We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$159
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$165
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/23
Expedia.comUS$159
eDreamsUS$165
CheapTicketsUS$159
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 076)
Filter reviews
1 076 results
Traveller rating
535
363
121
37
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
535
363
121
37
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park good size creaky floorboards town centre hotel is in a great location breakfast was excellent enjoyable stay full english short walk to the beach reception staff bit dated double bed lovely room family room bic pier
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1 076 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2021

Shocking experiance all round, Didnt have our booking at check in so we emailed it to t them they sorted 3 rooms gaave us the keys, only to be waited for on coming back that evening to say we needed to get out of the hotel as the agency our comapny use had trued to charge them commission so they refused them and we had to pay the £416 or we were out on our ears, eventually we had to pay to keep the rooms, ensured we still had breakfast included only to get down in the morning to be told the chef had not come in so no breakfast, only coffe or tea, after them charging us £39 for 3 breakfasts.

also no parking unless you call the waste ground near t that charges £5 to park, Hotle grubby and dated and it was £166 a night !!!

Will not use again for businees or pleasure

Date of stay: July 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markjabber44
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina Pappova, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Exeter Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2021

Dear Markjabber44,

Thank you for your feedback and I am very sorry to hear you did not have a great experience with us.

If I am not mistaken this reservation was made with the third party agency Capita TRAVEL. We have discussed the terms and conditions with the agency and they were fully aware the reservation needed to be paid prior to your arrival, otherwise we will ask the guest to pay for the accommodation. The agency has not paid so we kindly asked you to pay for the reservation when you returned back to the hotel. We have certainly not approached you in a way you are describing, but we only asked you kindly to settle the bill as the agency did not and we had issues with them in the past.

Overall, I would like to apologise you had not enjoyed your stay with us however please turn onto Capita travel who was arranging the room booking for you!

Kind regards,

Sabrina

Head Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2021 via mobile

Arrived today for a 3 night break which I'd booked in October asking for a quiet room. The hotel itself is absolutely gorgeous but they converted their car park into a nightclub drawing the party animals. We have had to stay because there was no other option but there is no hot water and there will definitely be no sleep until after 1am when the party stops!!
AVOID if you want a nice relaxing break.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina Pappova, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Exeter Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2021

Dear Janice B,

Thank you for your feedback.
I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do inform all of our guest about the lack of car parking facility and the information is stated on all third party websites. We make all of our guests aware about the noise disturbance which does affect the rooms. Unfortunately, if you are looking for a quiet relaxing stay, then I advice to stay from Sunday - Thursday, when the hotel is quieter without any live entertainment.

If you decide to choose our hotel for the future, please contact the hotel directly and we will be happy to allocate you as further away as possible from any bar noise.

Kind regards,

Sabrina

Head Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2021

The hotel itself is fine, rooms well appointed and comfortable but a couple of caveats. Firstly the car park is gone to make way for a new bar area called the backyard. I can see why they have done it because it is very busy and so will generate lots of income but .... It means there is no car park so with no overnight parking close by we had to park 15 mins up the road , on street to avoid hefty charges.
Secondly , we were welcomed at 3.00pm in the afternoon by four youngsters coming out of the backyard totally worse for wear , one of whom promptly threw up . So not a great welcome. The music goes on until about 10.30 but then moves into the bar . It was very noisy. If you are looking for a fun night then it looked great but if you want an early night then forget it.
Last disappointment was breakfast, it came up stone cold, we sent it back and then when it came back the plate was burning but the breakfast food was still cold. Trying to get a coffee refill was a challenge
So all in all not somewhere we are likely to go back to sadly, as the hotel itself was fine

Room tip: Ask for one away from the bar
Date of stay: May 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank IanCarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina Pappova, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Exeter Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2021

Dear IanCarp,

Thank your for your feedback.

Your comments are noted and I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
We are fully aware about the lack of car parking facility and how important it is for our guests. We are happy to direct our guests to the nearest and cheapest car park in the area.
The hotel car park is currently being used for an outside bar area, but it is just temporary for this year and we might be having our car park back by next year.

I would like to sincerely apologise that you have not received our usual excellent welcome and your experience with us was not up to our usual standard on this occasion.

Regarding your breakfast, I will personally investigate this matter as quality of our breakfast is something we are very proud of.

Kind regards,

Sabrina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2020

The room could have done with a touch of paint and perhaps new windows, but superbly central and close to beach and town centre,so really it was an ideal place to stay, rooms clean and staff really friendly.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina Pappova, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Exeter Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2021

Dear John G,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are truly happy you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcome you next time.

Kind regards,

Sabrina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2020

Excellent visit from beginning to end. Welcoming staff where nothing was any trouble. I will definitely return. Lovely rooms, clean and very comfortable.
Very clean with a feeling of safety of Covid 19, with clear safety measures in place. with recent modernisation in restaurant, bar and lounge area, where you can relax day or evening.
The Sunday Roast was delicious with generous portions, serviced with lots of seasonal vegetables.
The Royal Exeter really does have the edge when it comes to the competition.

Date of stay: October 2020
Thank Explorer184346
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina Pappova, Guest Services / Front Office at Royal Exeter Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2021

Dear Explorer184346,

Thank you for sharing your great feedback with us.

I am so pleased to hear you had a great time with us back in October and you felt safe with all the safety measures we had in place.

We hope you will visit the Royal Exeter Hotel once again this year!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews