We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Weekend break”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Torquay, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Becky B
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings but overall good”
Reviewed 2 January 2018 for a stay in November 2017

Stayed for a long weekend with friends. Group of 8. When looking for a place in Torquay there were a few we really liked but although Springfield was the most expensive we chose it because it had the hot tub. We could have stayed somewhere just as nice for around £150 cheaper but thought it was worth paying more for the hot tub.

The owners allowed an earlier check in which was really kind but we did encounter a problem during our stay which I was disappointed with the outcome.

The house is beautiful and the beds are really comfy, its really well equipped and we did enjoy our stay but the bitter point for me was the jets on the hot tub wasn't working so we paid a considerable amount more for something we didn't get to use and enjoy. I was offered £75 off a future stay but as staying with friends we wouldn't all benefit from this as wouldn't all be available to stay again and even if we could, £75 split between us would out just over £9 discount! To me it seemed unfair that we get £9 off but they would get another booking and make £650 out of it for an out of season weekend, when I put this to them they declined any other offer of recompense so we paid £150 more for nothing and I don't feel our complaint was resolved or considered fairly.

Don't get me wrong, you will love the house and will have a comfortable stay but my only advice is don't stay here if your main reason for doing so is for the hot tub as you will be disappointed.

The house is in a good location, walking distance to all the shops and restaurants but would not be any good for anyone who struggles with walking as the walk back is up the steepest hill.

What everyone has said in past reviews on the driveway are bang on, its not worth trying to get on the drive, just park on the road. We had 2 cars and never had a problem parking outside the house on the roadside.

Only other gripe is there are 2 bathrooms, one is ensuite and I don't think this is adequate for such a large house that can house 10 guests, we struggled in mornings and getting ready for a night out as the bathrooms were always bring used so if staying in a large group you will need to plan and coordinate bathroom times for showering!.

I probably wouldn't stay again as its a lot of money and you can get just as nice elsewhere cheaper but some in my group said they would consider a future stay. I have mixed feelings but if we didn't have the issues with the hot tub I would feel a lot more positive, it just left a bitter taste for me which is a shame because it could have been amazing. I don't have confidence that if you encountered any other issues whether they would be addressed satisfactorily.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2018
We’re sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some areas of your stay. It’s very important to us that our guests enjoy the high standards they expect from our properties, and we have looked into this. We note that you contacted the Property Manager for assistance after noticing the jets in the hot tub could have been more powerful, and the engineer has since rectified the problem.

The owners are sorry that they were not able to refund the requested amount of over 35% of the already discounted holiday value, and had hoped the further generous discount for future bookings would have been acceptable.

We’re pleased to hear that, overall, you enjoyed your stay and would recommend the property to friends, and we appreciate you flagging the issue to enable us to take prompt action during your stay.

Best wishes,
Blue Chip Holidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne H
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

The house was beautiful and very clean, very well equipped the kitchen had everything we needed with a fantastic range cooker. We slept in the downstairs bedroom and though beautifully decorated the bed was to hard as were the others. A stair gate was at the top of the stairs but I wish there was one at the bottom because our 18 month old kept going up and down !! Although close to the town the hill was very steep to walk up so you have to be very able to do this. Also the garden is not child friendly with a lot of steps but a lovely swing and climbing frame were there. I think the best think was the huge kitchen/dinning room, made meal times very social.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen/dinningroom
Liked least: Hard mattresses
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie M
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful House”
Reviewed 15 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived at Springfield on Friday for our long weekend away, our first impressions when we opened the front door was "wow what a fantastic house".

My dad and brother in law arrived before us and parked their cars on the drive, unfortunately we hadn't been forewarned about the low steep driveway, meaning they both scuffed the underneath of their cars as they reversed. It was only once we were in the house and read the information books we realised you had to reverse on at a certain angle to prevent the scuffing.

The house itself is very well maintained and extremely clean, we were a family of 6 adults, 3 children and 1 dog staying for the weekend. We had plenty of space to be together but also the bedrooms ensured we had some space to quiet time too.

The lounge is very comfortable and roomy for everyone.

The kitchen is extremely well equipped and is open plan with the dining room which meant we could all gather together for cooking and meal times.

There is one double bedroom downstairs, again well appointed, maintained and clean.

There is a separate toilet up the first flight of stairs, the remaining 4 bedrooms are all on the same floor; one with ensuite shower room, 1 large double room, 1 room with bunk beds and 1 twin room and a family bathroom.
All rooms are nicely decorated and clean. The beds are comfy with nice bed linen and firm mattresses. The children particularly enjoyed sleeping in bunk beds!

The garden is very nice, but very steep with a lot of steps, we couldn't let the children play out alone, but this is only because they are young and couldn't manage the steps alone.
The hot tub was enjoyed by us all, what a treat!
The games room is in the garage but we didn't really use this as it is for families with older children.

There were a few negatives; which I am disappointed to write as the house is lovely but I have to be honest:
The Hot Tub was lovely and we did enjoy it; however it is more like sitting in a hot outdoor bath rather than a hot tub/jacuzzi, as the jets do not seem to work, meaning it's not very bubbly! I am sure this could be resolved with some maintenance. (We followed all instructions that were left to get it working but it didn't make any difference)

The electric shower in the main family bathroom wasn't useable; one minute it was freezing cold and the next it was scalding hot. This meant that between 6 adults we had to share 1 shower, meaning it took ages to get ready in the morning! Again I'm sure this is something that could be sorted with a bit of maintenance.

It is an extremely large house with high ceilings upstairs and downstairs, so for winter holidays like ours, it took along time to heat the house, once the house was warm it was lovely.
Just don't let it get to hot if you like to be cool at night! The double bedroom upstairs (one with a sofa in) has no windows which can be opened so if you get to hot this room isn't for you!

As I've mentioned we stayed here for a winter holiday but still wanted to use the hot tub, the only problem with this is when you get out, it is freezing cold and you have to run to the house and straight into the kitchen to get dry/warm. We thought it may be better to have changing facilities in the games room which is closer and certainly large enough for this. This wouldn't be a problem if staying in spring/summer when it is warmer.

All in all we had a fantastic, comfortable stay at Springfield and would recommend it to our friends and family. There are just a few little issues which need attention to make it perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is beautiful
Liked least: The steep steps down into town!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathryn g
Walton-on-the-Naze, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

beautiful house had everything that was needed there, plenty of space for me and my partner and my 4 grown up children 2 partners and one little grandson. About 15 min walk into town. Couldn't fault the house dishwasher washing machine and dryer . Lots of outside space to relax and hot tub. Shower in ensuite went wrong and it was replaced within 24 hours. Owners were welcoming on the down side drive way was difficult as it was too steep and was easy to scrape the car but we were warned about this and the room with bunk beds smelt damp but not sure why. Hate to say anything negative as we had a lovely week and I would recommend this house completely

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Beautiful views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine F
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent holiday for whole family”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Springfield was an immaculate, well maintained property and there was plenty of room for all 10 of us (6 adults, 4 grandchildren plus 2 dogs). The facilities were superb and everyone made good use of the hot tub, play area and games room. The different levels did not pose any problem for the adults or children.

The house was located above the town and the town/harbour area can be reached by lots of steps or by a more gentle slightly longer walk. The grandparents generally took the easier option, better on the knees! The grandchildren (10yr, 5yr and 3yr were happy to go either way. The 6 week old took the option of the pram!)

Thanks for a fabulous holiday. We would certainly recommend to family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped, spacious accommodation
Liked least: lack of handwash in bathrooms, cleaning products for toilets/kitchen quite often provided in high spec rentals. We bought our own cleaning products to ensure a high standard of cleanliness in the bathrooms/kitchen.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing