We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chrissie 12”
Review of Mount Edgcombe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mount Edgcombe
Ranked #14 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We absolutely loved our 5 night stay at Mount Edgcombe, situated in a leafy avenue within a conservation area close to Torre Abbey, our room was beautiful and very comfortable Claire and Dave are the most helpful hosts we have ever had and the room we stayed in has been much admired by all our friends , the food is wonderful and nothing is too much trouble. We look forward to booking next year and maybe trying the gorgeous Edgcombe Suite . Love from andy and chrissie Xxxxx

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, Owner at Mount Edgcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Chrissie
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review, your feedback and comments are so important to us.
We did enjoy your company during your stay and our chats over breakfast and dinner, your Andy was certainly a pleasure to cook for, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time here.
We look forward to seeing you again next year, don't forget to book early as The Edgcombe Suite books up fast.
Kind regards
Dave & Claire



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My self and my wife stayed here on 29 /30 of September and would highly recommend it . It’s spotlessly clean a warm welcome and food , hospitality are second to none great value for money can’t wait to stay again have recommended it to friends already and will go back and stay with them soon.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank philb0b1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, Owner at Mount Edgcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi both
Thank you for the lovely review, we do try to ensure that all guests have a great stay, when you get lovely guests ( like you ) it is easy.
We enjoyed hearing about your family and what great news on your new granddaughter. We look forward to seeing some picture and the latest news when you come to see us in 2018.
Kind regards
Dave & Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first trip to Torquay and we were made very welcome by Dave and Claire.
The weather was typically English but Claire advised us on places to go and how to get there. The room was spotlessly clean and Claire and Dave were great hosts. I would recommend this hotel, nothing seemed to much trouble. Thank you Dave And Claire hope to see you again soon. Nigel & Carole

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baylisscarole46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, Owner at Mount Edgcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Nigel & Carole
Thank you for the review, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. Hopefully, you will come to see us and explore more of Torquay soon, we will try to book some better weather for you.
Kind regards
Dave & Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We get away for quite a few weekends during the year and the accommodation is important for us. I can say that our hosts David and Claire made us very welcome and that the whole ambiance of the guest house is so nice. The breakfast was fantastic and kept me going all day.
Overall it made a great weekend brilliant . Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, Owner at Mount Edgcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Afternoon David D
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review, we really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that we made your great weekend ' brilliant'. We do hope see you again soon.
Regards
Dave & Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great hotel, Dave and Claire were fantastic hosts, could not do enough for us. Excellent breakfasts with the option for home cooked evening meals.

Nice rooms and good location for walking into Torquay and exploring the area.

Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, Owner at Mount Edgcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good Afternoon
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, your feedback is important. We wish you every success with your new venture and do hope that you come and see us again soon.
You are right Torquay is a beautiful place and so well located to explore the surrounding area.
Kind regards
Dave & Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.4 km away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#5 of 86 in Torquay
505 reviews
4.1 km away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 86 in Torquay
566 reviews
0.7 km away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 86 in Torquay
3 010 reviews
0.2 km away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
0.2 km away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#7 of 150 in Torquay
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Edgcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Edgcombe

Address: 23 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: R1 196 - R1 328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Edgcombe 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Edgcombe, an attractive detached Victorian Villa built in 1880. Situated in a conservation area on a tree lined road, within easy walking distance of the sea front, town and conference centre, local attractions as well as the train and coach station (free courtesy transport available to and from the stations). All rooms are individually decorated to a high standard and are en suite. All rooms have as a minimum a 26 inch flat screen colour TV, with FreeView. The Guest House has a large car park, a residents lounge, licensed bar and free Wi-Fi throughout and is totally NON SMOKING. We have Superior and Executive ground floor rooms, and all Executive and Superior Room has a fridge. The light and airy dining room is located on the ground floor serving breakfast and an optional fabulous 4 course home cooked dinner menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Mount Edgcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Edgcombe Torquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing