We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short break”
Review of Hudson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hudson Hotel
Ranked #61 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 5 August 2017

My husband and i have just returned home from a 3 night break at the Hudson. The hotel is very good value for money with good location to harbour. The breakfast was lovely every morning with Brian being very helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave5588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2017

This B&B is ideally situated only a 3 minute walk to the sea front and has car parking at the rear. We did however find the room to be quite dirty with LARGE cobwebs at the side of the wardrobe and behind a window desk and thick dust on the top of the wardrobe, mirror and skirting board.I also had to remove 2 large spiders from the room. The milk capsules in the room were over a year out of date I took these to the owner/manager who did replace them with some that in his own words were "Nearly out of date". The following morning my wife and I had orange juice from a breakfast jug we had one mouthful each and both said it tasted sour.The following morning we each decided to have a small carton of apple juice and noticed that they were also out of date.I informed the owner/manager who looked at them and said "they are only a few weeks out of date" My wife then went to have a packet of the Alpen breakfast cereal that was provided and saw that they were also all a month out of date so did not bother. I suspect that reduced price out of date or nearly out of date food is being purchased for the guests which is not a great way to run any business or obtain good reviews. I am sure that he will deny this but the evidence of several items of out of date food speaks for its self

Stayed: May 2017
Thank WEEKENDER11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brian p, Manager at Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Unfortunately, the milk capsules were out of date and once it had been brought to my attention they were immediately replaced. I appologised to the customer at the time for the oversight.
I can assure the guest that there is no question of the hotel being supplied with reduced out of date supplies but it has to be assumed that there is an adquate sell by date on every item when delivered. I regret that it is not possible to inspect every single item every day, which seems to be what the guest is advising.
The sealed kiddie size orange juice cartons were a few days overdue and the alpen also the same. It was to the orange juice that my comment "nearly out of date " referred to, not the milk capsules, so i think the guest seems to be a little confused.
With regard to the cobweb etc, its a shame that the guest did not bring this matter to my attention at the time in order that the cleaner represtentive could be informed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

my wife and i decided to visit the hudson again this year for the weekend. and i must say it seems to have let itself down again!
the room was freezing cold and there was no heating on in the hotel at all, the balcony door did not shut and lock right.
the hotel looked like it was well overdue for a spring clean!
cobwebs in the dining room and crumbs all over the floor where we had our breakfast.
the proprietor was very welcoming and friendly and we felt welcome each time we met.
the hotel is situated in a prime location near the centre and was a comfortable stay overall.
this will be the last time at the Hudson for us.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whybrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brian p, Manager at Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

I am sorry to hear that the guests did not enjoy there stay at Hotel Hudson.
The central heating is automatically switched on on every evening and is even working now as i am writing this reply! Every radiator is indvidually controlled by an on/off switch so maybe the guest had not turned the radiator on, which would account for loss of heating. The balcony door does shut and is able to be locked. Unfortunately not all guests in the dinning room are such tidy eaters which of course would account for a few crumbs on the floor.
Its rather a shame that the guests concerned did not mention there observations to me at the time as it always easier to reslove such matters when they occur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

The situation of this hotel to the harbour and town centre could not be any better, several restaurants with a wide variety of tastes a couple of minutes from hotel. We tried Cotton Eyed Joes where we had one of the best steaks we had tasted and then the Turkish/Greek restaurant which was very tasty indeed. As regards the hotel, very friendly owner, comfortable room nicely decorated, very clean, kettle and mugs with tea, coffee and hot chocolate on tray, very nice breakfast. A couple of negatives which would not cost a lot but I think would be worth doing: outside sensor light on the steps up to hotel, a remote control for the TV in room (there was a loose connection so picture went a few times which we did mention to the owner), there are shower gel and hand soap containers in shower and sink which were empty and it would be a nice touch to fill them. Overall though we would stay again and I think this hotel is definitely worth the cost. Thank you for a very comfortable 2 day stay.

Room Tip: Room 3 very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen1962041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

nice hotel, in a great situation near town centre,although a little uphill on way back, and the staff were very helpful, good standard breakfast, and parking at the rear of the hotel, and the room we had was of good quality , even the the TV could have done with a remote control

Room Tip: no lift so if mobility problems ask for ground/first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Barton
Hotel Barton
#33 of 85 in Torquay
153 reviews
0.1 km away
The Palms Hotel
The Palms Hotel
#47 of 85 in Torquay
17 reviews
0.2 km away
Braddon Hall Hotel
Braddon Hall Hotel
#37 of 85 in Torquay
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 85 in Torquay
412 reviews
0.3 km away
Frognel Hall Hotel
Frognel Hall Hotel
#51 of 85 in Torquay
118 reviews
0.1 km away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson Hotel

Address: 545 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: R795 - R1 554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hudson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 250 metres from Torquay harbour, our guest house provides superb quality bed and breakfast accommodation just a short distance from a bustling array of shops, restaurants and bars. There are 10 spacious bedrooms, each with a stylish shower room, digital TV, seating and coffee/tea facility. Free wi-fi is available to all guests. This superb venue has recently been awarded FOUR-STAR status by Enjoy England. A fully licensed hotel, we are able to provide a wide range of wines, beers and spirits for you to enjoy in our sizeable bar or while relaxing on our raised front patio, taking in the views across Torwood Gardens. The bar will also be open to the public on Saturday evenings from 5pm during the summer season (April to October). Accommodation prices start at just £27.50 per person, per night. There is guaranteed free car parking available for every hotel room (one car per room). Breakfast is served between 8.30am and 9.30am, starting with tea or coffee, fruit juice, toast, cereals and fresh fruit, followed by your choice of full English or continental breakfast (special diets catered for). We are a gay friendly hotel. Our guest house does not have family rooms and we do not take children under 12 years of age. No pets allowed. Groups by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hudson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudson Hotel Torquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing