We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Attraction”

Babbacombe Model Village
Book In Advance
More Info
US$12,39*
and up
Babbacombe Model Village
Ranked #2 of 39 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Babbacombe Model Village is Torquay's most popular and visited attraction. Representing British life and culture over the last five decades all in miniature. Animated scenes, along with touches of very English humour bring it all to life. Taking you on a fun, informative and nostalgic trip through the 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s to present day, it has appeal for all ages. Famous for its lovely setting in 4 acres of award-winning gardens that are a delight to experience all year round. See website for opening times
Reviewed 28 June 2018

An incredible experience. A must visit attraction The models were so realist and occasionally wonderfully entertainING.

Thank Howard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themodelvillage, Manager at Babbacombe Model Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for visiting us and for your very kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3 473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"attention to detail"
in 267 reviews
"fire breathing dragon"
in 104 reviews
"cinema experience"
in 38 reviews
"the dragon"
in 52 reviews
"lit up"
in 47 reviews
"all ages"
in 219 reviews
"up to date"
in 79 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 238 reviews
"free return"
in 33 reviews
"mini golf"
in 55 reviews
"crazy golf"
in 82 reviews
"hard work"
in 57 reviews
"few hours"
in 127 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 126 reviews
"sense of humour"
in 49 reviews
"gift shop"
in 102 reviews
"return visit"
in 34 reviews
Filter

259 - 263 of 3 473 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

I took my Dad for his first visit here for Fathers Day (there wasn’t an option for family in the visit type above only with children young or teenagers of which I’m definitely not either ) Dad absolutely loved it the weather could have been better but still with the occasion shower it’s a lovely place to visit. We did the return evening illuminations option which happened to have to be on the longest day so we had to wait for dusk a lot later than normal. Nevertheless again it was a very relaxing stroll around & is very good value for money. Definitely worth a visit

Thank PrincessJane67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themodelvillage, Manager at Babbacombe Model Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for coming to see us and for your great review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

We visited for a blast from the past, having attended twenty ish years ago. We really enjoyed it! Highlight was definitely the fire breathing dragon and house on fire, and spotting the celeb. Such detail in the little models, even down to the latest football result at Wombley! Enjoyed all the little models and people and a nice surprise of a small crazy golf and also boats and cars you can drive.

Having had fond memories of the little houses I am so glad it lived up to expectation, and surpassed it with the attention to detail and how well kept the gardens are. Had a giggle at the names of places. A fab day out with fun for all the family. We really wanted to do the illuminations but having travelled and arriving for opening at ten it was too long to wait, however I am sure they are worth it. It was very busy as we were leaving, much nicer to stroll around earlier when quieter. The 7 day photo pass for this is great value for money for the day ticket. Would advise put longer on the car pay and display then you think, lots going on.

Thank PSAllWhiteNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themodelvillage, Manager at Babbacombe Model Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for coming to see us and for your great review.
Based on customer feedback, the typical visit length is 1.5 to 2.5 hours, though some people are with us 3 to 4 hours. We would probably recommend allowing 3 hours, or more, on the council owned car park and, if you do have any spare time, take the 5 minute walk to the Babbacombe Downs - the views are stunning - and even taking the cliff railway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

It has been many years since we last visited Babbacombe Model Village, but we were in the area and decided to take a trip down memory lane and we were not disappointed.

The car park is a public car park next to the Model Village entrance. Being a public car park, you will need to pay to park your car, but this was not particularly expensive.

We arrived at 3.40pm, about 20 minutes before last entry. We spoke to the lady on the desk to check we had enough time for our visit and she said that we should have time to get round and see everything, which we did. The only thing we didn't have time to do was the 4D theatre, but we were there mainly for the models and we saw them all. We were offered a return pass to use in the next 7 days, which we declined as we are not local.

The Model Village is on a hill, so the upper part is quite steep, but flattens out lower down. This was not a problem for us and we are both able bodied.

The Model Village was lovely and clean, despite it being the end of the day. We got to see all the model houses and buildings and they have been very well maintained since our last visit, over 30 years ago. We laughed so much at the funny names on the shops and lorries - some of the names only the adults would understand, which made them more funny. The models were very varied, reflecting different scenes from urban areas to rural areas, some movie/TV themed scenes and some industrial scenes. Many of the models had been modernised and there were now some talking model people, who interacted with us as we walked by them. There were lots of moving parts on the models and some of these were interactive - it was all lots of fun.

The staff keep everything in the present and this was very evident in the football stadium, which showed the fixture as England 6 vs Panama 1, which was the World Cup match that had taken place only that lunchtime - very impressed that they went to this level of detail. There was also a model of The Shard from London and models of Game of Thrones scenes.

The Model Village literally has something for all ages - the children can enjoy the models, the interactive moving scenes and the indoor crazy golf, while the adult can enjoy the models and be amused by the names and spotting some of the little anachronisms around the park.

In the hour and twenty minutes we had at the Model Village we managed to see everything we wanted and did not feel at all rushed. We had great fun and, even though we weren't there long, it was definitely worth the entrance fee and the visit. As we were leaving we stopped in the gift shop and bought a memento of the day. The staff were all very pleasant and we chatted with them as we were leaving, chatting especially about how great it was to see that day's England World Cup match details in the model football stadium.

We would certainly recommend a visit to Babbacombe Model Village to children and adults.

1  Thank chrissylenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themodelvillage, Manager at Babbacombe Model Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for coming back to see us and for your fantastic review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Though the place is nice, pretty and well maintained with beautiful models, the place is bit overpriced.
The 4D show is chargeable but not that good quality or big enough.
The toilet,cafe and gift shop all facilities are there

Thank Sanchita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themodelvillage, Manager at Babbacombe Model Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Thank you for visiting us, its great to hear that you enjoyed the model village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Babbacombe Model Village also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Babbacombe Model Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing