We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Property”

Review of Jubilee Cottage

Jubilee Cottage, right, and Bower House, left, are out of sight from each other but share the view.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Jubilee Cottage, right, and Bower House, left, are out of sight from each other but share the view.
Jubilee Cottage has a large private terrace, access to the exercise field, and a wonderful view.s. Kitchen end of the living room. Well equipped kitchen with large fridge, freezer and dishwasher.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Jubilee Cottage, right, and Bower House, left, are out of sight from each other but share the view.
Jubilee Cottage has a large private terrace, access to the exercise field, and a wonderful view.s.
Kitchen end of the living room. Well equipped kitchen with large fridge, freezer and dishwasher.
Living room with full wall window. Stunning view of the Pennines from the two sofas. Stove and WiFi.
View of Cross Fell from the cottage. Highest in the Pennine range, and different every day.
Bedroom with king size bed. Full wall window. Bed can be made into two singles.
The Jacuzzi is normally available to guests for a small charge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mrs-Megan...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 1 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Turned up at the cottage. Nobody there. Tried to call owners mobile and landline, no answer. Text message sent, owner replied that they were in Peru. Finally gained access. Rooms were full of mold and damp. Strong smell of mildew. Kitchen poorly equipped, for example only one breakfast bowl. Text to complain, only to be told that nobody else had complained about the mold. As you can see from the photos someone had noticed as they had tried to clean it away. Ended up staying in a holiday cottage nearby. After several messages back and forth, owner finally agreed to pay back some of the money. So, I thought no need for a horrible Trip Advisor Review. Then I got a nasty E-mail and thought I would try and spare anyone else from the same experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2016
This lady is an exception. I agreed without hesitation to refund her all her money while I was abroad on holiday and did it immediately on my return including a court fee as she had already started proceedings in court. The rooms are not full of mould and damp, see many other reviews, and we take very seriously any complaints. The kitchen is fully equipped, the bed and sofas are very comfortable. Come and see!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrHAmbles...
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Property”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in May 2015

We found Jubilee Cottage when searching for a Holiday Cottage in Morland and it looked perfect for what we were after.

I dealt with Freddie over email and he was brilliant in explaining everything and was there to welcome us when we arrived which was nice.

The cottage had everything you could hope for, we loved the log fire which heated the whole house.

I would recommend this cottage to anyone who is looking for an escape to the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn B
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Utter peace and quiet..........bliss!”
Reviewed 2 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at the Greengill holiday site on 3 occasions now which is surely a good recommendation . Our previous 2 stays have been at the delightful Bower House, next door to Jubilee Cottage which is where we stayed on this occasion.
The cottage is perfect for 2 people and is fully equipped to a very good standard. It has uninterrupted scenic views and is on the edge of the picturesque village of Morland and within easy driving distance to the Lakes. The owner lives on site but you would never know as guests are made to feel completely at ease in the knowledge that help/advice is close by if needed.
The cottage is highly recommended and I am sure we will be returning for a 4th stay in the future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High quality accommodation and peaceful location
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLG P
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 7 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This is our 6th time at Jubilee Cottage so that should count for something - 2 birthdays, 1 Honeymoon and 3 Wedding Anniversaries. We have always been made very welcome by the owners. The cottage is well equipped and very comfortable. We have stayed here in the middle of winter and been warm and toasty. The heating is very efficient but you also get the added bonus of a log burner with an endless supply of logs.the cottage sits in a quiet valley with stunning views of the Pennines from the patio or through the picture windows.This is a real home from home so it has jobs that need doing that you never quite get around to - but that's why it feels like home.The bed has down pillows!!!! We left this afternoon, just like every afternoon we leave, planning our next trip back to Jubilee Cottage.
Is it a 5 Star hotel?......no!!!!!! Its it a home away from home....YES it is!!!!! We cannot praise Jubilee Cottage enough for being what it is; honest , real, homely & actually don't go there so that we can book it more!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacroix12...
Stratford on Avon
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A fabulous little base”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a great time at the sweet little Jubilee Cottage in Morland.
Great base to visit friends and family in the area - close enough to
the lakes, yet perfectly situated in a beautiful forgotten area of Cumbria,
the beautiful Eden valley. Everything said what it did on the ticket - great
open plan living area with super wood-burner (which we lit a couple of times
on one or two cooler evenings, yes, even in July!). Comfy bed (if you like fairly
firm) and good powerful shower above decent sized bath. Great enclosed balcony/
patio area leading out onto handy little meadow area for letting the dogs have a
quick walk-about. Can highly recommend. We shall return. Many thanks to Freddy
for being such a great host and yet unobtrusive.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing