We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$171
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$161
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$170
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$275
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burleigh House(Torquay)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$86
US$83
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$147
US$142
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Travelodge Torquay(Torquay)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (661)
Filter reviews
661 results
Traveller rating
387
188
43
19
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
387
188
43
19
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeadfoot beachcream tea on arrivalspecial weekendweekend breaksunday lunchcourse dinnerpremium roomsea viewlovely gardencheese and biscuitslovely friendly hotelwaiting staffhalf boardlittle gemwell stocked barbar pricesbus stop
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 661 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2017

We have stayed 3 times & have booked another short break. The management & staff are very friendly.
The food is excellent with plenty of choice.
We would highly recommend this lovely cosy hotel to those looking for quality & value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lizmurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We had an excellent stay. The accommodation, food and staff were all 5 star, nothing was too much trouble. We would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel and look forward to visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chrishopkins14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Very nice stay from october 5th to 8th of october 2017
staff very friendly and helpful
food was of 5 star quality
hotel was very clean and tidy with lovely lawns and gardens
would have given 5 star for the whole experience except our room was very small and compact but this would not deter ourselves from visiting again and recommending the hotel to friends

Room Tip: if you can afford it then upgrade
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minners1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

In our 8th? Year of visiting. This a meeting place for all our family. We are made to feel so welcome, excellent standard, lovely staff and delightful food.
Rooms cosy, teas n coffees, freeview, WiFi and comfy beds with 2 pillows!
Very relaxed atmosphere....love it!!
Local to many attractions and beach on the doorstep.
A total little gem. Well worth a visit!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank binky76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We could only get their "Cosy" Double Room as the larger rooms were all booked (which was a pity as they only carried a small additional charge). However, it had a nice view over the garden and sea, although the en-suite was a bit too "cosy". Very clean. This was a 2-night Dinner/B+B weekend package at the end of Sept 2017. The Dinner was supposed to be a 5-course dinner. However, their definition of 5-courses was a little naughty! The 5 courses were: 1) Bread Roll, 2) Starter, 3) Main Course, 4) Dessert, 5) Coffee. Choice on the menu was limited. The main course had only 2 choices in the non-vegetarian part of the menu. We felt it shoud have had 3 choices. The food was pretty good, except the Turbot was a little dry (too long under the hot lamp?). Service was fast. Breakfast was excellent with a lot of choices. This is in a quiet location close to a small beach.

Room Tip: Go for a larger room overlooking the garden and sea.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex I, Manager at The Hotel Balmoral, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Terry R, Thanks so much for your review of our hotel in torquay, really pleased you enjoyed your stay. We also include a selection of West Country Cheese's with cream crackers. This makes it the five courses. I apologise that the turbot was a little dry, I will pass your comments onto our Chef. Glad you enjoyed our quiet location next to Meadfoot Beach, and managed to get a sea view room even though our larger ones where fully booked. Thanks for mentioning our excellent breakfast. Hope to see you again in the future. We appreciate your time to leave us a positive review. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews