We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY”
other travellers have booked this property
Lounge and kitchen, new carpet March 17
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge and kitchen, new carpet March 17
3 seater sofa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Lounge and kitchen, new carpet March 17
3 seater sofa
Twin second bedroom with wardrobe
Dining table and lounge area
Double bedroom with wardrobe
Twin second bedroom
Dinner for four
TV, DVD, Freeview, storage,
Windows now have venetian blinds also.
New bathroom, with electric shower in a quadrent enclosure. Great power fron the shower too.
view from rear of chalet
The road to Blackpool Sands Beach, 10 mins drive. Blue Flag status
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dartmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sugarswir...
1 review
“Basic accommodation let down by smell”
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Nice enough chalet but spoilt by overwhelming smell of cat urine!! Hot water wouldn't work so had to boil kettle to wash dishes. Shower had three temperatures, freezing, very hot and scalding! Wardrobe wouldn't open properly in twin room due to lack of space.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review. We are at a loss at to the issues. I had the carpets cleaned, all the walls washed, new window sills put in all before you arrived. If the water didn't work it could only if been a trip switch in the fuse box. As for the shower we have never had an issue but we will get it checked.
Regards
Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chumpage
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I really wanted to love it but....”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I really did want to love this place, the pictures looked great, it is a good location, on a very quiet site and is one of a very few places to offer short breaks in high season. Yes the bedrooms are quite small, as some reviewers have mentioned, but it is a chalet so that was to be expected and did not present a problem, it was nice and cosy. There are some nice touches and the kids loved being able to use the buckets and spades on the beach.
There was a bit of a musty smell when we arrived but again that was to be expected as it as a very warm weekend, a few open windows and that was cleared through.

However, unfortunately the chalet is really not very clean. The worst things were black moldy walls behind the beds, a rusty basket in the shower, peeling window sills and dirty windows. I appreciate that there are little visitors as it is in a field but there was a large number of dead woodlice in the bedroom, around some conduit, that must have been there for some time.
The plastic boards on the front of the chalet were green and did not give a good impression at all, they were the only ones on the site in this condition. I spent 10 minutes cleaning them when we arrived as it made me feel better about the holiday and stopped me feeling disheartened every time we pulled up. It really was only 10 minutes so there is no excuse for them to not be kept clean by the cleaner.

I am sorry to be leaving such a poor review, this place could be really great if it had a deep clean and a good cleaner to keep it up to a good standard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2016
Hello
Thank you for your comments. Due to there being no gap between guests we were unable to get in and give it a deep clean. However yesterday and today it has had all the carpets cleaned again, the walls washed and I am trying to get the sills replaced by tomorrow. Regards
Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bedrooms aaaaaaaargh!”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Bit of a mixed bag this place. Great location as a base for seeing South Devon. Chalet nice upon entry. Lounge and kitchen and bathroom all to very nice standard. The bedrooms are really small and need reorganised. Not much space in there and the windows/sills are bad.
The venetian blinds look like they haven't been cleaned in about 5years! But we did enjoy our stay despite this as the chalet is very easy to heat and is quite cosy with everything you need at hand. Really good price too for weeks stay but this should not be no excuse for the negatives.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
Thanks for the feedback. All relevant points will be addressed. Regards Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brenda l
bracknell
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“pleasant enough”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

overall the chalet is not bad, nice lounge & kitchen, the bedrooms are disappointing, very small, and wardrobes where you can't even hang a dress as they are not full length drop.
and there was mould on the walls. There was also an ironing board and hoover to try to get around as they were in the bedroom as well, storage is a big issue for the owners. Whilst this chalet is fine for their personal use, do not really feel that it is quite good enough for renting out to other people, with a bit of tweeking it would be a really good place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: good location
Liked least: cramped bedrooms
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2016
Thanks for taking the time to do a review. All points are welcomed.
Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eric j m
Burntwood
2 reviews
“EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY”
Reviewed 28 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Excellent base for exploring the area nice quite location. Chalet a little tired, but still very comfortable. Plenty utensils in the chalet. would certainly use this accommodation again, excellent pub as you go right out of the park The Sportsman 4 minutes in car. Dartmouth Arms and The Dolphin also good pubs with good food.

Excellent value for money for the price we paid, would certainly recommend to family and friends

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Price and location
Liked least: A musty smell in bedroom with single beds in. but we slept in dble bedroom so no problem for us as only two off us
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2016
Thank you for your comments. Regards
Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing