We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just perfect !”
other travellers have booked this property
Central but so peaceful 
'A hidden gem' as quoted by one of our guests
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Central but so peaceful 
'A hidden gem' as quoted by one of our guests
Fantastic location within a private courtyard yet only 2mins walk to the High St, Restaurants, Pubs Large comfortable sofa for relaxing
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Central but so peaceful 
'A hidden gem' as quoted by one of our guests
Fantastic location within a private courtyard yet only 2mins walk to the High St, Restaurants, Pubs
Large comfortable sofa for relaxing
Everything you need to feel at home on your holiday
Well appointed kitchen with lots of worktop area
A warm welcome always awaits.
A comfortable and spacious dining area for four.
Fresh white linen and soft colours thoughout the bedrooms
Master Bedroom with comfortable king size bed, TV with DVD, large wardrobe and ample storage.
Two quality 3' 6' beds and a flat screen TV with DVD
A fresh morning swim is just a few yards away, in a large open-air heated pool (open until Oct)
Shaftesbury High Street leading up to the Famous Gold Hill and Abbey Ruins.
There are lots of family events held in Shaftesbury throughout the year.
A great cafe at the top of Gold Hill, with tasty reasonably priced breakfast, lunches and good cakes
The Famous Gold Hill.
Gold Hill has a fantastic and very interesting museum.
The Abbey Ruins is a lovely place to spend a sunny afternoon.
King Alfreds kitchen looks over the market square.  See Easter Cottage for more Shaftesbury photos
Fun for the young ones at Gold Hill Fair
St Peters Church in the background, another great day out
Summer is a lovely time of year to stroll around the old town
Shaftesbury is a wonderful view point for watching the Blackmore Vale's sunsets
A great place to be in all seasons
The beautiful Stourhead gardens and house just a short drive away.
Lovely walks in the bluebell woods of Duncliffe (2 miles away)
The ancient Angel Lane leading up to Summer Lodge Cottage from Shaftesbury High Street.
Interesting Olde World Pubs to visit
Interesting country lanes
Walk the Jurassic Coast - Approx. 1 hour's drive away.
Lovely country roads well off the beaten track
Corfe Castle to Swanage Steam Railway - Another great day out!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Shaftesbury, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
GrandadTe...
Stevenage
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just perfect !”
Reviewed 8 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Welcomed by Dawn with a magnificent bowl of fruit, plus numerous essentials - in fact the best welcome pack we have ever received. Thank you Dawn. One phone call to her approx 30 minutes before our arrival ensured she gave us a tour of inspection and 2 keys. Parking was in the courtyard outside.

It was very quiet there despite being so close to the main high street and a large Tesco only a 2 minute walk away or to Tesco's own car park, perhaps a little longer.

The shower room was upstairs and quite large. The ground floor toilet only was adequate. The whole cottage was spotless but had a lot of ornaments etc so that any boisterous children would have to have a chat before being "let loose".

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
chrtay1
Indio, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Restful stay in the centre of Shaftesbury”
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My family and I have stayed in other cottages in Shaftesbury but we decided to try Summer Lodge for a number of reasons. Firstly, parking in town can be a major hassle and this cottage comes with its own parking spot. Secondly, the location is ideal for walking to the various sights and eateries around Shaftesbury. Lastly, the front of the cottage is located in a courtyard which is very peaceful and quiet.

The cottage itself is light and airy with a good sized sitting room and comfortable sofa. It is very tastefully decorated with cute touches around the house. The kitchen is very well equipped with everything one needs to prepare meals if needed. Ashley provides a "Welcome Basket" containing enough provisions to avoid having to shop on arrival day. The beds are comfortable and there are TVs in both bedrooms. There is ample storage space with a large wardrobe in the main bedroom. The shower was wonderful with ample room, pressure and hot water. A second toilet is located downstairs. Wifi is also available.

Our favourite cafe is the Salt Cellar which is located at the top of Gold Hill. We have stayed in Shaftesbury a number of times and always make a point of having lunch there on at least one day. Not sure if reservations are required but it tends to get busy at lunch time. There are 2 Indian restaurants in town. Chutneys gets very good reviews but we prefer Aroma which is located in the Bell Street Car Park. We also had a Sunday Roast at the Royal Chase Hotel. This was one of the best Sunday lunches I have had in the UK with a good carvery and ample choice of side dishes.

We have already reserved another week in February during our next trip to England. Looking forward to another restful and stress-free week!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane B
Lebbeke, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Cosy nice & very quiet little cottage in the centre of Shaftesbury!”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a wonderful lovely spring break in Summer Lodge in Shaftesbury. All attractions in the town are indeed walkable & the cottage itself is though small very practical and absolutely quiet. The kitchen was fully equipped & there was enough information about sightseeing attractions nearby. Ashley made us feel very welcome thanks to the basket of fruit, bread, biscuits etc... Thanks ever so much!
Definitely to be recommended!
Diane, Wim, Remi & Victor (the boys also loved it there)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin_and...
Reigate, Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Still Excellent!!”
Reviewed 18 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Said at the end of our previous review (dated 24 October 2016) that we'd go back again, and we did!!

Just returned from a week chilling out at Summer Lodge. Same lovely cottage as last autumn, same friendly, helpful hostess Dawn, same welcome provisions to start off the fridge and larder, again much appreciated. Nothing much else changed around Shaftesbury other than Budgens has closed, leaving Tesco (about 4-5 minute walk) as the only supermarket in town.

Still highly recommended, and many thanks again to Dawn for another very enjoyable stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing