We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mount Edgcombe
Nearby Hotels
Haytor Hotel(Torquay)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$227
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
US$145
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$111
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Burleigh House(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$84
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trinity Mews(Torquay)
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$199
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
US$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (486)
Filter reviews
486 results
Traveller rating
452
30
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
452
30
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi bathtorre abbeysea frontnothing is too much troubleevening meals arehotel is spotlessly cleanguest housecooked to perfectiongreat hostsfresh milkmini fridgeon arrivalfirst classhome cookedrecommend this hotelwouldn't stay anywhere elselovely couple
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 486 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights, spotlessly clean, very comfortable bed, extremely friendly owners and guests, amazing breakfasts and scrumptious optional evening meals. Didn't want to leave, will definitely stay again!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, Owner at Mount Edgcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Thank you for the 'wonderful review', we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, do come and see us again very soon.
Kind regards
Dave & Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

Me and my husband go to Torquay a few times a year and each time I spend ages looking at the reviews for the hotels. I'm pleased that I no longer have to look as we have found the perfect place at Mount Edgecombe. From the minute you arrive you are greeted by wonderful hosts. The room was spotless with the added extra of a fridge. The breakfast was delicious all freshly cooked with a good choice which comes with Claire's friendly chatter. And a lovely email sent by Claire on Dave on your return home - the perfect place to stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Khardz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, Owner at Mount Edgcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Hi there
Firstly sorry for the delay in responding, September has been really busy. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we did enjoy your company over breakfast. What a compliment ' the perfect place to stay' you are very kind. We look forward to seeing you both again soon, hope your grandson is OK.
Kind regards
Dave & Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

We stayed for 3 nights overlapping bank holiday and cannot recommend this guest house enough. Claire and Dave were the perfect hosts, fabulous breakfast with choices galore and our 'superior' room was just that.... spotless, great decor and added bonus of a fridge with fresh milk added for a cuppa if required. Ample parking and a pleasant walk into Torquay which wasn't too hilly!!! Real home from home feeling and would definitely visit again.....thank you both for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, Owner at Mount Edgcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Hi Chris & Sharon
So sorry for the delay in responding to your lovely review. We really loved having you stay, your comments that we are ' home from home' mean so much to us. Do come and see us again very soon when you need a break from those early, early mornings!
Kind regards
Dave & Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel was clean, smelt very nice, Dave and Claire were very hospitable and friendly. The rooms were very clean and staff were approachable over any subject regarding room. Allowed us to leave our luggage so we could go once more around the town centre and beach before going back on train. Breakfast was excellent. Would say there again easily. Looking forward to the next one.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Leisl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, Owner at Mount Edgcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Hello both
Thank you so much for the review, sorry it has taken me a while to reply, it has been really busy here.
We do so appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and that you enjoyed your time here, so much so that you have already booked to stay next August - thank you.
We look forward to seeing you then, take care
Kind regards
Dave & Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Had a 3 night stay at this hotel over the bank holiday weekend. The hosts were very friendly & welcoming. Rooms were very clean. Breakfast was fantastic, cooked to perfection & very filling. Only a mile walk to main town centre. I would highly recommend.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, Owner at Mount Edgcombe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Hi Rachel
Sorry for the delay in this reply, thank you for leaving us a review, Dave was delighted to see your feedback on his 'fantastic breakfasts'.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, you certainly made the most of the surrounding area with all the walking you did.
We do hope to see you again soon, don't forget to call or book direct for the best rates as well as returning guests discounts.
Kind regards
Dave & Claire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews