We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice Spot in the Heart of Tintagel”

Review of Guinevere

Guinevere from the outside.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Guinevere from the outside.
Guinevere's lounge and mezzanine bedroom. Guinevere's lounge and mezzanine bedroom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Guinevere from the outside.
Guinevere's lounge and mezzanine bedroom.
Guinevere's lounge and mezzanine bedroom.
Guinevere's bedroom.
Guinevere's dining area.
Guinevere's lounge.
Stairs to the mezzanine bedroom.
A Devon cream tea awaits your arrival.
Guinevere's mezzanine bedroom.
Guinevere's garden.
Guinevere's ensuite bathroom.
Bossiney Haven, 1km from Guinevere.
The Old Post Office down the road from Guinevere.
Tintagel Castle.
Port Isaac.
Lundy Bay, 20 minutes south of Guinevere.
St. Nectan's Glen
St Michael's Mount.
Dolphin off St. Ives.
Whipsiddery Beach near Newquay.
Boat trip at Padstow.
Guinevere from the outside.
Guinevere's kitchen.
Guinevere's mezzanine bedroom.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Tintagel, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
NandSWine...
Napa, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Spot in the Heart of Tintagel”
Reviewed 2 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Great Place and Value. Just one draw back. If you are over 5' tall, you must bend over to use the shower or sit on the edge of the wall-less shower tub.

Great place though. Even though I did not realize there was a secondary switch for making the stove work. Use to just turning the knobs.

Arthur Champie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Walking distance to everything in town.
Liked least: Short Roof in Shower.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hedgerow8...
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A cosy, spotless and attractive base for exploring North Cornwall”
Reviewed 13 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Guinevere is tucked away in central Tintagel with the castle, coast, fudge pantry, pubs and Old Post Office all within walking distance.

The guestbook is full of compliments but Tripadvisor is empty, so here goes - Guinevere is a lovely place to stay with a spotless and classy interior, with some great photographs decorating the walls. The local guidebooks are useful and the DVD collection is handy if it rains (which it did). Check out the Mill House and Port William pubs nearby. St Nectan's glen and Bocastle also worth a look. If you like massive, full car parks, visit Padstow.

Although we visited in November when it was quiet, in summer the gated parking would be very handy. Re: the gate that was mentioned in the other review... It was no problem at all to use, though on arrival you can only open one half of the gate - i.e. your car will not fit through. Once you have retrieved the key from inside Guinevere on foot, you can go back to the gate and open the other half so you can drive in. The instructions aren't as clear as they could be on that point, so I wasn't sure what I was doing when I first arrived. Along with an absence of Wi-Fi, that is the only improvement I can think of.

Overall a great option which felt very cosy and homely. Thanks Nik

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, interior
Liked least: No Wi-Fi (but realise people go to escape the web)...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portishead, UK
Reviewed 21 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely feeling of the cottage
Liked least: being shouted at by local residents
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 May 2012
We are glad that you had a lovely stay and thank you for your kind comments.

(a) We take great care to ensure our description of Guinevere accurately describes the bathroom facilities but we are sorry if you were disappointed not to find a shower.

(b) We supply extensive arrival information, complete with maps and photographs of important road junctions plus other relevant details, that include specific instructions on the operation of the security gates, making it clear that the proper way to open both sides of the gate is with the remote control. Nevertheless, we are sorry that you had problems with other residents.

We hope you will stay at Guinevere again one day and appreciate your recommendation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Roberto R
Padua, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing