We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great escape”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rose Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dorchester, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

basilsbos...
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great escape”
Reviewed 19 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

A fantastic cottage for a girly weekend away - well equipped and plenty of attention to detail. Warm and cosy with a bottle of fizz to greet us - a thoughtful touch thanks Jane. Really handy to be able to agree a shorter rental. Close to coast and Hardy country - Sherborne worth a visit - less impressed with Athelhampton House but expect the gardens worth a visit in Spring/Summer.

Date of stay: January 2015
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2015
So pleased you had such a lovely weekend in Rose Cottage - there is nothing more enjoyable than sitting by a roaring fire with a glass of fizz and a best friend to natter to on a cold January weekend!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RowansMum...
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surpassed our high expectations!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 for a stay in February 2014
4
people found this review helpful

My sister and I hired Rose Cottage for a week as a present for our parents - we therefore had high hopes and we weren't disappointed! The cottage is beautiful, immaculate and very homely but with so many extras that make it a real treat to reside in - the kitchen, complete with AGA, provides a real hub and the sitting room has a gorgeous wood burner. I cannot emphasise enough how much charm and original character the property has, which the owners have tastefully preserved during their refurbishment. The grounds are beautiful and provided us with lots of stunning walks, whilst overall, the location was well-placed for trips further afield. The owners were very welcoming and dealt with several queries and requests before we'd even arrived. After one fabulous week we are already keen to return, so I would highly recommend Rose Cottage.

Date of stay: February 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
Thank you for your Review and I am so pleased that Rose Cottage was everything that you hoped for. It was our aim when renovating to make it not only luxurious but also comfortably homely and Guests appear to feel relaxed as soon as entering the front door. I think the Aga and the Inglenook fireplace with woodburner all make it beautifully cosy after a brisk walk around the meadows and Nature trail on the farm. Please do come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simone t
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location which was cosy and spacious for a relaxing break in the Dorset countryside.”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Rose Cottage twice in the winter, each time inviting friends to stay. We found the setting idyllic and the cottage cosy, warm and very comfortable. The welcome from our hosts was warmly sincere and unobtrusive. The cottage was peaceful, well-furnished to a high standard and ideal for exploring the Dorset countryside. It suited our needs for country-style self-catering away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

Date of stay: January 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2014
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Rose Cottage so much that you visited again and I very much look forward to welcoming you back anytime again in the future, very many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2013 for a stay in August 2012
4
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Welcoming accommodation in beautiful setting
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
We are so delighted that you will be returning again next year. Rose Cottage has such a wonderful ambiance and it was always our aim to make it a home from home experience for our Guests to enjoy with added luxury to the wonderful original features. We have now finished the new tennis court which will be up and running for next year. Also we have extended the Nature Trail and a Guest spotted a Kingfisher last weekend down by the lake which made his holiday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.