We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely pet-friendly cottage in an almost perfect...”
other travellers have booked this property
view of St.Ives as you approach the town, the cottage is in the middle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view of St.Ives as you approach the town, the cottage is in the middle
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
view of St.Ives as you approach the town, the cottage is in the middle
Double bed with memory foam mattress, washbasin and sunny aspect
Twin bedroom with its own large washbasin
Modern bathroom with bath and shower over
Located on a quiet street close to the harbour and beaches
Stroll around the corner and enjoy St.Ives harbour at low tide
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JohnG_10
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely pet-friendly cottage in an almost perfect location”
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Arriving in Downalong you can see that it is where the art movement flourished. Wherever you go there are fabulous galleries where you can buy paintings or watch the artists at work. Trewartha is situated right in this lovely part of St Ives close to beaches, the Tate and an abundance of restaurants and cafés. We managed to (accidentally) book in the school Easter holidays and the town was slightly busier and the beaches were full during the unseasonally pleasant weather. This did mean that the pubs were offering live music most nights and other entertainment including something called a meat raffle although the poster stated that it was the last of the year.
The cottage is warm, cosy and very homely. It is bright, clean and comfortable without being precious. It also benefits from having a bath rather than the increasingly common shower rooms. We were able to relax as soon as the car was deposited in the Island car park a five minute walk away. Everything you could need is there and the kitchen is well-equipped. Last time we stayed I happened to mention to Sarah, the owner, that scissors may be useful. Now there are scissors for every occasion.
The communication with Sarah during the booking process and leading up to the visit is excellent and very clear. This includes directions and details of wi-fi etc and a folder of useful local information.
St Ives fully justifies it's high ranking in the list of most beautiful views in Britain and Trewartha is a great base to explore and enjoy the town and Cornwall. Having fallen for the charms of the cottage we will certainly be returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarAway67...
1 review
“Living the dream”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The cottage was lovely and clean, had all that was needed for a relaxing week away for myself, husband and hazel the border terrier. It was kept lovely and warm by wall mounted motion activated heaters. There was always plenty of hot water. The double bed was very comfortable and we had some good nights sleep...heaven!
The location was just perfect, just a 2 minute walk to portgwidden beach, and an extra 2 minutes to the portminster beach. A 5 minute walk took you to the centre of St Ives.
Highly recommend 'The Mermaid' restaurant on fish street, food is excellent.
The best pasty we had was from pengenna bakery.
Booking was quick and easy, the owner was very prompt in answering any queries.
We will most definitely be returning Trewartha cottage in the not too distant future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2017
Thank you very much for your review, I am so pleased you had a good time. I agree with your comments on the Mermaid Restaurant and Pengenna pasties - both fabulous! I look forward to welcoming you back to Trewartha Cottage another time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wildthing...
Wolverhampton
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great cottage”
Reviewed 13 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed post Christmas and over New Year and the location is great just tucked away in a quiet location but two minute walk to the harbour, Fore Street or the beaches. The cottage is modern and fully equipped ( except hairdryer so don't forget to pack one) so we had a great stay. Only thing we had to get used to was the downstairs bathroom but this was not a problem. Very comfy beds and fresh bed linen.
We didn't experience any seagull noise but anyway it's what you would expect by the coast.
Great cottage at a great price for 2-4 people

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Downstairs bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paschal G
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small, but ideal for 4”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

An excellent location situated in the heart of St. Ives. The fishermans cottage was a bit small, but that is to be expected. We never met the landlady but were instead Emailed instructions on how to use all the facilities . Three cottage also has WiFI which was very handy for jut checking on the outside world. The bedrooms are of a good size- 3 kids could manage in the other bedroom but it would be a squeeze and i would advise checking with the owner first. For 2 couples it would be perfect though.
I am nowt giving it 5 stars, but that it through no fault of the owner, there are only two criticisms:
The first is parking- put simply you can't. although we were given clear instructions to the nearest car park, in St.Ives in high season this is pot luck in terms of finding a place. The carparks are quite expensive, but the space at St.Ives is a premium. Out solution was to unpack the car and park it at the far end of tow, which suited us as we had no need of the car during the week.
The other criticism i have is the seagulls! They never shut up. I'm pretty sure these old cottages are not allowed double glazing, but be prepared for the noise in the morning!
Apart form these minor haggles we had a fantastic stay and i will book this place again if i am going back to St.Ives.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Helens, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: parking
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing