We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent weekend”
Review of The Meadfoot Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Meadfoot Bay
Ranked #6 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A really warm welcome, the staff were brilliant. Breakfast was superb the rooms were very clean and comfortable. Very quiet at night so sleeping no problem and only a short walk to town.
Would highly recommend to anybody and would definitely book again.
Thanks for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadfootbay, Owner at The Meadfoot Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mike

Thank you for taking the time to review Meadfoot Bay and your positive comments. Our location is great being so close to beautiful Meadfoot Beach (and the sea air which no doubt helps in getting a good night's sleep) but also within easy walking distance of the centre of Torquay. We do hope we'll have the chance of welcoming you again in the New Year and sharing with you the exciting developments we have in store.

Meantime best wishes from us all at MBH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My wife and I celebrated 50 years of marriage this year and our Children treated us to a weekend at the Meadfoot Bay. What a lovely little hotel, secluded yet within walking distance of the town. We were made very welcome and the atmosphere was really friendly. In a way breakfast was the highlight and the pancakes were superb. We will surely be back again.
Alan and Ann, Fleet Hampshire

Room Tip: the signature suite is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank ahayward123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadfootbay, Owner at The Meadfoot Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr & Mrs Hayward

We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us on this very special occasion and sincerely hope you won't wait for another significant anniversary before you visit us again. Chef will be delighted that you enjoyed her pancakes, though the praise might go to her head, we'll happily pass it on. Look forward to seeing you again at the 'Bay'.

Kind regards Phil, Vicki, Jody and the rest of the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We travelled to Torquay on Tuesday 10th October and had planned to stay at the Haytor Hotel. Upon our arrival we were advised that the hotel was closed due to a bereavement, and had booked us in the Meadfoot Bay Hotel just up the road. We were a bit apprehensive at first as we had not heard of nor knew what the hotel was like. Upon our arrival, we were upgraded free of charge to the Superior Suite as we had just got married and we were not disappointed at all with the room, facilities and services. We are sorry for the bereavement at the original hotel, but I'm glad to have stayed at the Meadfoot Hotel as it is simply superb in every way and we are not disappointed in any way. I cannot recommend this hotel enough, beautiful rooms, lovely and friendly staff who go out of their way to help you and they put on a fantastic breakfast!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank djm1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadfootbay, Owner at The Meadfoot Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi guys

Despite the sad circumstances that bought you through our doors, we're so pleased that we were able to make your honeymoon meet or even exceed your expectations, as we're sure our friends at the Haytor would have done so too. Wishing you every happiness for your new life together and hope you will indeed return to either MBH or the Haytor in the future where a warm welcome will be waiting for you both.

Love from us all MBH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

On arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome and offered a complimentary drink from the bar.
Our room the Delux Room 3 was everybit Delux as in the description, really comfortable excellent facilities.
The breakfast was plenty of choice and the cooked breakfast was personalised to what we wanted.
The Staff were great, helpful, pleasant and friendly.
Would we go back a definitive yes.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are satisfactory however Delux is what it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ANGREEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadfootbay, Manager at The Meadfoot Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear ANGREEN,

thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Meadfoot Hotel. We hope that you get chance to stay with us again.

p.s - I am looking at cruises at the moment hopefully looking to book one for next year, thank you for all of your advise.

Many thanks

Jody, Vicki, Phil and all of the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Stayed Monday 2nd October to Friday 6th October. Relaxing stay room clean , good breakfast, staff friendly and helpful. 10 minute walk in to Torquay, 5 Minute walk to Meadfoot beech. Hotel on quiet road .

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stephenh2445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadfootbay, Manager at The Meadfoot Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Stephenh2445,

Thank you for your kind review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you get chance to stay with us again and don't forget that we give a good discount to returning guests when you book direct.

Many thanks

Vicki, Phil, Jody & all of the team at MBH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3 081 reviews
0.2 km away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#11 of 85 in Torquay
908 reviews
4.9 km away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 85 in Torquay
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#25 of 85 in Torquay
594 reviews
0.4 km away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
662 reviews
1.8 km away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meadfoot Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meadfoot Bay

Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#6 Business Hotel in Torquay
#9 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: R1 756 - R2 654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meadfoot Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadfoot Bay is a 5* award-winning family run Bed & Breakfast situated in the stunning conservation area of Meadfoot, just a stroll from Meadfoot Beach and a short walk from Torquay harbour. There is a large selection of different room types available including our Classic Rooms, Premier Rooms, Deluxe Rooms and our 3 gorgeous Suites. We have just won the AA Breakfast Award for our breakfast which is prepared using all local produce and everything cooked to order to guarantee freshness. After 9 years constant refurbishment and hard work The Meadfoot Bay has been awarded the Highly Commended Award by The AA. As a result we have proudly achieved a place in the top 10% of our 5 star guest accommodation rating. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you to The Meadfoot Bay in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Meadfoot Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meadfoot Bay Hotel Torquay
Meadfoot Bay Torquay
Meadfoot Bay Hotel Torquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing