We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family birthday”
Review of Bistrot Pierre

Bistrot Pierre
Ranked #63 of 779 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$31
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our bistrot is housed within Royal William Yard, considered to be one of the most important groups of historic military buildings in Britain. It was built by the Royal Navy between 1825 and 1835 and provided the Navy, at home and sea, with food and drink. Bistrot Pierre’s ‘raison d’être’ is great value French cooking and seasonal menus. We like to combine French bistrot classics such as steak-frites, boeuf bourguignon and tarte au citron with our own take on regional favourites like tarte flambée, Bouillabaisse and paté de campagne. Our relaxed and friendly bistrot is the place to go for any occasion. Open seven days a week serving lunch and dinner and breakfast at weekend we have something for everyone, from the two-course prix-fixe lunch for £10.95 and a two-course pre-theatre menu for £14.95 to the sumptuous a la carte menu, and for those with little time we now also offer a one-course lunch menu for just £9.50. Wander through our distinctive French wine list too, with over 20 French wines sold by the glass you will discover something exquisite to drink with your meal. For something a little special we also host a range of events at the bistrot. Join us on the second and fourth Tuesday of every month for our Soireé Gastronomique, a six-course set menu with hearty provincial cooking. This is outstanding value priced at £22.95 per person. In addition, we also offer a special Dine with Wine evening where each course comes with a glass of specially chosen wine. This takes place on the first and third Wednesday of every month, so join us for a delicious two or three course set dinner menu for £22.95/£27.95 per person. We want to make sure there is something for everyone on our menus, whatever your dietary requirements. That’s why you’ll find plenty of delicious gluten-free dishes as well as a child-friendly menu on offer to help make your experience in our restaurant as easy and enjoyable as possible. If you love what we do and are looking for the perfect present, give the gift of French dining and order our gift vouchers online.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Lovely restaurant with stunning surroundings. Service excellent and food what you’d expect from French cuisine. All in all great experience

Thank frannyb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Good Morning.

thank you for taking the time to leave some wonderful feedback, were delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit to Bistrot and all the lovely views it come with, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

warm regards
Pascale. M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 905)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 1 905 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

New spring season menu. Had the chicken liver starter. Had this once before and it was a bit overcooked. Asked for pink this time - umm, little too pink in parts, but ok. Now, chicken and avocado salad. Can I make a couple of suggestions - firstly, ditch the Bib lettuce in favour of little gem - crispier and added texture. Second, please don’t dice the avocado! First, it makes it hard to find in all that green and, more importantly, diced small doesn’t enhance anything. And, yes, I know avocado is a pain, but a little lemon juice etc?

Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Good Morning.

I have privately messaged you.

warm regards.
Pascale. M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Waitresses and welcoming ladies were more interested with the bar men than dealing with customers who are dining. Lovely starters and desserts, highly recommend the honey chorizo. The mains were average but with that being said, we will return to try out the food again, maybe on a less busy day

Thank missparks68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Good Morning.
I have privately messaged you.

warm regards
Pascale. M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Was taken by my family to Bistro Pierre for Mothers day. Being Mothers day it was very busy it didn't affect the level of service. On offer was a very reasonably priced 3 course meal. Good choice on offer on all courses I can recommend the steak cooked perfectly and for dessert the pear and raspberry ftangipan is not to be missed. To sum up this restaurant has a Great atmosphere wide choice of food served by efficient friendly staff

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Good Morning.

Thank you for taking the time to leave some wonderful feedback, were delighted to hear you enjoyed your time dinning with us, and hope you had a wonderful mothers day.

we have just launched a new spring/summer menu with lots of lovely new dishes to try which I'm sure you will enjoy.

we look forward to seeing you again soon in the future.

warm regards.
Pascale. M
Duty Manger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

We had a wonderful lunch time meal the service was excellent staff very friendly could not fault it, we will be back in June for my birthday.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager L, Manager at Bistrot Pierre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Good Morning.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some wonderful feedback were delighted to hear you enjoyed the food and service.

we have launch a lovely new spring/summer menu as from today, so we have a lot of lovely new exacting options available which I'm sure you would enjoy.

ON BIG HAPPY NOTE HAPPY 53RD WEDDING ANNIVERSARRY.

we look forward to seeing you again soon in the near future.

warm regards
Pascale. M
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistrot Pierre also viewed

 

Been to Bistrot Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing