We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
7 reviews
The Kitchen-Diner
Main bedroom - with en-suite shower room
This is why it's called Scenery Cottage :-)
The Bridford Inn - just a one minute walk from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Exeter, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Linda C
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“In need of a lot of TLC, otherwise could be a lovely cottage”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Booked this accommodation to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary using a WOWCHER code (without this code I wouldn't have been happy paying the full price) - The cottage is in need of a LOT of TLC - the bedside lamps didn't work, the carpets need a good clean, the wood flooring in the lounge needs replacing as it has a big burn hole from the open fire, Glad it had 2 doors to the property as the steps at the front are extremely steep, the property has an electric key meter (I was assured their would be enough credit for the length of my stay - by Monday I needed to buy electric - this wasn't mentioned in the advertisment).

Had no phone reception nor wi-fi access.

Parking can be an issue, but thankfully we were lucky during our stay.

The village is beautiful but very remote - if you don't like driving up a windy single track lane for 1.8 miles then this isn't for you.

The Bridford Inn was very welcoming and the food was lovely, the neighbours were very friendly and the Moors were stunning - their is so much to explore in this part of the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bridford Inn and Exploring the Village
Liked least: The condition of the Accommodation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2016
I think we mentioned you had stayed there just before we refurbed it. There are new carpets throughout the entire cottage (April 2016) and have we have redecorated every room . We think you would approve.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian...
Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Old cottage in beautiful Dartmoor”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

+ Washmachine
+ Diswasher
+ The bed was good quality.
+ The two bathroom were helpful.

- We had to pay extra for the electricity.
- DVD-controll was missing.
- several lamps were defect.
- some redecoration would be helpful

Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2016
We have completed the redecoration throughout. We think you would love it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim B
Hove
Level 6 Contributor
763 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Shabby but not chic…”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This property was booked using a Groupon coupon, so was not expensive, but I have to say that this property needs a lot of TLC to bring it up to what people expect theses day. It reminded me of poor standard accommodation from the early 70s when cottages were a new concept. The property is small has no garden and difficult parking. It is located well off the beaten track and close to an excellent pub the Bridford Arms. It has no Wi-Fi and no phone signal if you are a 3 phone user. Saying all this, it could be a good property if well decorated and loved. The property as I said needs to be totally redecorated and given a lot of TLC. Decoration is not good, touched up paint in the wrong shade, plus several holes in the lounge and bathroom floors, do not add a feeling of a home away from home. The property is not user friendly, it has a key meter and things like the DVD player, bedside light and other items do not work. The property has been set up in a way that shows it has not been lived in. Where do you hang towels to dry, (beside the toilet!) is there space to walk around the double bed, how to get hot water etc. Poor hanging space, a real eclectic mix of furniture. The instructions for the property are poor.
The neighbours are friendly as are the locals, but the property is a really poor product and there are much better places to stay if you want a good holiday let in Devon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Pub and neighbours
Liked least: State of property
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2016
As you know, the cottage is 200 years old and they built them small in those days. We do explain this in the description, and this is the charm of the place. The couple who stayed immediately after you absolutely loved this aspect of it, and have already rebooked - precisely becasue it is so cozy. In fact, no-one has ever commented that it is too small (in over thirteen years more than one hundred bookings).

I think we mentioned you had stayed there just before we refurbed it. There are new carpets throughout the entire cottage (April 2016) and have we have redecorated every room . We think you would approve.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Exeter hotels

Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$236
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing