We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“brilliant !”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Milkwood

Outside of house facing Square
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside of house facing Square
Kitchen Master Bedroom with king bed not showing TV/DVD and seating, en-suite through arch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Outside of house facing Square
Kitchen
Master Bedroom with king bed not showing TV/DVD and seating, en-suite through arch
Multyork sofa in master bedroom
Bedroom 2 with King bed
bedroom 2 en suite
Bedroom 3
Upstairs seating area overlooking square
Enclosed garden with 10 person table/chairs on decking, clothes dryer
Leisure room with washing machine
Lounge from Garden door
Lounge looking to garden (sofa behind door)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rafaman
Cramlington
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“brilliant !”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have rented many holiday properties but this was the best ever. Our party of 9 (children and grandchildren) could not have had better accommodation. The house was so spacious and was equipped to a very high standard with everything we could possibly need for a holiday stay. Convenient quiet location within walking distance of the seaside and also accessible for inland Suffolk. Lots of helpful information from the owner who has obviously given much thought to the comfort and convenience of his guests. A superb enclosed garden, ideal for children, and an enormous dining kitchen. A comfortable lounge and spacious en-suite bedrooms make this the ideal choice for a family holiday. I cannot reccomend it too highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of furnishing and equipment.
Liked least: Honestly, there was nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyearley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, nice house for a large family”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay in milkwood, the large enclosed garden was fantastic for our toddler to potter around in, the house was a good size and well equipped. Lacked a bit of decor that would have made it feel more homely and the beds weren't the most comfortable but that's a very personal thing anyway, neither of which greatly impacted on the holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
675Lesley...
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This was such spacious well appointed accommodation I would not hesitate to recommend it.”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a party of 9 people who represented three generations of the family staying here over Easter. There was so much room it was great-it was always possible to find a quiet corner to relax. The two master bedrooms are beautifully appointed and other twin rooms are spacious. We could all congregate in the large kitchen diner to eat and this was a real focus. The games room in the garage was a great extra to have and kept the kids, big and small , amused for hours.
We were happy to walk into Southwold each day to avoid parking which is a problem at busy times, but it is a good 20 min to get to the High Street. The town has so much to offer, we managed to fit golf, tennis and cycling into our short stay.
The owner, who had handled the booking throughout promptly, met us on arrival and explained everything carefully-this was very helpful and he was willing to listen to suggestions for small improvements.
This would be ideal for two families or like us, an extended group. It was very good value compared to the cost of similar size properties in Southwold which we have used before.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quality of the accommodation-it did not feel like a holiday home
Liked least: lack of internet access
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie P
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The keys to a little piece of British seaside heaven”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We took my mother in law for her 70th birthday treat with 4 grandchildren and 4 adults. It's a lovely property, really comfy beds, plenty of space, good sized garden and only a short walk to Southwold. The owners leave all the essentials, lots of local information and great tips on places to eat. There is a fantastic Indian delivery service where the lady makes delicious Indian food at home and delivers it herself. The pubs and restaurants nearby serve great fish and seafood and are really child friendly too. We took a RIB speedboat out for the day, the sun was shining and the kids were screaming with glee. It was a glorious sunny, English seaside weekend to remember.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sjmassey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High quality accommodation which is great for families.”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely week at Milkwood. The house is spacious, clean & very homely. The kitchen is very well equipped with plenty of equipment for 8. Lovely big garden for the children to use up some energy & table tennis was also very popular. Owners very helpful-even set up the sky box for us on arrival. Price also very reasonable especially for Easter hols. Great position as only about 5 mins from southwold with great beaches. Only minor issue was the lack of wifi but I guess some people would be happy to do without checking those emails for a week!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$202
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing