We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 visits”
Review of Hub

Hub
Ranked #47 of 156 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Hub St Ives is situated in the heart of the town, we are a well established feature on the harbour front and an essential stop off for great coffee, fabulous cakes and amazing food. In the evening we are the ideal place for fantastic burgers or just to sip cocktails or sample one of our local and international craft beers and watch the world go by. We have a modern menu of really delicious burgers made in house from aged Cornish rare breed beef supplied by the fabulous Phillip Warrens of Launceston. Lobster Rolls when in season and daily seasonal specials. Our hot dogs are New York style but produced in the UK using 100% free range pork, oak smoked and seasoned with paprika, nutmeg & black pepper. Our burger and hot dog buns are produced by artisan 'Baker Tom' and delivered fresh everyday. As you can see our food is something we are fiercely proud of. Breakfast served between 9am and 11am Main menu served from 12noon Kitchen closes 9pm Bar open until late
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We love Hub, everytime we visit St Ives we always visit at least twice. So this year it was our first place to eat.

First visit
Food amazing as always however service was slow not too much of an issue but we asked for the child's meal to come with starters and it didn't. I had my usual mack daddy and it was spot on.

Second visit
Oh dear! The chips were awful chewy and tasted like they had been cooked at lunch time and reheated. We complained and they brought some more out. By the time they came we had all eaten our burgers. These tasted fresh but again were chewy. Nothing at all like the normal hub chips we've had in previous years. The waitress then told us the chips we had 2 days ago were new chips that they were trailing. The chips we had 2 days ago were the usual amazing hub chips but apparently we were told not. Another waitress who didn't know we had complained asked if our food was ok. We told her no and mentioned the chips and she knew nothing about the apparent new trail chips 2 days ago.

The customer service was shocking. They were obviously lying about the chips and didn't knock anything off the bill. We then complained again and they agreed to knock 10% off the bill.

The burgers are amazing but I wouldn't go again just because of the poor customer service and I wouldn't pay for them chips again.

If the burgers and milkshakes weren't so good I would have scored 2 stars.

1  Thank love18WestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetchells1984, Manager at Hub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback regarding your recent visit.

We are happy to hear that you are fond of our brand, as we all work hard to create the enjoyable dining experience we are well known for. We are sorry to hear that, on this occasion, your visit was not up to our usual high standard and would like to address the points you have made in your review.

As we are aware, you did mention to a member of our team, that you were unhappy with your fries. You were offered a fresh portion which would be made while you continued to enjoy your burgers. We can only apologise that by the time the fresh fries had arrived, you had finished the rest of your meal.

We can confirm, that we have recently had a trial of new fries in the business, so the information you were provided with was correct. We like to think of our team as honest, friendly folk, and I am sorry to hear that you felt misinformed on this occasion.
The discount that was applied to your bill covered the value of the fries you were unhappy with, and the second helpings were of course, complimentary. We are always happy, when things don't go quite right, to agree a reasonable outcome for our guests and hope that we can solve any problems before you leave the table. If this was not done for you on this occasion we can only offer our sincerest apologies. We strive, as a team, to provide the highest level of hospitality and customer service, and we take it very seriously when any of our diners are left feeling unsatisfied.

If any of the information we have covered is incorrect, or if you would like to discuss this in further detail, please feel free to contact us directly. We are always happy to help, and eager to please. We hope that this one experience has not put you off visiting us again in the future and we hope to see you again on your next visit to St Ives.

Kind regards,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 1 849 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is our first experience of the Hub.
We arrived at 10.30 in time for the breakfast menu and chose to eat upstairs overlooking the harbour.
We ordered crushed avocado on toast with poached eggs,a not to complicated dish...... or so we thought!
We were told it would be about a 20 min wait which was ok,however 45 min later and we are still waiting!!
The young girl who took our order was very apologetic through out but seemed helpless to resolve the issue.
When our meal finally arrived close to almost an hour after ordering the eggs where broken and the dish looked like it was thrown on.At this point we were so hungry we just finished the meal and went to pay.
I must add at this point my wife was still waiting for a drink we had ordered 25 mins earlier and had been golf on a couple of occasions by two different serving staff "oh it's on its way".
It did however make its way to the bill and when questioned the our server said " didn't you get it?"
I paid minus two drinks and left.

1  Thank Discovery2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sameer s, General Manager at Hub, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear DIscovery2011,

I am sorry to hear about your recent experience at Hub. I can assure you that you did not receive the quality of strive which we strive to provide. I'd be very grateful if you could get in touch with me at stives@hubbox.co.uk or 01736 799099 so that I can discuss your experience further and identify the day in question in order to rectify any issues.

Many Thanks,
Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Haven't been here for about 5 yrs. The place is still as good as ever. Staff very friendly & knowledgeable. Let you try various sips of the local before choosing your tipple. Food good. Nice atmosphere. Great views. Would visit again

Thank Jayne2126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Popped on for breakfast on a very sunny June morning,the location is amazing with a view that cannot be equalled...food was as expected..faultless..one of the best breakfasts I have ever had...was a bit of a wait but to be expected when ordering good food in a busy location..staff are friendly and cannot do enough for customers. 11/10 tbh honest..

Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came back twice for best hamburgers in st ives. Love it. Love the fact that they take dogs and that you don’t have to book a table.

Thank Jakmac28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hub also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to Hub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing