We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anchorage Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Cimon(Torquay)
US$97
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$95
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
437 results
Traveller rating
139
127
70
46
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
127
70
46
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach partythe ground floorpleasant hotelevening entertainmentsunday lunchlong weekendbabbacombe downsexcellent value for moneybuffet stylethree nightssingle roomgreat weekendweekend breakplenty of choicenothing is too much troublea lovely stayyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 437 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

I wish to say what a lovely hotel this is. My husband & myself brought my elderly mum to stay overnight for us to take her to watch Dirty Dancing show at the Babbacombe Theatre. The rooms were lovely and clean and comfortable beds. The breakfast was excellent with plenty to choose from.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank annehurley134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

I brought two "Buy a Gift" at Christmas, one for my husband and one for my son and his wife. Both of us tried several places to use them especially over weekends, but without luck. However the Anchorage Hotel do take them and with Richard's help, patience and support (thank you Richard) we spent an enjoyable weekend with our son, his wife and grandchildren.

Our rooms with clean and well maintained. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful. We choose to eat at in the restaurant, paying for the buffet meal which was good value.

We did find it strange seeing a couple of people with dogs, but they were not a problem.

Room Tip: Room 3 is a large family with room for at least a double bed and 2 singles. Room 9 average size with superking bed along a quiet corridor.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Very basic old hotel however you get what you pay for. Staff very friendly and helpful, rooms were reasonably comfortable however the bathrooms need a little TLC.
Wouldn't expect a room with a view!
Breakfast is decent enough if you're happy with a bacon sandwich or cereal.
Excellent location if you take a walk to the cliff top and down to the beach there is a beautiful little beach and a cafe / beer stop called Three degrees west - if the suns out you couldn't be in a better place.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kimberley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here a couple of weeks ago for one night, we were a little bit concerned having read some of the recent reviews however found that the hotel itself was fair. We found all staff encountered to be very polite and helpful, there seemed to be a good level of cleanliness throughout, and breakfast was fine the following morning. The downside to our stay was being allocated a very small double room; we were glad we had only booked one night. Our stay overall was fair however we felt was quite pricey, at £84, considering the small size of our room and the overall dated feel of the hotel on the whole.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Wondered where some of the reviewers stayed as it certainly wasnt this hotel. Room no 4 was nice and clean and freshly decorated with a superb bathroom with a selection of toiletries. The room was cleaned each day and the tea/coffee/hot chocolate drinks refreshed daily with a fresh selection of biscuits. The meals were all buffet style and portions were more than generous and meal times were flexible. We found the staff friendly and helpful at all times. There was entertainment 3 nights and an optional trip on wednesday to the theatre which I heartily recommend. We would have no hesitation in coming back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the right of the dining room do not have a lift eg rooms starting with No 1
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katharine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews