We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great feel good musical”

Theatre Royal Plymouth
Ranked #17 of 189 things to do in Plymouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Theatre Royal Plymouth is the largest and best attended regional producing theatre in the UK and the leading promoter of theatre in the South West. There are two distinctive performance spaces; The Lyric and The Drum, and a new workshop and performance space, The Lab, will open in October 2013.The range of work presented and produced is incredibly extensive, including regular collaborations with leading theatre companies in the UK and beyond. The programme includes major touring drama, musical productions, leading opera and dance. The Theatre Royal Plymouth also produces and presents new plays and has built a national reputation for the quality of its programme and innovative work in The Drum, winning the prestigious Peter Brook award. New musicals and larger scale drama are co-produced for The Lyric, often with commercial or subsidised partners and many productions tour nationally or transfer to the West End. The Theatre Royal Plymouth provides an exceptional Creative Learning programme with a focus on engaging young and disadvantaged communities. The award-winning theatre production and learning centre, TR2, contains unrivalled set, costume, prop-making and rehearsal facilities.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just watched summer holiday this afternoon, what a great show , the whole cast performed brilliant, great singing dancing , lots of humour, couldn’t stop singing along with them , thoroughly enjoyed , could of watched it all afternoon , one of my favourite feel good musicals I have seen .

Thank Jackie556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheatreRoyalPlymouth, Manager at Theatre Royal Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jackie, thank you very much for your positive feedback. We're glad you enjoyed the production and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (854)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mary poppins"
in 35 reviews
"west end"
in 37 reviews
"mama mia"
in 22 reviews
"upper circle"
in 21 reviews
"jersey boys"
in 18 reviews
"pre show"
in 18 reviews
"sister act"
in 14 reviews
"interval drinks"
in 9 reviews
"standing ovation"
in 9 reviews
"special effects"
in 9 reviews
"second half"
in 13 reviews
"plenty of leg room"
in 11 reviews
"box office"
in 10 reviews
"front of house"
in 12 reviews
"cast"
in 87 reviews
"musical"
in 72 reviews
"production"
in 117 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 854 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We love the Theatre Royal. The seating is excellent- we've never had a bad seat. The musical was wonderful it was my favourite film as a child and the musical didn't disappoint. Ray Quinn was brilliant. We look forward to visiting again soon.

Thank TEC182014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheatreRoyalPlymouth, Manager at Theatre Royal Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello,

thank you for your kind words regarding your recent visit. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the production and we hope to welcome you back soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited the Theatre Royal Plymouth once again and saw a brilliant production of Summer Holiday, I remember the original film so was interested to see what this would be like, my friend that accompanied me wasn't even born when the film was out. Neither of us was disappointed with the production, the London bus worked well and Ray Quinn was amazing, I could have listened just to him all evening!! Special mention also to Joe Goldie who was very funny,the other members of the cast were also very good, not so sure about Bobby Crush. The stamina these dancers/singers have is unbelievable, just when we thought the show had finished all the cast came back on stage and did a compilation of all the famous songs from the show. brilliant, we were all on our feet giving the cast (especially Ray Quinn) a well deserved standing ovation. Catch the show if you can, you won't be disappointed.

Thank Mags2plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheatreRoyalPlymouth, Manager at Theatre Royal Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello,

thanks for your lovely review, we're delighted to hear you enjoyed the production. We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Really lovely theatre. Excellent facilities. Super clean, great prices on drinks and really helpful and friendly staff. Worth travelling 150 miles for a show!

Thank PuddingElephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheatreRoyalPlymouth, Manager at Theatre Royal Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello,
thank you very much for your lovely review. We hope that you get to visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have enjoyed every show I’ve gone to here, and this show was no exception. I do feel the ushers love there power a bit too much... two women in front of me got told of twice for singing and had security watching them for most of the second half, when you go to a show like this and they are telling you to get up and dance and clap your hands, why should you then be told to sit in your seat quiet, I felt sorry for the ladies no one around them was bothered in the slightest by them guess a member of staff was just on a power trip

Thank Chase2713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheatreRoyalPlymouth, Manager at Theatre Royal Plymouth, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello,

thank you very much for your feedback, we're glad you enjoyed the production. Our staff wish for every member of the audience to have the best experience possible as theatre is a shared live experience. Whilst we don't want to limit any person's enjoyment of a show, we do ask that patrons respect and consider their surrounding audience members. Many thanks :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Theatre Royal Plymouth also viewed

 

Been to Theatre Royal Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing