We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A real gem”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Carbery House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 32
Bournemouth, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Claire L
Coventry
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A real gem ”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My friends and I stayed at Carbery house for 3 nights at the end of July. Our first impression of the house was just breathtaking, it definitely lived up to the high expectations of the photographs. Greg was there to meet us to give us our welcome talk and introduction to Bournemouth and the house. The talk was very informative and provided us with lots of information for our stay. The house was beautifully decorated and clean. The rooms were spacious and the beds comfy. The showers in particular were great (especially given the number that were often in use at the same time). The house had everything we needed. Greg checked in with us over the course of the weekend via text. This suited us perfectly as it gave us the opportunity to ask any questions whilst still being given the privacy to get on with our weekend.

I feel like this house was a real gem as far as group accommodation in Bournemouth goes. It was clear how hard Greg and his team worked to keep the property looking immaculate whilst catering for the needs of guests. They had clearly gone to great effort to look after both the guests of the house and their neighbours.

It was so lovely to be able to stay in - what we felt - was a very upmarket house in a beautiful location, all under the same roof. When you go away with your friends / family it is great to be able to spend lots of quality time together rather than being stuck in separate hotel rooms with no communal areas.

The whole set up of this property is very professional. I was very impressed with the check in process and the information provided to the entire group before we arrived.

I would return to this property in a heart beat. If you are looking for somewhere to stay that is more special than your average hotel then this is the place. We had an amazing weekend and would definitely recommend it to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleun2
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wow! Where do i begin!”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I was part of a hen party of 18 staying here for 2 nights. The house is beautiful and perfect for a group occasion like this. 8 clean, tidy and spacey rooms, all with an ensuite. Huge dining table and lounge area. Conservatory and the garden is perfect for catching some rays. Ample and safe parking.
Kitchen has all the cutlery, plates, pans etc that you could need, 2 fridges, and a dish washer. There was no issue for preparing food, seating around the table or clearing up. In fact, we even managed a game of twister between table and lounge!
Taxi prices to and from the local areas are cheap and the service is very quick.
One of the best features of this accommodation, (apart from that stated above) is Greg & Henriikka. Not only were they super friendly, informative, but also were available to assist us at any time with queries or help. Even joining us in the evening! We would (and will) definitely be going back to this place, its really lovely!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of the property and friendliness of the owners
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2016
Thank you for your lovely review and looking after the house. It was a pleasure to meet each and everyone of you and a real privilege to be invited to your celebration ! You were one of the loveliest group of people we have met in all our years and I'm looking forward to seeing you again !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbkhcordy
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay and Greg saved the day!”
Reviewed 22 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I was organising my friends hen weekend (a group of 22 ladies!) and had booked a competitors house for the weekend. At 9.30pm the day before we were meant to arrive, he rang me to say we could not stay there, obviously not what you want to hear the night before. Miraculously at the very last minute Greg agreed to let us stay at Carbery House.
A bad situation actually worked in our favour as Greg's house is absolutely brilliant. It's well furnished and clean throughout. The fact that it has a sauna and a bath big enough for 4 was an added bonus to what was already a lovely place to stay.
The kitchen facilities are brilliant and it was no problem cooking food for 22 on the Friday night. The dining room table was more than big enough for everyone to get round and the living area was a lovely place to relax in the mornings and in between various activities.
Greg and his son were really welcoming when we got there and gave the bride to be a bottle of champagne. Greg was really helpful and didn't mind me texting when I wanted to know about local taxi's etc.
The house is brilliant for a big group; much nicer than being stuck in hotel in separate rooms.
There are bedrooms on the ground floor which was great for our more mature and less mobile members of the group. It was also nice that all the rooms had a shower or bath so there was not squabbling to get ready.
Would highly recommend and all 22 of us would definitely return. We all had a brilliant weekend and Greg certainly saved the day when the other place cancelled.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole house was to a really high standard.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saima p
1 review
“A lovely stay in a fantastic house”
Reviewed 20 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I had a wonderful stay at Carbery House, the place was as lovely as advertised and Henriikka communicated really well prior to my arrival so had a relaxed beginning to our stay.
We especially loved the sauna, what a lovely surprise! We will definitely stay again when we're next in town! The house is spacious, clean and equipped with all the amenities we needed. Henriikka was very helpful when we had questions, and made our stay here lovely. Can recommend to groups and families alike.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you very much Greg and Henriikka for providing the means to have a great weekend.
The house was perfect for the large group we had, with the facilities exceeding our expectations. It made for a happy group of lads that all left with a smile on their faces.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;