We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$169
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
The Orestone Manor(Torquay)
US$273
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$180
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$168
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burleigh House(Torquay)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$85
US$82
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$146
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
The Montana(Torquay)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Travelodge Torquay(Torquay)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveller rating
455
30
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
455
30
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi bathgreat hoststorre abbeysea frontnothing is too much troubleevening meals arehotel is spotlessly cleanguest housecooked to perfectionhome cookedfresh milkmini fridgeon arrivalfirst classwouldn't stay anywhere elserecommend this hotellovely couple
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 489 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

My self and my wife stayed here on 29 /30 of September and would highly recommend it . It’s spotlessly clean a warm welcome and food , hospitality are second to none great value for money can’t wait to stay again have recommended it to friends already and will go back and stay with them soon.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank philb0b1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, Owner at Mount Edgcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hi both
Thank you for the lovely review, we do try to ensure that all guests have a great stay, when you get lovely guests ( like you ) it is easy.
We enjoyed hearing about your family and what great news on your new granddaughter. We look forward to seeing some picture and the latest news when you come to see us in 2018.
Kind regards
Dave & Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

This was our first trip to Torquay and we were made very welcome by Dave and Claire.
The weather was typically English but Claire advised us on places to go and how to get there. The room was spotlessly clean and Claire and Dave were great hosts. I would recommend this hotel, nothing seemed to much trouble. Thank you Dave And Claire hope to see you again soon. Nigel & Carole

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baylisscarole46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, Owner at Mount Edgcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hi Nigel & Carole
Thank you for the review, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. Hopefully, you will come to see us and explore more of Torquay soon, we will try to book some better weather for you.
Kind regards
Dave & Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We get away for quite a few weekends during the year and the accommodation is important for us. I can say that our hosts David and Claire made us very welcome and that the whole ambiance of the guest house is so nice. The breakfast was fantastic and kept me going all day.
Overall it made a great weekend brilliant . Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, Owner at Mount Edgcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Good Afternoon David D
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review, we really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that we made your great weekend ' brilliant'. We do hope see you again soon.
Regards
Dave & Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

Great hotel, Dave and Claire were fantastic hosts, could not do enough for us. Excellent breakfasts with the option for home cooked evening meals.

Nice rooms and good location for walking into Torquay and exploring the area.

Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, Owner at Mount Edgcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Good Afternoon
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, your feedback is important. We wish you every success with your new venture and do hope that you come and see us again soon.
You are right Torquay is a beautiful place and so well located to explore the surrounding area.
Kind regards
Dave & Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

This was our first stay at Mount Edgcombe after having our annual 4 night stay in Torquay at another hotel which we thought was 100%. On recommendation and due to circumstances we booked at Mount Edgcombe with a little trepidation. We need not have worried, it far exceeded our previous hotel so where do you find an excellent + rating! We are not very good with adjectives so if anyone is reading this review for recommendation just book your stay, you will not regret it. We will be back next year. Dave and Claire, thanks again for your superb hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrianr192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, Owner at Mount Edgcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Adrian & Lynn
What can we say ' Perfect Place to Stay' - 'Excellent plus rating ' what compliments! We are flattered that you left your first TripAdvisor review for us - Thank you.
We loved having you stay and did enjoy your company and were truly delighted that you enjoyed your time with us after being recommended to stay
We look forward to seeing you again next year and in the mean time enjoy your time with the grandchildren
Kindest Regards
Dave & Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews