We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal romantic escape”
other travellers have booked this property
Sitting room with down river views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting room with down river views
Up river views and sitting room Tall ship departing viewed from the sitting room, July 2015
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Sitting room with down river views
Up river views and sitting room
Tall ship departing viewed from the sitting room, July 2015
View down the estuary and out to sea past the castle from the sitting room.
Seagulls at rest from the sitting room.
Kingswear from Spyglass sitting room
View from the roof terrace
Our new front door!
All new shower room
The moon over the estuary and dim lights fro Dartmouth castle from the sitting room
The new kitchen with small door onto the roof terrace
Dining table and Kitchen with the terrace behind
Flat screen TV and nautical items
View from sitting room - lovely!
View down over the lower ferry
The 'new' double bedroom
More of the double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom 2.
Games, jigsaws, nauticalia, sailing books.
Nice cosy wood burner installed upstairs.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dartmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andy B
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ideal romantic escape”
Reviewed 22 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This place is a secret gem. The owner has gone to great lengths to make this river view retreat a fantastic place to relax. The log burner was simply perfect and not only kept us cosy all through the weekend but also burned beautifully with very little effort. You won't want to watch TV; we sat watching the river and the boats all evening, and couldn't believe how calming this spot is. Bed was super comfy and we slept really well. Once you're in the property it's totally private but the excellent cafes, shops, pubs and coastal footpaths are all only moments away. We are definitely coming back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2017
Thanks for the great review - you are welcome anytime - except when I'm enjoying it myself !! Cheers Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic property where we have stayed several times.”
Reviewed 29 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at Spyglass 5 or 6 times, although this was our first visit since the refurbishment. The view of the the river is now better than ever (with the new enlarged windows) and there is always something going on to watch. The stove makes it very warm and cosy even in winter.
Dartmouth and nearby is full of walks and things to do and Spyglass is very central to everything - yet being up the steps off the main road means it's also very quiet and you wouldn't know you were in the middle of a town.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2016
Thanks for the great review. I'm so pleased you like the changes we have made. Cheers Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan H
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Spyglass a great place to stay”
Reviewed 22 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely little cottage, wonderful views. Really liked the layout and everything worked very well. There is lots to do in Dartmouth all round the year. The walk to the castle was great and we ate out most days. We watched a film at The Flavel Arts Centre and visited Totnes and Brixham. A great winter break.
Our big drawback was the access to the cottage. Its not for the feint hearted or those who find steps a challenge. I must emphasize that these are 32 steep and uneven steps which may be more user friendly in summer time than damp December.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2016
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you had difficulty with a feature we can do nothing about - the steps up to the property. Twice in the description I brought up the steps and have highlighted them even more. We are very pleased you liked Spyglass and it's views. We do hope your comments are taken in proportion and do not put too many people off - my own 91 year old disabled mother is a regular visitor! cheers Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAIN H
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage with panoramic river views”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a delightful old cottage which has been carefully renovated with a spacious, light, living room/ kitchen upstairs and windows overlooking the river Dart estuary. Fascinating to watch all the river activity. Downstairs are the shower room and two bedrooms. Nicely furnished with a mixture of old and new pictures and ornaments make it homely.

Short walk to Dartmouth town centre and quayside. Plenty of places to eat and drink. River, steam-engine rail and bus trips combined or separate. Good walking country and lots of steep hills.

Both the cottage and Dartmouth are brilliant!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views.
Liked least: Having only one week.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are always delighted when our guests love Spyglass and Dartmouth as much as we do. Cheers Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessa s
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views and location”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and i stayed hear for a week and it wasn't long enough perfect location a few mins from town. The views from the sitting area was amazing . It was quite apart from the baby seagulls that was so cute. the bed was comfy and i slept really well it must be the sea air. It was lovely place to stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views And Locaction
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2016
Glad you had a good time. Love them or hate them, gulls are a part of Britain's fab coastal life. One fell/flew down into a back garden. I went and picked it up to get it back to mother. It screamed and squawked and suddenly it was like a scene from 'The Birds"..........they all came!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing