We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cottage, well situated and very dog...”
other travellers have booked this property
West Lane Cottage sleeps 4 plus dogs.  It has 2 reception, 1 bath, 1 shower, 1 cloakroom  and wi-fi
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
West Lane Cottage sleeps 4 plus dogs.  It has 2 reception, 1 bath, 1 shower, 1 cloakroom  and wi-fi
West Lane Cottage is on the left, set amongst thatched cottages The warm and cosy lounge has TV with Sky, DVD player, wi-fi, I pod docking station, tourist guides
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
West Lane Cottage sleeps 4 plus dogs.  It has 2 reception, 1 bath, 1 shower, 1 cloakroom  and wi-fi
West Lane Cottage is on the left, set amongst thatched cottages
The warm and cosy lounge has TV with Sky, DVD player, wi-fi, I pod docking station, tourist guides
The cottage was built with reclaimed materials and this ethos is echoed inside
The oak dining table looks out onto the garden in this light and bright dining area
The kitchen was new in 2015 and has everything you could possibly want for a self catering holiday
The snug has a dvd player, a large supply of games, books and DVDs - a quiet place to sit and read
The double bedroom  is en suite and has plenty of storage and looks over the Old Rectory
Have a good soak after a long walk - the good sized bathroom was refitted in 2013
The twin bedroom has a wardrobe and bedside cabinet and views over The Old Rectory
West Lane is a bridle path adjoining the cottage - you can take a fab circular walk of an hour
The Millennium Green play and picnic area is a short walk down the bridle path and adjoins the River
You can take a variety of country walks from the back door - some wonderful views to be had
Dogs are welcome!  The adjacent bridle path is such a boon for walks, if a little muddy after rain
Dogs are allowed all year round at Kimmeridge Bay - take in Corfe Castle on the way
Take the opportunity to try a Dorset cream tea - this at Moreton Tea Rooms (room for dogs outside)
The Dorset County Show is a great event
The fabulous Thimble Inn is a short stroll down the bridle path
The Iron Age Fort at Maiden Newton is incredible
Don't miss a trip to Sherborne - Abbey, Castle and wonderful 'different' shops and galleries
Thomas Hardy is buried at Stanford, just down the road
Sculpture by the Lakes - a peaceful haven nearby
Poundbury near Dorchester - visit to see Prince Charles' vision of a modern way of life
No visit to Lyme Regis is complete without fish and chips!
Beauty at Charmouth - home of fossils and a wonderful beach
The Blue Vinny at Puddletown never disappoints
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Dorchester, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ann B
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful cottage, well situated and very dog friendly”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a lovely stay in this very comfortable, well appointed cottage. The cottage is spacious, very clean and tidy and has all the facilities you need. The gate from the back garden leads directly onto a country lane (no vehicle access) from where you can enjoy walks around the lovely Dorset countryside. Excellent if you are a dog owner or keen walker. Piddlehinton is a good base from which to explore Dorset. There is a good pub in the village which is welcoming and the food is good.
The owners made the booking / rental process very straightforward and professional and lots of local, helpful information was sent to us prior to our stay.We would recommend a stay in this lovely cottage for a 'get-away from it all', relaxing holiday..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cottage and its situation within the village and in Dorset
Liked least: No dislikes
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Nov 2014
So sorry that I seem to have missed this review when you submitted it. Lovely to ready that you enjoyed the cottage and its surroundings including the Thimble Inn which has just been refurbished and given and updated menu - we have had very favourable feedback! We plan to have the kitchen at the cottage updated over the winter so perhaps you will be back to try it out next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ppotti123...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delightful - A real Home from Home”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Booking was very easy and made very smooth by the owner's communications. Helen assisted along the way with all the information we could need and responded very quickly to our e-mails. The cottage is tucked away of the main road as part of the delightful village of Piddlehinton. It is a semi detached cottage with parking alongside the property on a hardstanding and a bridlepath (no vehicles) to the other side. The cottage faces onto the main road - but it's rural position means that any traffic is very limited. It has a simple but delightful small courtyard back garden which is fully enclosed and safe for dogs and little people. Bit of a sun trap when it comes out in Dorset. The semi open plan downstairs gives a feeling of a lot of space and it flows really well - it can be as open or closed as you need and is fantastically cozy at night. Upstairs there are two bedrooms - both to the front of the cottage - along with an en-suite shower to the master and a quite spacious and well set out family bath room. The cottage is very well furnished, beautifully decorated and very thoughfully equipped. A measure of the care the owners take is the high quality spotless bedding and soft furnishings. Everything you could possibly want is provided - in particular the very impressive range of dvd's books and games in the small 'snug' - great for kids of all ages.
The village doesn't have a shop - but the Post Office in the nearby Piddletrenthide provides for anything you may have forgotten. Dorchester - which is just a few miles away has all the normal big shops and supermarkets. As you would expect from Dorset there are numerous organic and farm suppliers.
Eating out well is easy - with great Inns and restaurants either a short walk or drive away - and the owner has provided a fantastic HUGE folder of info in the cottage.
Piddlehinton is within easy driving distance of many of Dorset's great attractions - but is is a very quiet location with real 'dark skies' - amazing for relaxation.
We would definitely go back again - and after staying in many rentals - this one comes highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage is very well furnished and equipped
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a thorough review which I am sure will benefit future readers. It is gratifying to know that people appreciate that we really do try and make our cottages "homes" and not just holiday lets - we stay ourselves as often as we can and we aim to provide all you could need.

We were pleased to hear from you during your holiday that you particularly enjoyed the Martyrs Inn at Tolpuddle and hope that you manage to visit The Thimble in Piddlehinton next time you are in Dorset - latest reviews on this site looking very good!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maykins
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant property would love to stay here again”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed for a week in november as the weather was getting colder and always returned to a cosy homely house. This was a lovely place to stay the layout was good and the two bedrooms a very good size. Having the washing machine and dishwasher was a real luxury on holiday with a little one. We appreciated all the information about places to go and things to do, will definately reccommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2013
It is a cosy place isn't it? - I think "cosy" is the word most used by people! You'd be welcome to return any time and when your little one is bigger they can enjoy the play area down the bridle path!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great cottage to stay in for your holiday!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed staying in this pretty cottage - it had everything you'd want from a holiday rental. Every home-comfort had been thought about for us and even our dog. The owners have recently added Wi-Fi which is very welcome for this part of Dorset.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good location for walking
Liked least: Nothing really!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2013
Thanks for posting your summary of West Lane Cottage - we are glad you enjoyed it! We think that the cottage is so well placed for dog walkers that we hope all members of the party enjoy the holiday equally.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shep1_8
south england
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We loved this cottage , it is better equipped than our own home! It feels loved and is in a lovely position for travelling around the area. We took my mother in-law in her eighties and she felt very comfortable and there was lots to do in the area without too much walking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout and the decor
Liked least: A few large lorries driving past
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2013
I am glad that you all enjoyed the cottage and the area. Thanks for your review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing