We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect retreat!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Summers day at The Stables
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Summers day at The Stables
The Stables with view of the tennis court and the Hay Barn The Stables and winter log store
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Summers day at The Stables
The Stables with view of the tennis court and the Hay Barn
The Stables and winter log store
Sumptuous kings size bed with deep 1400 pocket sprung mattress and soft 400 count pure cotton linen.
Cosy living area and breakfast room
Log burner and ample supply of logs for cold winter nights! Stables doors open to a sunny patio.
Well Equipped Kitchen.
Modern Bathroom With Large Shower.
Nothing better than a Summer complimentary Cream tea if your ETA is between 2.30 and 5.00pm
Our home and The Stables
View of the paddock
Some of the animals who share our paddock
More Of Clare Cottage
Orphan Lambs
The Beautiful Valley We Call Home
If You Are Up Early Our Sunrise Can Be Breath Taking Too.
The Stunning Sunests At The Village Of Stowell.
What Ever The Weather Is Doing There Is Always A Warm Welcome At The Stables At Clare Cottage.
For A Special Occasion Why Not Take A Balloon Ride
The Arresting  Beauty Of The Jurassic Coast.  Taken From Above The Village Of Abbotsbury.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sherborne, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris W
Pershore, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect retreat!!”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Couldn't fault a thing! Beautiful surroundings, friendly owners and everything we needed for a lovely break away - even a cream tea on arrival, a lovely touch! We will definitely be back :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Definitely the log fire
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2015
Pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and got to know this part of the country a bit. There is still plenty more to discover, so do come and visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia G
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You couldn't want for more”
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I booked the Stables having read all the glowing reviews, we didn't actually stay in that particular accommodation due to the owners kindness to a lady in need who had moved into the hamlet and found her new home unfurnished. We were upgraded to the Tack Room which was beautiful in every way. Clare cottage accommodation as a whole is beautiful, all well maintained and well thoughtout. The bed is as comfortable as all the reviews say. Thank you very much to Sarah (the owner) who was helpful and thoughtful - we had a night cap all provided as we were a late arrival.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2015
Thank you for accepting the upgrade, it really helped out.. and gave us a nice oportunity to show you our new property which we are very proud of. The Tack Room (and Middle Stable) does make our accommodation more flexible for families and friends to stay together especially for wedding parties and birthday celebrations when extended family may be visiting the area together, as it enables people to be together but in their own space. We enjoyed having you, do come and see us again ... I should have taken out shares in the mattress company!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roving805...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely Romantic retreat.”
Reviewed 8 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We have just had a Very relaxing weekend at the Stables and we can't fault a thing about it. A nice warm welcome from Sarah and her Husband, then shown around the Stables and to be left to settle in and enjoy the beautiful surroundings and comfortable interior. Sarah and her Husband were fantasic hosts and were there if we needed anything at all without being intrusive, we felt relaxed throughout our stay with the warmth of the log burner and the most comfortable bed. Zzz lush. Everything was clean and spotless, all down to taking pride in what they do. Sarah provided excellent communication from the first contact and throughout the booking. Thankyou both so much. X

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2015
Thank you both for a lovely review, you are such a lovely couple and we really did enjoyed having you...we do hope you will come and visit again soon! Thank you so very much for leaving The Stables spotless, it was a joy to walk in there when you left. I don't think I am supposed to advertise on this response, so I will send the name of the mattress to your e-mail address. Have a wonderful Summer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy B
Egham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic Retreat”
Reviewed 15 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I were looking for somewhere to spend Valentines weekend when we came across The Stables at Clare Cottage. We weren't intending to book somewhere there and then but when we considered the price, read the description and the wonderful reviews we couldn't resist, so decided to book there and then (I think the goose feather duvet had something to do with it!).
Our expectations were more than met from the moment we received directions from Sarah in our inbox. Every need was catered for, from the offer of eggs, a breakfast hamper and a list of local pubs. The property itself was fully equipped with everything we needed. Although the kitchen was small we managed to produce a 3 course dinner. The bed was to die for and my boyfriend will now be investing in a goose feather duvet.
The location itself is remote and idyllic for any couple wanting to get away to spend quality time together.
The wood burner was another big highlight which provided more than enough warmth for the entire property and added to the romantic feel. For those fond of country walks, you won't be disappointed and the views were spectacular.
We would love to return!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The duvet
Liked least: The lack of oven
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2015
Thank you for a glowing review! We are so glad you enjoyed your Valentine weekend at our little hideaway, it is so lovely to hear from our guests that we are getting it right. We shall look forward to seeing you again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessiet6
1 review
“Amazing & relaxing break!”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Had an amazing stay this weekend in The Stable! The cleanest place I have ever stayed well looked after with a lot of TLC it goes unmissed! Me and my boyfriend could not fault it one bit, had the best 2 nights sleep in the comfyest bed in the world! Already on planning our next trip with family and friends:-) Thanks again for the warm and friendly welcome!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2014
Looking forward to see you both again soon, we shall also look forward to welcoming your family next time round! Thank you for a lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing