We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christening party (High Tea) - outstanding ”
Review of The Osborne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Osborne Hotel
Ranked #28 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a fantastic day for our daughter’s christening celebration/party. We had almost thirty guests and picked high tea which was faultless. From the room itself (which was immaculately presented), to the food and drink, everything exceeded our expectations. The owners of the hotel should be proud of the team responsible for it, especially Richard who did an outstanding job taking care of us all day. The majority of guests even pointed out to us how good he was - a credit to the hotel. Thanks also to Lucy and Stacey who were also instrumental in making sure this day went perfectly.

We’re coming back for our wedding reception in a year so I was a little anxious as to what it would be like (this was essentially a dry-run for the day) but we’re now really excited about coming back with a bigger party!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rasmt01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Two things really make this hotel,the first is its position in private grounds overlooking meadfoot beach,the second is duty manager Oliver he makes the place run so smoothly that everything falls into place and works.The hotel has recently been refurbished to a very high standard and definitely has the wow factor.Excellent food although if staying more than two nights a little variation in the menu would be appreciated.Overall a really good stay at a superb hotel.Well done all.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ihughes1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings and looks impressive from outside, the grounds appeared well kept.

All staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful.

Our room was located at the back of the hotel, it was ok, but not what I expected for the price we paid. It was small and dull and one of the bedside lamps worked but was very much broken, however it was nice and clean.

One of the reasons we chose this hotel was the leisure facilities. Please look elsewhere if you do the same, indoor pool was terrible, changing rooms are dated, floor tiles are filthy and cracked, ceiling in the pool has holes in and is falling down and there was numerous clumps of hair floating around in the pool, needless to say we didn’t spend long in there! So we decided to try out the sauna. This unfortunately fared no better. There was a notice stuck on the door to say that the temperature could not go above 70 otherwise it would trip out and need to be reset by management, so a bit of a pointless exercise really, it was warmer outside. That was the first and only use of the leisure facilities on our stay.

Breakfast was ok, you could order from the menu or there was a type of buffet/help yourself area with fruit, cereal, yogurt and pastries etc, the help yourself area was not kept stocked throughout breakfast time, so unless you get down there at the crack of dawn you’ll be disappointed.
The breakfast items from the menu were of a good standard and the staff could not be faulted.

It’s clear to see that money has been spent on certain areas in the hotel, staff are very good, but there are quite a few very tired areas throughout. This hotel was clearly a very grand building in its day and really is in beautiful surroundings, we enjoyed our stay however personally I feel it is slightly overpriced for what it is.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank P34NUT11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked a three night break and upgrade to Sea View Room as these were “luxuriously refurbished” Capro Hotels idea of luxury standard are considerably lower than ours! The bathroom was nicely tiles but had a plastic “corner bath” of which the curved panel did not fit and has been stuck together with white mastic. The shower, though large had only a hand spray with poor pressure, no soap dish for toiletries and there was no lavatory brush.
The corridors are a disgrace! There is 1970s torn wallpaper and old dado wallpaper strips with bits hanging off. The lounge facilities consist of about three chairs and two sofas in the reception area and if you did not have a sea view room to sit instead it was pretty miserable. There is good outside terrace space across from the hotel for sunny days and warm evenings.
Food was ok but the breakfast buffet had no “peeled fresh fruit” (melon - orange - grapefruit etc) but an “odd mix of dried apricots steeped in Earl Grey Tea with fruit berries. There was a decent assortment of cereals and fruit juices.
Dinner was quite good but the same menu on offer three nights in a row so not much variety.
The indoor swimming pool was a challenge! Entered from the lower ground floor where there is a gym sauna etc and changing rooms. The pool is then accessed through another room key operated door which then leads to a set of steps up to the pool which itself is quite nice. However, after your swim when you decsend the steps to the exit door leading to the changing rooms there is a notice “guests must dry-off” before proceeding further!! Something if a challenge when there are no facilities there to do so and your “”kit” (apart from your towel) is in the changing rooms along a passage on the other side of the door.

Room Tip: Choose the upgrade to sea view room
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is very nice,beautifully situated,with swimming pool,gardens,
We were looking forward to the break so much,and the reason ,we picked Osbourne was the open air pool garden ,so we could swim relax around the pool,,which is what we expected,but alas didn't get ,as neither was open to us,,s
It was early June ,and no one on booking told us that the facility wouldn't be open!,
Apart from the fact the weather was just what we needed,to enjoy are stay.
But total disappiontment for us all,
Otherwise I'm sure we would have returned to the hotel!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Gaynor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSBOps-Manager, Operations Manager at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Gaynor P thanks for taking the time to write you review of the Osborne although I do have a couple of comments. I've looked back at the hotel life guard rota's as well as pool records and confirmed as I suspected the pool was indeed up and running from the end of May so the reception would have been given false information had they said it was closed. All of our rooms have basic welcome packs inside with information on hotel facilities. In the pack it does state that the outside pool is open on a weather dependent basis. During the summer we will only close the pool if A) there is a maintenance issue that does not permit swimmers to use the pool or B) the weather was deemed too bad to facilitate opening the pool. Having looked at our outside terrace figures I can summarize the weather was wet, dark & gloomy and very typically British and therefor this was most likely the reason for the pool and terrace bar not being open. Although we share the name with the French Rivera we certainly don't share their weather! Hopefully you will return to us at some point and we will do our best to import some continental weather for you as we missed the sun as well!

Kindest Regards
Matthew J Moody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.9 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3 079 reviews
0.2 km away
The Meadfoot Bay
The Meadfoot Bay
#6 of 85 in Torquay
520 reviews
0.3 km away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 85 in Torquay
2 496 reviews
0.6 km away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
661 reviews
0.1 km away
The Hotel Balmoral
The Hotel Balmoral
#14 of 85 in Torquay
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osborne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osborne Hotel

Address: Hesketh Crescent | Meadfoot ,south Devon, Torquay TQ1 2LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#13 Business Hotel in Torquay
#13 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#27 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: R1 055 - R2 165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Osborne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With wonderful views across Tor Bay, The Osborne Hotel has a modern health club, an outdoor pool and leafy sun terrace. The hotel is set in 6 acres of grounds that lead to Meadfoot Beach.The elegant bedrooms are individually decorated, and all have free Wi-Fi access and tea/coffee facilities with free mineral water. All rooms have a private bathroom and a cosy seating area.Hesketh’s Health and Fitness Centre features an indoor swimming pool, fully equipped gym and tennis courts. Guests can relax in the sauna, or on the spacious poolside terraces.Langtry’s Restaurant has impressive bay views, and serves modern British cuisine and fine wines. There is also a informal continental-style brasserie, offering fresh coffees and afternoon teas.In the heart of the English Riviera, Osborne Hotel is a 15-minute stroll from the picturesque Torquay Marina. Free on-site parking is available, and Torquay Railway Station is just 1 and a half miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Osborne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Torquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing