We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad”
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riviera Hotel
Ranked #54 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived a little early so not all rooms were ready so reception was rather chaotic.reception staff were very helpful we had to change one of our rooms which would accommodate an elderly lady with walking difficulties and they sorted it.we also had a poorly gentleman in our party who needed a doctor they sorted that too.
Some rooms were done to a high standard while others were crying out for a complete refurb with awful carpets,tatty furniture,old fashioned bedding with itchy blankets.
The food was good with a good choice for breakfast and evening meal and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
Entertainment was first class.
This is not a hotel to use if you have walking difficulties or if you are disabled there is only one lift to the whole hotel which takes four people then there are long corridors and stairs.there are no toilets near reception,the restaurant or the entertainment room.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank morriscarl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 972 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

this was originally the rainbow the hotel getting refurbished again the rooms are lovely and the food excellent loads of choice for breakfast and dinner wont be disappointed staff was lovely no attitude like you get in some hotels the pool was open 7am to 9pm entertainment was lovely alan dimond was fab so was the hotel entertainment manager sorry carnt think first name but mr chaplin he was funny we went to brixham for the day we went by bus no 12 nice day there you can get the ferry it takes about 30min and it 6pound return we also had a wonderful national coach driver called keith looking forward to another visit

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 633sawdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

on arrival lots of confusion over rooms, the coach had arrived a little earlier than expected but although the reception staff were very nice, for those that had to wait there was no offer of a coffee while waiting for some time. When given a room number you had to negotiate steps and corridors which seemed endless, and one had to be careful as it was like a rabbits warren with so many ways to go and easy to get lost. I would dread to think what would happen if there was a fire, it was difficult if a person had the use of walking aids of any shape
The beds were clean and comfortable and the bathroom looked as if it had been well refurbished but the rooms are very tired and certainly need to be refurbished, carpets faded with age, furniture well used and stained.
The one thing that was good is the food, it was a carvery every night and a buffet in the morning, always sufficient there, and the times allowance for the meals could cater for everyone. A number of our coach party went down with a bug during our stay and on returning home had to go to the doctors surgery for medication.
The workmen were there doing repairs while we were having our holiday, personally i think if they had closed when taking over the hotel and had all the repairs done before taking in guests might have been a better proposition. as it stands at the moment I would not go to this hotel again nor recommend it a bit disappointing

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank delighted05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Just got back from a lovely 5 day break at the Riviera hotel, Torquay. The hotel, used to be The Rainbow, has recently changed hands and is undergoing a refurbishment. Although work is going on all the time it didn’t detract from the holiday at all. The workmen were hardly noticed.
The hotel has maintained its usual high standards, right through from reception, the cleanliness of the rooms and the wide variety of food in the restaurant. Also the entertainment in the Show Bar was excellent. The new Sports Bar is an excellent addition and there is a lovely indoor pool, very warm and relaxing.
The staff in every department were helpful, considerate and friendly and nothing was too much trouble and there were plenty of staff to help if needed.
We also had a bonus! The whole week was gorgeous weather. I’ve never known the sun to be so warm in October.
All in all a most enjoyable Autumn break which no doubt we shall repeat.

Room Tip: Every room we have had has been excellent. The hotel is over several levels with a lift and chair li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gloria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

We have recently been on our first visit to Torquay and at first glance at arriving at this hotel we were a bit disappointed, but on the whole with the food -which was very good- and the entertainment provided, we had a very enjoyable weekend.
It is a quirky hotel and also has recently been bought by a family ( I believe) and they are refurbishing it room by room.
Everyone- from reception to waiting staff were very helpful and cheerful. Now we know what to expect there, we would definitely return in the future.
It is just a short walk into town, but just beware of some rooms where the lift does not go to- if you are elderly or have trouble with your legs.... Best to ask for room with lift access in advance as they aim to please.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Angustora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.2 km away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#36 of 85 in Torquay
196 reviews
1.5 km away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
661 reviews
2.0 km away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#85 of 85 in Torquay
1 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
0.3 km away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.1 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#58 of 85 in Torquay
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HJ, England (Formerly Rainbow International Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: R986 - R1 986 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow International Torquay
Hotel Rainbow International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing