We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 068)
Filter reviews
1 068 results
Traveller rating
381
464
138
46
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
464
138
46
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free parking the pub cromwell suite secret garden newer part cider bar city centre car park single room new wing christmas market cooked breakfast four poster bed few minutes walk breakfast staff full english tea coffee
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1 068 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here 5 nights in September. We loved the location, so close to the beautiful cathedral and town. Our room and bathroom were clean and larger than we expected so we were very comfortable. Breakfast was great and we had dinner most nights in the delightful pub downstairs and found all the staff so friendly and helpful. Special thanks to the lovely ladies on reception who made us feel very welcome and went out of their way to look after our needs. Having a carpark was also a bonus. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank goldtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehartexeter, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest

We really appreciate that great comment you have left regarding your stay with us here a the white hart hotel, we are glad that you enjoyed the pub and the ambience of the hotel. The ladies of reception and the whole team welcome you to stay again, once again thank you for your response.

Kind regards

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice room,all very clean, bed was very comfortable, bathroom nice and shower worked well. (Could have done with a handle on wall in shower for older guests) and staff were all lovely and very helpful. Great to have safe parking as well. Breakfast was lovely. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehartexeter, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you for the feedback we have taken it under advisement, hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

The Mangaement Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

A test of how good a place you stay at is if you come back to it. I did. And I will again. What is there not to like about this hotel? Spectacularly clean rooms, (the housekeepers are to be commended for their attention to detail) a mix of the old coaching house with new rooms, very close to the centre of Exeter and within sight and sound of the Cathedral. Breakfasts to gorge upon, a welcome that is as historic as the City and I have to pay particular attention and a very special mention to the front of house staff. Emily and her colleagues cannot be faulted. their "we can do" attitude is a model for many major chains who can learn from her combination of dedication to duty and the charm she brings to the front desk. Long may it continue!!

Oh, and will I come back? Of course. My one regret is that I left it too late in this stay to eat in the restaurant. Scrum down, Chiefs.....

Room Tip: ask to see if there is a quiet room
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cosmopolitan539150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehartexeter, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you for your wonderful comment we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we very much welcome you back in the future. Hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

Overpriced at ~ £85 IMHO, especially as breakfast not included. Overlooked car park. Noisy road. Noisy neighbours next door. Small room. Clean bathroom with shower in bath. Central location. Period features, but better value can be had elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask not to overlook the car park
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank zakl186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehartexeter, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sir

Thank you for the feedback, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us we hope that you will give us a another chance in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

4 of us stayed at the White Hart for a night as we were going to watch Exeter Chiefs play Worcester Warriors.

The pub is lovely with a good range of beers, lagers and ciders and it all does a very good breakfast.

The rooms are comfy and the car park is very handy. The staff couldn’t do enough for us, and we all agreed that this was a place worth returning to.

A big mention must go to the guy who not only picked up my mate when he’d fallen on the floor as a result of sampling too much of the bar stock, but also showed him and my two other mates to their rooms. (I was so glad I’d gone to bed by then!)

The breakfast next morning was top notch and the service was exemplary.

All in all, a really nice place to stay.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank tourist57680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehartexeter, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Hello My Friend

Glad you had a great time,
thanks for the great feedback
really looking forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews