We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (619)
Filter reviews
619 results
Traveller rating
275
156
76
62
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
156
76
62
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews orchid restaurant sea view the penthouse sister hotel livermead house three star first class high standard course dinner dining room room was large bit dated nothing too much trouble one night stay couldn't do enough thoroughly enjoyed our stay my mum
Filter
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 619 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2015 via mobile

Good hotel room had a sea view which was fantastic! The room was good for a night and the staff were very helpful, they were welcoming to us and our dog which was lovely. The location was in a good area and was opposite a smaller dog friendly beach. We stayed for breakfast which was also really lovely. The only thing I would say was not what I expected was the price of the room: it was bit steep!

Other than that it was a wonderful stay and the staff were very inviting and welcoming. Thank you very much.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015

Just returned from a 3 night break at the Corbyn Head. Allocated a seaview room with balcony at no extra cost. Hotel staff were very efficient and friendly especially in the restaurant. Have to mention Wojtek who goes above and beyond to ensure excellent service within the restaurant. Room 70 had a few problems, toilet flush was extremely temperamental, light above shaver point did not work, bedside clock was faulty. One glass panel on balcony was cracked and table on balcony was broken. However the hotel is in a superb position on seafront with beautiful views. to summarise - hotel bedrooms in need of refurbishment, rest of hotel was ok.

Room Tip: Rooms at front have superb views of Torbay but are noisy as hotel is on the main road,
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Molly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015

Sorry to say paid a lot of money for the view. Very dated hotel needs a lot of updating. Walls stained, dirty marks on doors, bath chipped and scratched. Bed was like lying on a brick, they did put a quilt on top of mattress. The brochure photos are done very cleverly. You don't realise till you get there that the main road in and out of Torquay is right outside and it is very very noisy. I also believe the photos to be old as our bathroom did not look like the photos and furniture very stained and tired. Not many TV channels and slow wifi. Breakfast was not the best and greasy, you did not always get what you ordered as some of the staff did not understand what you were asking for. Pool small and very cold. Would not stay here again and would not recommend. I would say this hotel is for the older generation.

Stayed: July 2015
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

Staff extremely friendly and helpful
Hotel reception well presented
Rooms very tired and in need of major refurbishment our bathroom (31) was acceptable but hot water took forever to come through.
Our room was situated on the first floor with sea view, with heavy traffic noise all night, impossible to have the double glazed window open, noise was still heard even though the window was closed, must be unbearable if it's hot, (no air con)
Wifi is very slow, and only available in bar area or reception.
Finally the price we paid wasn't good value @£139 for one night for B&B
Breakfast disappointing good variety but the full English appeared to be pre cooked ?? Bacon sausage quite hard in texture, staff again were very attentive with a very officious head waiter
This hotel needs a complete makeover and large amount of cash investment !

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Christof247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2015

Stayed here for a couple of nights on the weekend, location is easy to find and there is a good bus stop out front if you do not want to walk to the centre of town. Rooms are a bit tired, and you will have to go up steps with your bags - and perhaps weave through several corridors. There was a musty smell in the corridor. Breakfast was a bit slow, so plan in enough time if you need to be some place.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lindatravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews