We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another great holiday at the Mermaid, St Ives”
other travellers have booked this property
Mermaid House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mermaid House
Relax and enjoy al fresco dining! Spacious - home from home!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Mermaid House
Relax and enjoy al fresco dining!
Spacious - home from home!
Kitchen showing French windows.
Kitchen which looks out onto garden
Work rest and play area!
Family Dining!
Whether or not the sun shines, you can take in the view from inside!
Lounge
Save money and dine in comfort at home
Upstairs En-suite bedroom
Get away from the children in your en-suite bedroom!
En-suite bathroom with shower
Peace and quiet in this room
Double bedroom
Comfortable 'home' for the younger ones
Twin room
Plenty of room for the whole family in this bathroom!
Parking a'plenty!
St Ives - Feb Half Term 2013 - And the sun shone!  Beach every day!
Local views to die for (don't jump!)
Famous 'Harbour, or Town' Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chasethes...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another great holiday at the Mermaid, St Ives”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Have just returned from another amazing holiday in St Ives with my family. The Mermaid House is a great base to travel from as well as being a bolt hole in gorgeous St Ives if you just want to go to the beach or visit the many galleries and shops.

St Ives feels sunny even if the rain sometimes makes an unwelcome appearance. This time, amongst our usual day-trip places we visited Falmouth which was a great little town.

The Mermaid is a really fantastic,well finished, house with all the facilities you need. We have been coming to st ives every year for 21 years. This is our second stay at the Mermaid and we have been really happy there. It's nice and spacious so we've been able to have friends and family stay with us.

If you enjoy walking you can take the scenic route to the beach by joining the coastal path in 15 mins. Breathtaking views to rival even the Amalfi Coast, where we holidayed earlier this year.

Otherwise it is a 20 minute walk to the beach. Frequent buses run up and down the hill, which is quite steep, for less mobile people. They go to the rugby club for £1 and then you can walk from there in 10 mins or taxis are around £4.30 which you might want to choose after an evening out on the harbour.

We'll be back

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2015
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review and thank you. It was a pleasure to have you stay again and hope you will return in the future. Warm regards Denise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the property plenty of room to spread out
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Mermaid. You were wonderful guests and as we too are celebrating our Ruby Wedding Anniversary this year, we are thrilled you chose to spend it at Mermaid with your family. Kind regards to you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in December 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Parking
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We, too, have enjoyed many wonderful New Year Eve's in St Ives. It's pretty unique! We look forward to welcoming you back if you decide to return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pickering, Canada
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall sense of comfort
Liked least: Challenging walk from town for older or mobility impaired.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Jul 2014
Wonderful to welcome Canadian guests! Bless you for your wonderful review. We appreciate you mentioning about the configuration of the bedrooms as it is two defined sections in the one property - and hard to explain. Our manager was thrilled with the spotless condition you left Mermaid in and we thank you for looking after her! We can't wait for you to return if your plans allow! Kind regards Denise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ZoeT563
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Absolutely wonderful house and owners!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This was our second stay at the mermaid house and it certainly won't be our last. I have been coming to st Ives for many years and this house is ideal and has plenty of parking which is hard to come by when renting a property while on holiday here. It is a short walk into the town but it's good exercise after all those pasties and ice creams. It is spacious, clean and homely. Denise and family really have thought of everything from a welcome pack for when you arrive down to childrens activity packs. Wonderful!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2014
Thank you so much for your review. Our "returning guests" are so special to us and it means a lot that you have enjoyed Mermaid again - enough to return! Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing