We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Meadfoot Bay
Nearby Hotels
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
US$164
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$208
US$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$146
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cimon(Torquay)
US$125
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
US$141
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Yardley Manor Hotel(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$85
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
US$176
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveller rating
482
41
8
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
482
41
8
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssignature suitedecanter of sherryon arrivalspa bathprivate terracefamily run hotelcooked breakfastdeluxe roomcold meatswet roomwelcome drinkfantastic stayhigh standardfull englishbreakfast was amazingsmall hotellovely hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 533 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2017

A really warm welcome, the staff were brilliant. Breakfast was superb the rooms were very clean and comfortable. Very quiet at night so sleeping no problem and only a short walk to town.
Would highly recommend to anybody and would definitely book again.
Thanks for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadfootbay, Owner at The Meadfoot Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Mike

Thank you for taking the time to review Meadfoot Bay and your positive comments. Our location is great being so close to beautiful Meadfoot Beach (and the sea air which no doubt helps in getting a good night's sleep) but also within easy walking distance of the centre of Torquay. We do hope we'll have the chance of welcoming you again in the New Year and sharing with you the exciting developments we have in store.

Meantime best wishes from us all at MBH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

My wife and I celebrated 50 years of marriage this year and our Children treated us to a weekend at the Meadfoot Bay. What a lovely little hotel, secluded yet within walking distance of the town. We were made very welcome and the atmosphere was really friendly. In a way breakfast was the highlight and the pancakes were superb. We will surely be back again.
Alan and Ann, Fleet Hampshire

Room Tip: the signature suite is worth it
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank ahayward123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadfootbay, Owner at The Meadfoot Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Mr & Mrs Hayward

We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us on this very special occasion and sincerely hope you won't wait for another significant anniversary before you visit us again. Chef will be delighted that you enjoyed her pancakes, though the praise might go to her head, we'll happily pass it on. Look forward to seeing you again at the 'Bay'.

Kind regards Phil, Vicki, Jody and the rest of the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We travelled to Torquay on Tuesday 10th October and had planned to stay at the Haytor Hotel. Upon our arrival we were advised that the hotel was closed due to a bereavement, and had booked us in the Meadfoot Bay Hotel just up the road. We were a bit apprehensive at first as we had not heard of nor knew what the hotel was like. Upon our arrival, we were upgraded free of charge to the Superior Suite as we had just got married and we were not disappointed at all with the room, facilities and services. We are sorry for the bereavement at the original hotel, but I'm glad to have stayed at the Meadfoot Hotel as it is simply superb in every way and we are not disappointed in any way. I cannot recommend this hotel enough, beautiful rooms, lovely and friendly staff who go out of their way to help you and they put on a fantastic breakfast!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank djm1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadfootbay, Owner at The Meadfoot Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Hi guys

Despite the sad circumstances that bought you through our doors, we're so pleased that we were able to make your honeymoon meet or even exceed your expectations, as we're sure our friends at the Haytor would have done so too. Wishing you every happiness for your new life together and hope you will indeed return to either MBH or the Haytor in the future where a warm welcome will be waiting for you both.

Love from us all MBH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

On arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome and offered a complimentary drink from the bar.
Our room the Delux Room 3 was everybit Delux as in the description, really comfortable excellent facilities.
The breakfast was plenty of choice and the cooked breakfast was personalised to what we wanted.
The Staff were great, helpful, pleasant and friendly.
Would we go back a definitive yes.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are satisfactory however Delux is what it is.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ANGREEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadfootbay, Manager at The Meadfoot Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear ANGREEN,

thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Meadfoot Hotel. We hope that you get chance to stay with us again.

p.s - I am looking at cruises at the moment hopefully looking to book one for next year, thank you for all of your advise.

Many thanks

Jody, Vicki, Phil and all of the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Stayed Monday 2nd October to Friday 6th October. Relaxing stay room clean , good breakfast, staff friendly and helpful. 10 minute walk in to Torquay, 5 Minute walk to Meadfoot beech. Hotel on quiet road .

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stephenh2445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadfootbay, Manager at The Meadfoot Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Stephenh2445,

Thank you for your kind review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you get chance to stay with us again and don't forget that we give a good discount to returning guests when you book direct.

Many thanks

Vicki, Phil, Jody & all of the team at MBH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews