We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 355)
Filter reviews
1 355 results
Traveller rating
677
442
167
48
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
677
442
167
48
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews carriages restaurant executive room brend hotels sunday carvery sky tv park and ride busy roundabout motel style road noise wedding reception easy access air conditioning main road weekend break bed and breakfast business trip would stay again
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1 355 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the devon hotel for my grandfathers birthday with family. My mother had scoped out the hotel because of its convenient location but had not looked at the rooms when she visited.

I was shocked at how basic the hotel was for the incredible price. I wad expecting something similar to a 4 or 5 star hotel due to the price tag not a glorified travel lodge. The room was comfortable enough but the bathroom was ridicuolous and the view was pretty dire. You dont expect to have to use the air con in October but if was very hot and you couldnt open the windows.

My grandparents were charged extra for an 'exectutive room' because they were disabled but the only thing executive about the room was the fact that the toilet wasnt actually attached to the bath and the bathroom was bigger than a cupboard. Given all the bedrooms had ridiculous mini flights of stairs they had to have an accessible room but i thinks its a disgrace to charge even more for these rooms.

Overall i was unimpressed with an expensive stay in a basic hotel.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank chrisgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Accommodation and food excellent. Bar and the staff are great. Room was facing the road and was a bit noisy if you wanted to open a window.The location of the hotel is great and we will certainly come again!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HertfordshireMacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Public Relations Manager at The Devon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed most aspects of your recent stay with us - from the excellent food and rooms, to the great service provided by our staff!

We do appreciate that the road we are situated on can get quite busy in peak times and we are sorry that you had an issue with the road noise, however we have put measures in place to reduce this disturbance for example double glazing and air conditioning. This location does mean however that we are close to great transport links - we are minutes away from Marsh Barton, the largest trading estate in Exeter, and we also have easy access links to the M5, Exeter Airport and the Park & Ride with direct links into Exeter City Centre. Perfect for business and leisure travellers alike!

We hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Some good aspects and some improvement opportunities. First of which is some of the restaurant staff. My colleague ordered nut cutlet and long after our meals were served she had to ask for hers, to which the waiter rolled his eyes to the back of his head and said it’s on the carvery - as if it was obvious! Food however was a good standard.
Don’t like the fact that rooms are in a separate building to the bar/restaurant so you have to traverse the pathway outside.
Bed was comfortable, but up a small flight of steps from the bathroom. Not particularly practical in the middle of the night. If booking I would ask for a room all in one level,

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Public Relations Manager at The Devon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Janice,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the food in our Carriages Brasserie, but are sorry to hear that the service you received was not up to the usual high standards we strive to maintain. I have passed on your comments to the Restaurant Team to make sure that this does not happen again.

We are also sorry to hear that you had an issue with the layout of the hotel. The Devon Hotel was originally a motel and so some of our rooms are set out on different levels. However we do have plenty of rooms that are all on one level and, whilst never guaranteed, if you request this on booking we will always do our best to accommodate this for you.

The hotel was obtained by the Brend Hotels Group in the 1970s and since then we have spent a lot of time upgrading our rooms and facilities to ensure that we adapt to the changing expectations of our customers - however this will always be in keeping with the traditional character of the original motel. As the hotel was first built in 1955 and Carriages Brasserie dates back to Georgian Times, there is unfortunately little we can do with regards to the separate buildings. We have however installed a covered walkway between the reception and the restaurant to reduce this problem, with only a small road in between that is not covered.

We hope that this has not deterred you from staying with us again in the future, and that your next visit is one to remember for all the right reasons.

Yours sincerely,

Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

Very good standard of room, didn’t use any other services but room was quiet and easy to access. Small but clean and tidy. Very warm welcome on arrival!
Extremely reasonable rates, would return again and recommend

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank J2357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Public Relations Manager at The Devon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Thank you very much for your excellent 5 star review!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoy staying with us and that you find our rooms to be very clean and tidy. At Brend Hotels, we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our hotels. We continually strive to maintain the highest of standards throughout the hotel, as well as taking the time to train our staff to ensure we always provide the finest level of service, and we appreciate it when a guest has noticed this hard work!

We value our returning guests greatly and look forward to welcoming you back to The Devon Hotel and Carriages Brasserie in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

On a cold & wet October day, we decided to have lunch at the Devon Hotel. A very warm welcome from the staff, old fashioned but cosy restaurant and a tasty lunch made the weather irrelevant and kept us going for our journey home. The portions were generous and the prices very reasonable. The staff were attentive but not intrusive. There were lots of parties having lunch and I would assume that you need to book for Sunday lunches. Well worth stopping here.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Public Relations Manager at The Devon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear Wendy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a positive review.

We are pleased that you found the staff warm in their welcome and attentive in looking after you. We are very popular on a Sunday lunch and would always recommend booking to guarantee a table, especially for a large parties or for a special occasion.

We value our returning guests greatly and look forward to welcoming you back to The Devon Hotel and Carriages Brasserie in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews