We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$114
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$100
View deal
FindHotel
US$98
View deal
Hotels.comUS$100
Agoda.comUS$114
Trip.comUS$101
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 739)
Filter reviews
1 739 results
Traveller rating
1 000
439
172
76
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1 000
439
172
76
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view rubber duck excellent location superior room restaurant manager sea front christmas party lovely hotel car park town centre buffet breakfast lounge area reception staff afternoon tea double bed family room enjoyable stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 1 739 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2021

The hotel staff were extremely polite and very helpful. The hotel felt and was very cosy with an original feel of a traditional hotel with a modern day atmosphere. It even had actual room keys ( old school but still the best! ) as opposed to the swipe style key cards that you see nowadays that always stop working because they get cleared from being by or near your phone or some sort of issue with it.
The room was very spacious and nice and clean. Our room also had a lovely view to the front sea view.
We also had various food and drink at the bar / lounge area and the service was very prompt and the food was excellent! Good size portions and food was nice and hot!
I even managed to book my stay for next year already with Isabella on the front desk who was extremely helpful, very polite , smiley and easy to talk to, as was Helen who helped with ensuring this stay was perfect!
I have stayed in Bournemouth over the last 5 years at different hotels but have never been fortunate enough to book this hotel in the past as it was always fully booked and now I understand why - it's because it's so good!!
I have definitely found the best hotel in Bournemouth and am so glad to of booked my next stay there already and look forward to it even though it's not until next year.
Keep up the great service!!

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank paulmJ3230RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy Thomas, Other at The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2021

Dear paulj323ORR,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am glad you finally managed to stay with us and happy to hear you have booked for next year.

We have a fantastic team at The Hermitage and they will always go the extra mile to make everyone feel welcome.
Its good to hear that you manged to take advantage of the view from your room, as we are in one of the best locations in Bournemouth.

I will pass your kind comments to Helen, Isabella and to our chefs and we look forward to welcoming you next year.

kind regards

Amy Thomas

Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2021 via mobile

On arrival all seemed ok reception and bar area dated. Our room was on the 2nd floor 203 we only booked overnight stay and was not in the room long so the things we found we suffered them. Bedding clean as towels soaps provided.
Bathroom has a bath shower combined with shower curtain functional but not very hygienic, hot tap in the bathroom content drip, after shower the heat in the rooms was unbearable small extract and windows in the room looked out over vent extractor very noisy and at a guess was from a kitchen and view of service area. Cracked tiles very dated decor wall paper coming away from wall. Paintwork and decor very dated. Kettle and biscuits tea coffee ok but take away cups 2 of so only use once, no bottles of complimentary water. Could go on this hotel is very dated not worth the money we paid and not 4 star as advertised. Didn't complain didn't have time.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuno Gomes, Owner at The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2021

Dear Martin L,

We want to extend our sincerest apologies concerning all the issues that you have faced. We pride ourselves in maintaining the highest quality standards for our customers. We hope you will give us and opportunity to discuss this further with you.
If you could please reach out to us on email (management@hermitage-hotel.co.uk) we will be taking care of you personally.

Looking forward to hear from you.

Nuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2021 via mobile

My sister &
I checked in on 30th June staying 10 nights, absolutely brilliant hotel, spotless, & the staff go above & beyond for everyone! Can’t rate everyone highly enough! Would recommend this hotel as a must stay! Fantastic food & service! We have loved every second here!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank HelenDela
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuno Gomes, Owner at The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2021

Dear Guest,

We are incredibly grateful that you took the time out to leave us this note. Our company values put customer satisfaction as top priority and we are committed to our customers. Its customers like you that make our job wonderful. We look forward to serving you again.

Best regards
Nuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2021

No value at all for the price, dirty,poorly breakfast , I had to clean the bath,dust everywhere,falling wall tile, parking not good ETCvery desappointed, the photos on the website do not represent the reality, never come back again

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isabellecX4181PU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuno Gomes, Owner at The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2021

Dear isabellecX4181PU,

We want to extend our sincerest apologies concerning all the issues that you have faced. We pride ourselves in maintaining the highest quality standards for our customers. We hope you will give us and opportunity to discuss this further with you.
If you could please reach out to us on email (management@hermitage-hotel.co.uk) we will be taking care of you personally.

Looking forward to hear from you.

Nuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2021 via mobile

We paid £600 to have a romantic husband and wife break for the weekend in Bournemouth and though this hotel would suit the bill, unfortunately NOT the case in this instance, the first room we had ere allocated was nothing short of a hostel room I paid £20 in Thailand whilst travelling (shower broken bath covered in mould 14! Holes in the tiling and ripped wall paper throughout, 2nd room shown was much the same, peeling paint, mould throughout the bathroom and in general bad repair, the 3rd room was the last option view of the fire escape and could not open the window bathroom looked like it had been repaired badly with huge chips of enamel missing in the bath, the general manager didn’t have one bit of remorse for such a shambles of a hotel, the restaurant is certainly not worth eating at, we returned our meals uneaten as the food was not cooked correctly, (went to NEO next door which was superb), the staff are miserable and all of the catering staff and cleaners all stated the pay and conditions are very bad, at a guess I would say 80-90% of the staff are foreign which accounts for why requests are not undertaken or indeed understood, if I was driving from A to B on a motorway I would stay here overnight for £60 but as for a weekend break I would strongly advise against it

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank stephencN2017TY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuno Gomes, Owner at The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2021

Dear stephencN2017TY,

We want to extend our sincerest apologies concerning all the issues that you have faced. We pride ourselves in maintaining the highest quality standards for our customers. We hope you will give us and opportunity to discuss this further with you.
If you could please reach out to us on email (management@hermitage-hotel.co.uk) we will be taking care of you personally.

Looking forward to hear from you.

Nuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews