first rate, and a taxi back brought us back to Alfriston. As a group requiring some re hydration after the days endeavors, the hotel was downright rude. At 7 oclock they didnt want us to drink due to the fact that they were focused on food. When we returned later having tried and failed to find a welcome in the George inne acrosss the road, the star Inn said the bar was closed at 10.40. As residents, this was simply unacceptable.
So to fellow walkers, this is our experience. If you fancy a walk, and then a drink free night, the star Inn is for you. I for one will not come be back.

Room Tip: We we in a prefab out the back. Ask for an old one.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bensy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarAfriston, General Manager at The Star at Alfriston, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2016

Dear bensy1,

We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.

It is extremely unusual to hear of any of our staff ever being rude; we have never encountered comments about our staff like this.

Our bar was open and countless people are served every day - we certainly would never suggest that you can only drink if you eat with us?!

It is not clear which day you were staying; if it was Bank Holiday Monday the bar did close slightly earlier after an extremely busy weekend, and this might be why this happened across the road. However as residents you of course can continue being served.

I have to say that 'if you fancy a walk...and a drink free night' is rather far fetched, and certainly not how we operate, or is it in any way familiar with the rest of our guests' experiences who stay with us.

Thank you

Julie Garvin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews