We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful!”

Review of Gable Cottage

Gable Cottage with Traditional Shepherd's Hut
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gable Cottage with Traditional Shepherd's Hut
Well Equipped Country Kitchen Sitting Room with Wood Burner, Flat Screen T.V. and DVD Player and HiFi
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Gable Cottage with Traditional Shepherd's Hut
Well Equipped Country Kitchen
Sitting Room with Wood Burner, Flat Screen T.V. and DVD Player and HiFi
Principal Bedroom Double Aspect
Principal Bedroom Double Aspect
Second Double Bedroom
Character Bedroom, day bed, can sleep two, ideal for children
Bathroom with electric shower over bath
Great Views and award winning roses
Outside Terrace in Private Garden with stunning views over local countryside
Private driveway with secure parking
Adjacent Shepherd's Hut, sleeps two included in price
Inside the traditionally restored Shepherd's Hut
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Shaftesbury, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jen198120...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 22 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a week stay, with young children absolutely perfect spotlessly clean, beds lovely linen and super comfy! All amenities spot on! lovely welcome gift of choccies wine n brekkie! Highly recommended we will definitely be bk Christmas would be lovely!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your kind words, really appreciate you leaving the cottage so clean and tidy. Look forward to welcoming you back to Berwick St John.

Louise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shinyrain...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely detached holiday cottage”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Set in a pretty location, this is a clean, comfortable and very well equipped cottage. Had a relaxing stay.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
369jackie...
Aveley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 3 days and we loved the cottage and it's location it is so peaceful and relaxing only hearing natures noises as in birds sheep etc. We all slept well in comfortable beds with clean fresh linen and there was a welcome hamper with a lovely selection of food for us to use and wine x
Fresh flowers were throughout the cottage. Selection of books games to use and a lot of places to sit in the garden. It truly is a lovely place to stay we will go back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harriet A
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet and very comfortable and pretty”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Gable Cottage is a very sweet cottage, beautifully decorated and very comfortable and well equipped. We were celebrating my 60th birthday and also Easter and Louise had decorated the house with a pretty Easter tree and lots of tulips as well as making me a birthday cake and buying special 60 candles and birthday banner and napkins, a really incredible amount of delicious Easter treats as well. We had a lovely few days in this quiet village and enjoyed some great walks. Hoping to return to this beautiful area. The shepherd's hut is so charming and very comfortable too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelott...
Buckinghamshire
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Let me start by saying I have never stayed in a cottage (and we have stayed in a few!) where such an amazing welcome pack is provided and there are fresh flowers in most of the rooms. Such a lovely surprise.

The cottage is very comfortable and everything you need and more is provided. Nice quiet village about 10 mins from Shaftesbury and 40 mins from Salisbury. We enjoyed some great days out to longleat, Salisbury, Clarks village... Local pub with good food. Highly recommended if you are staying in the area :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing