We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic way to spend a day !”
Review of Canoe Adventures

Canoe Adventures
Ranked #1 of 3 Tours in Totnes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guided river adventures on the River Dart Estuary, one of England's most beautiful rivers. Hire your own 8 or 12-seat 'Longbow' canoe, or join a 'by-the-seat' specials trip. Adventures normally begin at the Maltsters Arms, Tuckenhay, and Stoke Gabriel, between the historic towns of Dartmouth and Totnes - with pubs, secret places, campfires, shipwrecks, wildlife and stories along the way. Ideal for groups of all ages and abilities - private parties; club trips; team-building; hen, stag and birthdays; youth development and study trips; pub-to-pub; wine tasting, and evening paddles. Trips are scheduled round the tide so times change daily and booking is essential. Beautiful River. Big Canoes. Great Fun.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have just spent a fabulous day with a group of friends, none of us youngsters, paddling up the Dart. Hugh went out of his way to make it an enjoyable trip pointing out the various wildlife on the way. He had to put up with a lot from singing to counting to ten in various languages. Refuelling took place at the FBI plus a couple of other stops. We all agreed it was an excellent way to spend a lovely sunny day.

Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalGillmore, Owner at Canoe Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks Paul. Delighted you had such a great day. Lets see if we can get you to Sharpham next year! Hal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"toasted marshmallows"
in 9 reviews
"camp fire"
in 5 reviews
"hot chocolate"
in 6 reviews
"stoke gabriel"
in 18 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful river"
in 5 reviews
"maltsters arms"
in 4 reviews
"three families"
in 3 reviews
"all ages"
in 7 reviews
"great guide"
in 3 reviews
"brilliant afternoon"
in 3 reviews
"saw seals"
in 2 reviews
"perfect family"
in 2 reviews
"golden retriever"
in 2 reviews
"great trip"
in 3 reviews
"family group"
in 3 reviews
"lots of fun"
in 3 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2018

This was a fantastic afternoon/evening in to a part of the Dart that is truly breathtaking. Quiet, relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable canoeing through the water. Seeing a seal close up was something to remember. All of us (three generations) loved it. Thank you Hal.

James

Thank JamesTrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalGillmore, Owner at Canoe Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Thanks James. Delighted to hear it. Best wishes. Hal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our trip today with Hugh!
We canoed past Stoke Gabriel had a couple of stops.
Loads of local and wildlife information.
Age range from 12 to 69 and we all LOVED it!!
Campfire, brew and toasted marshmallows followed by drifting the entire way back up the river- so relaxing! Back to The Malters pub!
Recommend this trip suitable for everyone even our springer spaniel loved it!

Thank Morningcampers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalGillmore, Owner at Canoe Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Great. Thanks for the review. Delighted you had such a great time. Best wishes. Hal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

We are a group of friends linked by our teenage children's football team. On a stunning Sunday in May we hired the entire fleet of 6 boats and had a truly fabulous adventure with Hal and his team. We paddled to the pub at Dittisham where there happened to be live music and a barbecue/paella lunch. On the return paddle we stopped off on the riverbank for a campfire with hot chocolate and marshmallows. The scenery was spectacular and the whole day was magical. Our group of nearly 60 ranged in age from 4 upwards. I would give 6 stars if I could!

Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HalGillmore, Owner at Canoe Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Thanks Sarah. Glad you enjoyed it. We'll take the six stars! Thanks! Hal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2018

Really enjoyed paddling up the river, picnic on the banks, with fire and toasted marshmallows, then another stop for ice cream! perfect family day out and Hugh was a great guide!

Thank 996dt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canoe Adventures also viewed

Stoke Gabriel, Totnes
Ashburton, Dartmoor National Park
 
Paignton, English Riviera
 

Been to Canoe Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing