We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Excellent place to stay" ”
Review of Trelawney Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trelawney Hotel
Ranked #28 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed 1 night at this lovely B & B. Spotlessly clean room (although on the small side), as was the rest of the property...lovely friendly welcome from Liz and Paul and perfect breakfast the following morning... Down side was the lack of parking. Would definitely stay again :)

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jasang2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trelawneyh0tel, Owner at Trelawney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review Jason. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night on way to music festival, we were not disappointed. The hotel is really well decorated, comfortable and very clean. The towels and bed linen are spotless and snowy white. The shower was excellent. Paul cooked a perfect tasty full English breakfast and Liz is the perfect hostess, greeting us with a warm welcome and taking time to chat. There is also a small lounge/bar. The one and only downside is that there is no lift, aside from that The Trelawney is absolutely perfect.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank honeysucklerosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trelawneyh0tel, Owner at Trelawney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Thank you for your lovely review.

We do our up-most to make sure our guests have a great experience here at the Trelawney and we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your short stay.
We hope you enjoyed the music festival and we see you again.

Kind regards

Liz & Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

This is a family run establishment and the couple in charge are friendly and accommodating. The room was confortable, spotlessly clean and had good facilities. Excellent breakfasts. It is conveniently located for the conference centre and in the same road there are numerous good bars, restaurants and pubs. An excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: Book early, it was full when I stayed there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CityHolidayMaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trelawneyh0tel, Owner at Trelawney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Thank you for your great review, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Paul & Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile



Made to feel welcome straight away. Liz and Paul are a very friendly couple. Hotel is spotless, our bedroom was on the small side as was the bathroom but for 2 nights was fine. It's in a convenient location not far from the sea front. We really enjoyed our stay. Thanks

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kappa53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trelawneyh0tel, Owner at Trelawney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Thank you for your great review.
We're sorry you felt your room was a little small, we presume this was room 14 which we have rectified by advertising it as a Small Double, but we're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to Torquay.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks again

Paul & Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

We didn't get to meet Paul, unless he was the guy up the ladder when we arrived? But we found Liz to be very helpful and accommodating.
We booked the rooms at very short notice due to a family emergency, and Liz was really helpful in every aspect.
The rooms are what you'd expect from a traditional style seaside B&B, and ticked all our boxes. Very clean with comfortable beds, tea/coffee making facilities in the room and a good breakfast.
My only tiny improvement is to consider people who don't drink tea and coffee, yes I know we're a bit weird (!), so some hot chocolate would be nice ;-)
All in all, staying here has made a difficult visit to the area as pleasant as it could be. Thank you!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank LindaH72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trelawneyh0tel, Owner at Trelawney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Thank you Linda for you lovely review.
Sorry you didn't meet Paul, he was the one in the kitchen singing whilst cooking your breakfast..... he says it cooks better when he sings ;-).
We're pleased you had a comfortable stay with us under difficult circumstances, we hope next time will be a pleasure break for you.
We'll have a think about your suggestion of hot chocolate. (although I can't imagine having it for breakfast) :0)

Thanks again Linda

Paul & Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 km away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#49 of 85 in Torquay
105 reviews
0.1 km away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#27 of 85 in Torquay
125 reviews
0.4 km away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#14 of 85 in Torquay
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#42 of 85 in Torquay
75 reviews
0.3 km away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#26 of 85 in Torquay
162 reviews
0.0 km away
Southbank Hotel
Southbank Hotel
#45 of 85 in Torquay
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trelawney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelawney Hotel

Address: 48 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#20 Family Hotel in Torquay
#30 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: R775 - R1 459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2,5 star — Trelawney Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paul and Liz welcome you to the Trelawney Hotel in Torquay in the heart of the English Riviera. Luxury Bed and Breakfast accommodation, with all the warmth and comfort you’d expect from a family run establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Trelawney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trelawney Hotel Torquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing