We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish and chip takeaway”
Review of The Watch House

The Watch House
Ranked #3 of 18 Restaurants in St Mawes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$19
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Went to the 'Watch Out' takeaway. Quite simply great fish and chips. Battered sausages not so great being a bit grisley.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bustercat_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2018

This is a much recommended restuarant in St Mawes. We were told the only tables were at 6.30 so duly came but it was clear this was the standard response -walk ins continued and it was not full by any means! Prompts me to ask why then not let customers book when they prefer! We were shown upstairs to a long low ceiling room -as per photo on site. It was hot and we duly opened the windows to cool the room down -other customers seemed to appreciate that though had done nothing ( nor had staff!). The service was moderate and the food likewise. A bavette steak plus chips and salad and a seafood spaghetti were ordered/eaten and both were ok but no better that that. It certainly didn't live up to the reviews.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

Well, freshly cooked, typical chip food menu and all the better for it, quality fish. Job done. Highly reccomend.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank 42PaulJ42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

Okay, there aren't a huge number of restaurants in St Mawes so it was pretty inevitable that at some stage we would eat here during our week's holidays. I can now say that even if we had been spoilt for choice we would have been delighted with The Watch House and returned for a second helping. The nicest of staff, very interesting owner who we got to chat with who is ex-chef, daily specials and an excellent regular menu and unusual delicious wine list. We were surprised to see Picpoul de Pinet listed which matched the not so little fishy dishes very well. Over the two visits we had a sumptuous Seafood Spaghetti which was groaning with hake, mussels, crab. Think seafood nestling on a bed on spaghettini with a tomato sauce. I eat a lot of Seafood Spaghetti and this was the best ever. Also had the monkfish done Malaysian style and hake on bed of mediterranean veg. Husband is still marvelling at how you can deep fry a poached egg (to go with smoked haddock) and keep it light and runny. Smoked Haddock itself was pretty damn fine. Not too salty, slippery and fresh. Very generous portions. Delightful unfussy room (eat upstairs and downstairs). Prices seemed very reasonable but we are used to London restaurant prices. You should book to avoid disapointment.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Wow! What a find whilst on a day trip St Mawes. We had a fabulous lunch of calamari and fish of the day - hake and samphire with caper butter. Both were absolutely delicious. Cool vibe to the restaurant and friendly service. Nice wine list too. Would definitely recommend!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Holzfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Watch House also viewed

St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
Truro, Truro District
Falmouth, Cornwall
 

Been to The Watch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing