We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gardeners Cottage

Gardeners Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gardeners Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Gardeners Cottage
Sherborne Castle built by Sir Walter Raleigh
Sherborne Abbey
Dorset Coast
Perfect end to the day
Beautiful in Winter too!
Cosy at Christmas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sherborne, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bet2010
1 review
“Could be a lovely cottage with a good clean and a bit of tlc”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Would have appreciated a 'hello' or a note from owner on arrival. Lovely big bedroom and shower but there was a damp smell and the whole place needed a good clean and a bit of attention, particularly the bathroom.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2015
I have found in the past that most guests do not wish to have contact with me but will approach me if they do and I therefore operate on this basis. I am an extremely busy single working mother and my information to my guests is that I will leave the key in the door so they can let themselves in and a number to contact me should they wish to do so. I do note however that you did not mention the welcome cream tea that was provided free of charge. The cottage is I believe well maintained and not damp. The natural stone floor tiles are discoloured In places due to the fact that guests do not always appreciate the correct way to look after them and there is obviously wear and tear. It is at the end of the day a warm stylish and comfortable retreat that has received good reviews.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raleda13
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Had three nights at gardeners cottage with my partner, we both enjoyed our time at this little gem if you are looking for peace and quiet than look no further. On the small side but was perfect for a get away lovely decor and large shower.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: shower
Liked least: Garden is overly private
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable and good size bedroom
Liked least: Bathroom
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mollyben
Shanklin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

It wasn't an accurate description of this holiday let, there was no private garden it was a patch of grass in there front drive, I don't feel there was privacy in the accommodation as you are over looked by the main house and there were no views from any windows.
There was no working wifi in the property. I would not recommend this to any tall person as myself and my husband could not stand up strait in the attic sitting room, I wouldn't ever stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Leaving
Liked least: The accommodation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed
Liked least: Small kitchen area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$84
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing