We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Suncliff Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Cumberland Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$410
US$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
US$131
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Exeter Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$171
US$115
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Strand Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$78
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bamboo Guesthouse(Bournemouth)
US$112
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cecil Court Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1 400)
Filter reviews
1 400 results
Traveller rating
861
357
126
39
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
861
357
126
39
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewrubber duckexcellent hotelsuperior roomrestaurant managersea frontcar parktown centrelong weekendlounge areasingle roomreception staffbuffet breakfastgreat weekendweekend breakfamily roomafternoon tea
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1 400 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were greater by a very friendly and helpful waitress Susanne. She showed us to our table and took our order. In no time we had our glass of prosecco followed by pot of tea and pot of hot water and a lovely afternoon tea. Very fresh and tasty and plentiful. Would recommend afternoon tea here, I will certainly be back.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank wendy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Kind Regards

Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was average but extremely overpriced for what you get, the loud music every night was an absolute nightmare, I was glad to get home in my own bed with no noise!

To top it off, the last morning before departure I found a man sleeping in the corridor outside my room at about 6am which I didn’t think was acceptable at all!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
7  Thank Chloe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, I'm sorry you were disturbed by some inconsiderate guests and the music from outside. Unfortunately we are in a difficult position when "outside influences" cause our guests discomfort. As you are aware from when we spoke before you left, the night porter was dealing with the situation.
Once again my apologies

Kind Regards

Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here a few years ago, and whilst there is a lot going for this hotel - in particular the location - it is still let down by their staff's in ability to get things right.

Stayed here for someone's anniversary party and a number of things let the celebration down. On the first night we had to make a complaint, which thankfully the manager did sort out - but you should spend the effort on getting it right first time. Don't get me wrong, the staff are lovely, but they got food and drink orders wrong several times, and there were a number of things that ended up on our bill that were wrong.


Also - the nice Nescafe coffee machines in the room were sadly let down by the cheap inferior non Nescafe coffee provided. Don't expect George Clooney will be staying here any time soon.

Room Tip: Some of the Sea view rooms have bright lights aimed at them during the night to illuminate the hotel. I'd rather get some sleep.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank K8872QS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and please accept my apologies that you experienced a few problems during your visit, as this is our busiest time of year we have to manage the dinner bookings quite closely and when guests arrive much later than the time booked this causes a "knock on" effect with the rest of the service, however that is our issue to deal with.

The Nespresso machines all have branded coffee, the only exception was a request for decaf and this was all we could find in the local supermarket and in the name of customer service was better than coming back empty handed.

I hope you will not be deterred from returning to the Hermitage Hotel and look forward to hopefully seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards

Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed a Saturday and Sunday night & chose this hotel for location, close to Bic for a concert. Great location for beach and town also, although on the Saturday night even though we were on the 4th floor we were kept awake by what we assumed was the bars/clubs behind the hotel playing loud music till 3am. Hotel room was ok, we paid for and had a nice sea view but it was a small room for the money we paid we felt. Quite dated furniture, very worn chairs which were not pleasant to see. Wardrobe was swamped by an ironing board and a massive fan which we had to remove to hang our clothes. We booked b&b 1st night and db&b 2nd night. Our confirmation letter stated what we were advised when we booked in that it was a 3 course dinner. So we were not happy when we went into dinner on the 2nd night to be told by the waiter that we had a budget of £27 each! We would then have to pay anything over this price, therefore if you wanted 3 courses you were going to have to have the cheapest options. We didn’t make a fuss on the night as we were rushing off for a concert but we did make them aware of it when we checked out and the lady at reception apologised and said the £27 budget was a “new thing”. Obviously they should have made us aware of this and they hadn’t so it did spoilt the evening for us there as we had been looking forward to a nice 3 course but only had 2. Good choice of food at breakfast buffet. Apart from a really nice waitress who seemed to work all day and night and the restaurant manager we didn’t find the staff particularly friendly, unlike our experience in other hotels

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank SandyB1722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed at this hotel many times. It’s an old building and the decor is old fashioned but extremely homely and comfortable. The staff are always friendly and helpful and the food is very nice. We go back year after year.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank Debbie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback, we have plans to modernise the hotel and décor, however these things take time. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards


Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews