We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Imperial Torquay
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Trinity Mews(Torquay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Barton(Torquay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Peppers(Torquay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hudson Hotel(Torquay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Marstan(Torquay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3 326)
Filter reviews
3 327 results
Traveller rating
1 263
1 125
526
241
172
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 263
1 125
526
241
172
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewper nightcar parksun loungerslovely hotellarge balconydeluxe roomsteam roomoutdoor poolan upgradeleisure facilitiesdining roomsome tlcpublic roomslick of paintevening mealshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
726 - 731 of 3 327 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2017

Views to die for! Staff friendly and efficient. Closely situated to harbour and restaurants.lots to do in the area.we particularly enjoyed Torre Abbey and Kent Caverns.ferry boats travel from Torquay to Paignton Brixham and Dartmouth.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank johnpT5108RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

We have stayed at The Imperial many times over the past 20 years and witnessed for ourselves the effect of a variety of different owners. Mostly they spent a little on decor and tried to update the public areas in particular but the bedrooms stayed much the same with new paint and a bit of work in the bathrooms.

The new owners bought it in September 2016 and they have left it much the same as the previous ones, but we were told of a planned spend of £15 million (and probably rise in prices) over the next year or so and we will see if it has the desired effect.

The sea view deluxe rooms are the ones we go for (218 is a good one, or 221) with spacious accommodation and plenty of storage. They still sport the furniture we have seen every year since we started going, so this could do with updating, but the bathrooms are clean and functional albeit not very large or modern. This is a Victorian hotel and en-suite rooms were rare so they were not catered for in the layout and this sometimes shows in the size and layout of the bathroom.

The public spaces are exceptional. Large, roomy, airy, and elegant, they are swept with marble and mirrors plus high ceilings and chandeliers that give a touch of class to a grand building. The pool and gym are good too with plenty of modern equipment.

Staff are helpful and friendly. There was a power cut on the second day of our stay (across most of the town and only for 20 minutes) and the staff leapt into action advising what had happened to all the guests, using torches to light stairwells, offering tea and coffee while we waited for the repair, and generally being very helpful. Everyone was polite and friendly and they took good care of us.

The food in the restaurant was excellent and we think it is much better than in recent years. The new chef is working wonders.

Parking is extra but the car parks are secure.

Overall a great experience and we would book again, probably after the refit.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank e-trave11er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Dear e-trave11er

Thank you for your feedback following your stay, we are delighted that you can see improvements throughout the hotel. We are very excited to be planning a major refurbishment which will address the points that you have raised, although in the meantime we are also making significant improvements to ensure that our beautiful hotel presents itself as a grand hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

I booked late so got the last room in the hotel - Room 402. My fault for booking late!

Room - a bit small and dark and lacked a sea view - but despite overlooking the car park, there was still some nice scenery from the back window. Bathroom was fine - a bit dated but nice and light and good size. The bed was very comfortable and the room was spotless. If I hadn't the other lovely rooms available (thanks to a really nice member of staff who let me snoop around the other rooms) I would have been happy with the room - even though it was pricey for the size and lack of view.

Breakfast - superb! Everything about it! Great dining room, fab selection and quality of food. A buffet - but done so well. Top marks! The spa and pool were also fantastic. Sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, gym - all spotless, free towels and drinks. Again top marks! The grounds are also just lovely. Outdoor pool (closed as April) nice size, lots of loungers, well kept gardens. Really nice. So in theory despite a small room, everything else was great.
However... there was one big issue! Never go to this hotel or any hotel in Torquay over this weekend (21st-23rd April 2017) as it is the Young Farmers National Conference. Torquay was colonised by 5000 paralytic young farmers and it really ruined the weekend. They were not nasty, aggressive or anything, just so many of them and so very, very drunk. All the time! If I'd been with young children, old parent, it would not have been nice. I feel the hotel had a duty to inform me about this event, out of courtesy, as my partner and I had hoped for a quiet weekend in this beautiful hotel and town. There were very few Young Farmers staying at the Imperial so the hotel itself was not affected by the event, but the rest of the town was.

I would have given this hotel 5/5 had I been told as I would not have gone that weekend.

Room Tip: Don't have room 402. Even if it is the last room left! Go when you can get a nicer room.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Dear Louise M

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding the hotel, we are delighted that you had a wonderful stay in the hotel. It is regretful that local events had an impact on your enjoyment of your visit and note your suggestion to communicate local events in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Firstly I must admit I have history with this hotel. Family members recall when it was one of the notable hotels not only in the UK but Europe, the height of elegance, sophistication and fine dining and was patronised by celebrities and royalty. How things have changed! Following a disastrous stay several years ago I was intrigued to read that Andrew Brownsword (Gidleigh Park and Bath Priory) had purchased the hotel and was undertaking a major refurbishment programme.Speaking to reservations I was assured the hotel had been smartened up and we would be given a nice room on one of the upper floors (the view).
If this is one of the nicer rooms.......! Tatty furniture with scratches and burn marks, armchairs with frayed/ bare material on the armrests. yellowing, discoloured light switches and plug sockets, dirty material headboard, cheap plastic furniture on the balcony. The bathroom- stained grouting, unappetising bath, small plastic showerhead that produce a trickle of water of an inconsistent temperature, marked flooring - AWFUL!! A pink ironing board was propped up against the wardrobe.
Dinner was an improvement on our last disastrous visit- although the crumbed calamari starter was a disappointment. Why oh why is the paint on the window frames in the dining room cracked and peeling spoiling the magnificent view from the table? Breakfast was poor, a mediocre selection of fresh fruit and charcuterie, awful coffee and the dreadful hot room where cooked breakfast items are left drying out under heated lamps! On the plus side the Eggs Royale I ordered for a supplement were very good.
At checkout I complained only to be told I should have done so the previous evening and the room/bedding could have been changed.As I explained, following a long lunch with wine with family members I could not face complaining,packing up etc and as we had been assured this was one of the better rooms to what end? Furthermore the holes in the duvet cover were not discovered until we got into bed after 11pm- was I supposed to wait up then for housekeeping to change the bed linen? No formal apology or follow up has been forthcoming.
Overall dreadful- AVOID. Mr Brownsword you would be well advised to do the decent thing and close the place down and undertake a complete refurbishment not just a lick of paint and new covers for the sofas in the communal areas.

Room Tip: Do not stay here
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank camille523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Dear camille523

Thank you for your feedback which is in the process of being investigated. We have endeavoured to make contact with you and look forward to discussing the matter further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Great room with amazing view, breakfast buffet good, dinner a little disappointing. Improve the quality of dinner and this would make a good hotel excellent. Great staff all very willing to help. The selection of food in the bar was unusual and overpriced.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyn G, General Manager at The Imperial Torquay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Dear Jim W

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and will ensure that we continue to improve our food offering for dinner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews