We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Osborne Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Burleigh House(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$362
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cleveland(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$93/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$150
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Haytor Hotel(Torquay)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
US$143
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$172/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$185
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Trinity Mews(Torquay)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$141
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (629)
Filter reviews
629 results
Traveller rating
260
205
88
57
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
205
88
57
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsterrace barsea viewmeadfoot beachoutdoor pooljunior suitedining roomon arrivalthird floorlovely hotelenglish rivierasuperb locationlarge bathroomwalk into towneach eveningfirst classvery pleasant stayhigh standard
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 629 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Two things really make this hotel,the first is its position in private grounds overlooking meadfoot beach,the second is duty manager Oliver he makes the place run so smoothly that everything falls into place and works.The hotel has recently been refurbished to a very high standard and definitely has the wow factor.Excellent food although if staying more than two nights a little variation in the menu would be appreciated.Overall a really good stay at a superb hotel.Well done all.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ihughes1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings and looks impressive from outside, the grounds appeared well kept.

All staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful.

Our room was located at the back of the hotel, it was ok, but not what I expected for the price we paid. It was small and dull and one of the bedside lamps worked but was very much broken, however it was nice and clean.

One of the reasons we chose this hotel was the leisure facilities. Please look elsewhere if you do the same, indoor pool was terrible, changing rooms are dated, floor tiles are filthy and cracked, ceiling in the pool has holes in and is falling down and there was numerous clumps of hair floating around in the pool, needless to say we didn’t spend long in there! So we decided to try out the sauna. This unfortunately fared no better. There was a notice stuck on the door to say that the temperature could not go above 70 otherwise it would trip out and need to be reset by management, so a bit of a pointless exercise really, it was warmer outside. That was the first and only use of the leisure facilities on our stay.

Breakfast was ok, you could order from the menu or there was a type of buffet/help yourself area with fruit, cereal, yogurt and pastries etc, the help yourself area was not kept stocked throughout breakfast time, so unless you get down there at the crack of dawn you’ll be disappointed.
The breakfast items from the menu were of a good standard and the staff could not be faulted.

It’s clear to see that money has been spent on certain areas in the hotel, staff are very good, but there are quite a few very tired areas throughout. This hotel was clearly a very grand building in its day and really is in beautiful surroundings, we enjoyed our stay however personally I feel it is slightly overpriced for what it is.

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank P34NUT11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Booked a three night break and upgrade to Sea View Room as these were “luxuriously refurbished” Capro Hotels idea of luxury standard are considerably lower than ours! The bathroom was nicely tiles but had a plastic “corner bath” of which the curved panel did not fit and has been stuck together with white mastic. The shower, though large had only a hand spray with poor pressure, no soap dish for toiletries and there was no lavatory brush.
The corridors are a disgrace! There is 1970s torn wallpaper and old dado wallpaper strips with bits hanging off. The lounge facilities consist of about three chairs and two sofas in the reception area and if you did not have a sea view room to sit instead it was pretty miserable. There is good outside terrace space across from the hotel for sunny days and warm evenings.
Food was ok but the breakfast buffet had no “peeled fresh fruit” (melon - orange - grapefruit etc) but an “odd mix of dried apricots steeped in Earl Grey Tea with fruit berries. There was a decent assortment of cereals and fruit juices.
Dinner was quite good but the same menu on offer three nights in a row so not much variety.
The indoor swimming pool was a challenge! Entered from the lower ground floor where there is a gym sauna etc and changing rooms. The pool is then accessed through another room key operated door which then leads to a set of steps up to the pool which itself is quite nice. However, after your swim when you decsend the steps to the exit door leading to the changing rooms there is a notice “guests must dry-off” before proceeding further!! Something if a challenge when there are no facilities there to do so and your “”kit” (apart from your towel) is in the changing rooms along a passage on the other side of the door.

Room Tip: Choose the upgrade to sea view room
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

The hotel is very nice,beautifully situated,with swimming pool,gardens,
We were looking forward to the break so much,and the reason ,we picked Osbourne was the open air pool garden ,so we could swim relax around the pool,,which is what we expected,but alas didn't get ,as neither was open to us,,s
It was early June ,and no one on booking told us that the facility wouldn't be open!,
Apart from the fact the weather was just what we needed,to enjoy are stay.
But total disappiontment for us all,
Otherwise I'm sure we would have returned to the hotel!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Gaynor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSBOps-Manager, Operations Manager at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Hi Gaynor P thanks for taking the time to write you review of the Osborne although I do have a couple of comments. I've looked back at the hotel life guard rota's as well as pool records and confirmed as I suspected the pool was indeed up and running from the end of May so the reception would have been given false information had they said it was closed. All of our rooms have basic welcome packs inside with information on hotel facilities. In the pack it does state that the outside pool is open on a weather dependent basis. During the summer we will only close the pool if A) there is a maintenance issue that does not permit swimmers to use the pool or B) the weather was deemed too bad to facilitate opening the pool. Having looked at our outside terrace figures I can summarize the weather was wet, dark & gloomy and very typically British and therefor this was most likely the reason for the pool and terrace bar not being open. Although we share the name with the French Rivera we certainly don't share their weather! Hopefully you will return to us at some point and we will do our best to import some continental weather for you as we missed the sun as well!

Kindest Regards
Matthew J Moody

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

I stayed with my partner for the weekend.

Everything was great ...

Room
View
Service
Food
Bar/Restaurant

10 out of 10 for all of the above.

But then we tried using the pool and sauna facilities...!!!

These areas were truly in a shocking state. I will upload some photos.

The sauna didn’t work...!!!

We had to go and ask for assistance twice (as our first request for help seemed to have been forgotten about by the reception).

After waiting for the best part of an hour the sauna packed up again.

The ceiling above the pool had multiple holes in it and many areas the ceilings had holes and/or were stained presumably from previous leaks.

That said our stay Overall was good.

I think the hotels claim of having “modern health facilities” on their “official” trip advisor description is gross mis-representation. I have asked the hotel to update their description to something more appropriate.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank martinleetaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews