We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (575)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveller rating
521
43
10
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
521
43
10
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews signature suite decanter of sherry on arrival spa bath private terrace family run hotel cooked breakfast deluxe room cold meats wet room welcome drink high standard fantastic stay full english breakfast was amazing small hotel superb hotel
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 576 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017

My wife and I celebrated 50 years of marriage this year and our Children treated us to a weekend at the Meadfoot Bay. What a lovely little hotel, secluded yet within walking distance of the town. We were made very welcome and the atmosphere was really friendly. In a way breakfast was the highlight and the pancakes were superb. We will surely be back again.
Alan and Ann, Fleet Hampshire

Room Tip: the signature suite is worth it
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank ahayward123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadfootbay, Owner at The Meadfoot Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Mr & Mrs Hayward

We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us on this very special occasion and sincerely hope you won't wait for another significant anniversary before you visit us again. Chef will be delighted that you enjoyed her pancakes, though the praise might go to her head, we'll happily pass it on. Look forward to seeing you again at the 'Bay'.

Kind regards Phil, Vicki, Jody and the rest of the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We travelled to Torquay on Tuesday 10th October and had planned to stay at the Haytor Hotel. Upon our arrival we were advised that the hotel was closed due to a bereavement, and had booked us in the Meadfoot Bay Hotel just up the road. We were a bit apprehensive at first as we had not heard of nor knew what the hotel was like. Upon our arrival, we were upgraded free of charge to the Superior Suite as we had just got married and we were not disappointed at all with the room, facilities and services. We are sorry for the bereavement at the original hotel, but I'm glad to have stayed at the Meadfoot Hotel as it is simply superb in every way and we are not disappointed in any way. I cannot recommend this hotel enough, beautiful rooms, lovely and friendly staff who go out of their way to help you and they put on a fantastic breakfast!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Debbie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadfootbay, Owner at The Meadfoot Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Hi guys

Despite the sad circumstances that bought you through our doors, we're so pleased that we were able to make your honeymoon meet or even exceed your expectations, as we're sure our friends at the Haytor would have done so too. Wishing you every happiness for your new life together and hope you will indeed return to either MBH or the Haytor in the future where a warm welcome will be waiting for you both.

Love from us all MBH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

On arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome and offered a complimentary drink from the bar.
Our room the Delux Room 3 was everybit Delux as in the description, really comfortable excellent facilities.
The breakfast was plenty of choice and the cooked breakfast was personalised to what we wanted.
The Staff were great, helpful, pleasant and friendly.
Would we go back a definitive yes.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are satisfactory however Delux is what it is.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ANGREEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadfootbay, Manager at The Meadfoot Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear ANGREEN,

thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Meadfoot Hotel. We hope that you get chance to stay with us again.

p.s - I am looking at cruises at the moment hopefully looking to book one for next year, thank you for all of your advise.

Many thanks

Jody, Vicki, Phil and all of the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Stayed Monday 2nd October to Friday 6th October. Relaxing stay room clean , good breakfast, staff friendly and helpful. 10 minute walk in to Torquay, 5 Minute walk to Meadfoot beech. Hotel on quiet road .

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stephenh2445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadfootbay, Manager at The Meadfoot Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Stephenh2445,

Thank you for your kind review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you get chance to stay with us again and don't forget that we give a good discount to returning guests when you book direct.

Many thanks

Vicki, Phil, Jody & all of the team at MBH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

A total Gem.Loved our stay for two nights on 6th&7th October and so wish we had booked in for longer.Enjoyed our time in the bar and what a great breakfast.We would struggle to find anything bad to say apart from the awkward step by room 5 but I gather that will be put right during the planned overhaul.Very pleased we booked and will most certainly stay again when next in Torquay.
Carol & Terry.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank terrycarol2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadfootbay, Manager at The Meadfoot Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes that step going down to room 5 is an awkward one (joys of an old building) but it is one of the things we look to improve during our refurbishment this winter.

We hope you get chance to stay with us again and hopefully for a bit longer next time

Many thanks

Vicki, Phil, Jody & all of the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews