We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of One Fern Cottages

One Fern Cottages - stunning 16th Century stone cottage, with oak beams. Sleeps 5. Private parking.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One Fern Cottages - stunning 16th Century stone cottage, with oak beams. Sleeps 5. Private parking.
Lounge, with Range The stunning Victorian Range
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
One Fern Cottages - stunning 16th Century stone cottage, with oak beams. Sleeps 5. Private parking.
Lounge, with Range
The stunning Victorian Range
Kitchen
Cottage Kitchen
Kitchen- Oven & Hob
Beamed & Vaulted Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom- dressing area with views
Second bedroom
Dining Room- wooden floors and beams
Dining Room, with Stable door
The spacious dinning room
Bathroom
Bathroom- monsoon shower and bath
Downstairs toilet
Patio seated area
Second patio seated area
Parking space
Nearby Cartmel....a great place for a day trip
A Tarn near Coniston
A Lakeland Beck at Grasmere
Cartmel Racecourse- less than 3 miles away
The waterfall/beck running through Lindale
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JCurzi
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 16 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Thanks for a wonderful stay. What a great little cottage, perfect for cold nights in front of the fire. With an excellent kitchen, cooking was a pleasure so we didn't get to try the local pubs. The whole cottage was very comfortable and the bath was a real treat. We had a small issue with the fire during our stay, however the owners could not have been more helpful resolving it very swiftly, Many thanks for that and the thursday night was the best! On note of the fire I would highly recommend using the local timber merchant for the wood (number's in the welcome pack, but you have to keep ringing as the owners are the workers, so they don't often answer their phone!), we bought a small sack for £2.50 and it was the best fire we had all week, the logs from the garage are over priced (no surprise) but mainly they dont burn properly! All in all I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a peaceful retreat. The location's is good too with local amenities not too far away (5 mins by car), and the lakes are a short drive. The village itself is very quiet and relaxing, oh and very dark at night!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Victorian fire place
Liked least: No hand soap, or washing up liquid provided!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2013
Thanks for the feedback and the tips about the wood...very helpful for other guests. We were glad we were able to sort the issue with the fire and thanks for bringing this to our attention. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FishandCh...
Brighton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great cottage”
Reviewed 2 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This is a great cottage in the south of the lake district. We found it easy to get around from here and the cottage was clean, comfortable and really rather lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 August 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Aug 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your holiday at the Cottage. Thank you for your feedback as we appreciate the time and effort that goes into uploading any comments. The beds are actually very new so we will certainly look into your comments further to make sure that every guest gets a good nights sleep.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
davierigg
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Cottage in a Great Place”
Reviewed 28 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011

We rented this cottage for a week to see family and friends who live in the area, we found it to be a charming, well equipped and spotlessly clean cottage, which exceeded our expectations and demands. The situation of the cottage, in Lindale, is very good, quiet at night but in easy reach of the lakes and lancashire, the price was perfect, the equipment was top notch and the free wifi and added bonus

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the kitchen was great and the shower in the bathroom
Liked least: parking space, plenty of room for one car but not for two
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2011
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judita
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 7 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011

My husband, myself & 2 friends rented this cottage for 3 nights. It is beautiful. Exactly as the photos show. When we arrived it was spotless. The kitchen is out of this world, newly fitted & everything you could want, even dishwasher tablets & washing up liquid, cling film & foil. These are things you usually need but always forget. All there waiting for you as well as a welcome pack of tea, coffee, milk, sugar & biscuits.
The 2 bedrooms were spacious & the bathroom was excellent.
Lots of quirky corners & lovely beams. Books, DVD's and games are available for your use.
There is a downstairs toilet & a utility room.
It is everything that you could want for a short (or even longer) break. The owner Vicky was very helpful & sent exact directions & lots of tips about the cottage.
Easy access to all the lake district has to offer.
This cottage is absolutely gorgeous set in a very quiet village and I would recommend it to anybody looking for accommodation in the lakes.
I look forward to going again in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen.
Liked least: Nothing I didn't like.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2011
Thank you for your lovely comments and we are thrilled you had a wonderful time. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing