We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another great stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Mermaid House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mermaid House
Relax and enjoy al fresco dining! Spacious - home from home!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Mermaid House
Relax and enjoy al fresco dining!
Spacious - home from home!
Kitchen showing French windows.
Kitchen which looks out onto garden
Work rest and play area!
Family Dining!
Whether or not the sun shines, you can take in the view from inside!
Lounge
Save money and dine in comfort at home
Upstairs En-suite bedroom
Get away from the children in your en-suite bedroom!
En-suite bathroom with shower
Peace and quiet in this room
Double bedroom
Comfortable 'home' for the younger ones
Twin room
Plenty of room for the whole family in this bathroom!
Parking a'plenty!
St Ives - Feb Half Term 2013 - And the sun shone!  Beach every day!
Local views to die for (don't jump!)
Famous 'Harbour, or Town' Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TakosAten...
England
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
Reviewed 26 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Our second visit as a family and what a great time we had.
Mermaid is just brilliant - spacious and well equipped, and beautifully warm for a winter break. It really has everything you could possibly need. Loads of toys and books for our grandson, and plenty of books, puzzles etc. for the grown-ups.
Denise and Mick really couldn't do enough for us. Along with the generous welcome pack I even got a birthday card, even though it wasn't my special one this time. That's going the extra mile!
St Ives is beautiful at any time but we especially enjoy it out of season. We were lucky with the weather but it's certainly no hardship at all to be indoors at Mermaid. We'll be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2018
Thank you so much for returning and enjoying Mermaid again. It's wonderful to have such special returners. Thank you also for leaving Mermaid spotless. It means so much. Take care and enjoy your further adventures! Kind regards Denise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. Really glad everything was good for you. Very helpful to let people know about the buses etc. Thank you for looking after Mermaid - I know I am repeating myself, but we are so grateful when people appreciate the house and keep it nice, as you have done. Perfect guests! Take care and kind regards Denise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChrissieB...
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home From Home”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Mermaid House was beyond expectation, lovely holiday home with everything you need, all 3 generations of our family enjoyed our stay especially Denise when you also arranged for the sun to shine.
My grandson was fascinated by the children's book shelves and their contents.
Thank you Denise for all the information you gave us and making everything just right for our stay we would all love to make it our holiday choice again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for choosing Mermaid and for looking after her during your stay. You were brilliant - and it was nice to speak to you. It is such a relief when guests stay who appreciate Mermaid and treat her with care and respect, which you all did. It's also great when there are 3 generations staying - Mermaid is a family home and I am glad you enjoyed it as we do with our grandchildren! Take care and enjoy the rest of the summer. Kind regards Denise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Jun 2017
We are delighted Mermaid was all you hoped it would be. We appreciate you looking after her so well!! Means a lot. Also pleased that as the opportunity was there, you were able to make the most of your holiday by extending it! Knowing Mermaid brings pleasure makes the hard work worthwhile! Thank you. Take care
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
maz57
Lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect week”
Reviewed 16 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Mermaid House was the perfect base for our walking holiday in Cornwall. The apartment has all you could ever need for a first class stay. Very well decorated and equipped throughout and spotlessly clean. The beds were the most comfortable beds we have ever slept on......I did think of trying to get mine in the back of the car .. Seriously , if you want a quality rental in St Ives which has its own private parking and is situated away from the hustle and bustle of the town, then this is the one for you. Thank you to Denise for her generosity and assistance throughout.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2017
Ah, thanks to you, and your party for appreciating Mermaid and for looking after her so well on your watch. You left her spotless! Love what you said about the beds! It really means so much to us having guests of your calibre. Kind regards Denise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing