We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little bit of heaven”
other travellers have booked this property
Sunny Corner is located in the picturesque Polperro & just 8-10 mins walk from the harbour
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunny Corner is located in the picturesque Polperro & just 8-10 mins walk from the harbour
Sunny Corner is located with easy access and parking Comfortable lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Sunny Corner is located in the picturesque Polperro & just 8-10 mins walk from the harbour
Sunny Corner is located with easy access and parking
Comfortable lounge
Comfortable lounge
Dining area
Dining area
Well equipped kitchen
Well equipped kitchen
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Bathroom with bath with shower over
Bathroom with bath with shower over
Sunny Corner is located in the picturesque Polperro & just 8-10 mins walk from the harbour
Sunny Corner is located in the picturesque Polperro & just 8-10 mins walk from the harbour
Sunny Corner is located in the picturesque Polperro & just 8-10 mins walk from the harbour
Sunny Corner is located in the picturesque Polperro & just 8-10 mins walk from the harbour
Sunny Corner is located in the picturesque Polperro & just 8-10 mins walk from the harbour
Sunny Corner is located in the picturesque Polperro & just 8-10 mins walk from the harbour
Sunny Corner is located in the picturesque Polperro & just 8-10 mins walk from the harbour
Sunny Corner is located in the picturesque Polperro & just 8-10 mins walk from the harbour
Sunny Corner is located in the picturesque Polperro & just 8-10 mins walk from the harbour
Sunny Corner is located in the picturesque Polperro & just 8-10 mins walk from the harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Polperro, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
_kathryn...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven”
Reviewed 18 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

The pictures on the website don't do this beautiful cottage the justice it deserves. It comfortably sleeps four adults with little touches like monogrammed bed linen and towels giving an extra feel of luxury. It is remarkably well equipped with many modern day conveniences whilst still retaining the charm of its grade 2 listed status. The cottage presents an immaculately clean and crisp interior with all the extra little touches that help create that special holiday experience. It is tastefully decorated throughout in warm tones that give a cosy .ambiance that enhances the cottage even further.
Whilst I must concede we have enjoyed a week of constant sunshine it has been a relaxing and wonderful holiday to recharge our batteries without the hassle of airports and transfers etc that are part of holidaying abroad. It is the first time we have taken a break in this country in a long time but will most definitely be repeating the experience again very soon and hope to make a regular visit to Sunny Corner Cottage.
The location is super too, with bus stops close by should you not want to drive everywhere, a lovely family friendly pub across the road which serves local ales and delicious food. Adjacent to the cottage is a car park which has a shuttle bus that runs all day to drop you down the hill towards the harbour - that said its an enjoyable stroll to the harbour passing quaint little tea shops, homemade fudge shops etc that are well worth a visit. Should you not wish to cater for yourself whilst here you are walking distance from a varied selection of places to eat from cooked breakfast to cornish teas to delicious suppers.
Polperro supplies all you will need without having to venture further afield but the larger town of Looe is a short bus trip away with all you would expect from a larger town,
As with all really enjoyable holiday experiences the week passed all to quickly, and it was with heavy hearts we packed up to leave, but we are really excited about returning to 'Our little Sunny Corner Cottage slice of heaven' very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: it exceeded expectations
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillybean...
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage and a fabulous week”
Reviewed 27 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Booked last minute for Christmas, taking advantage of someone having to change their plans. Good news for us!
Lovely cottage, very welcoming, cosy and comfortable.
Lots of crockery, cutlery and plenty of cooking equipment.
And a piano! Wow! I haven't played for too many years.

So many lovely touches throughout the property like the embroidered linen and towels, such a nice touch.

What a lovely surprise to have presents under the Christmas Tree from the owner; very thoughtful. We had to hide Jewels' present as she kept showing us the box!

Parking close by is a real bonus too; although we did unload our luggage outside without any problems.

Lots of walks through the village and plenty of welcoming pubs for a warm up! If you get a chance to hear the Fishermans Choir they were very good!

We are already talking to the booking agency to rebook.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share with everyone your lovely Christmas holiday in Polperro . Sunny Corner Crumplehorn is a super cottage and the owners go to great lengths to ensure an excellent experience for all guests. Christmas is a wondeful time of year for everyone and we are very glad you chose to spend yours in Polperro which makes it even more magical. We hope we can welcome you back again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee N
Rossendale, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Cottage best we've stayed in by far .”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed here for one week 26th Sept to 3rd Oct , what an excellent cottage . We have stayed in quite a few cottages in Looe and Polperro and this by far was the best . The cottage was excellent throughout with everything WORKING . Beautifully decorated and tasteful furnishings , even down to the finishing touches on the bedding and towels and Piano . As for the previous review regarding bulbs and wet dogs this is Britain after all Cornwall does not escape the rain and light bulbs don't last forever . We bumped into Steve whilst on our stay and he asked if our stay and asked if we had any problems and if we did to contact him but we didn't have any . We will definately stay here again .
Lee, Nicola and dogs Millie and Tara

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the cottge throughout
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucydevon...
uk
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wet Dog Smell”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The cottage is in a great location with a view of the Crumplehorn pub from the garden and living area. It also has an allocated parking bay in the main Polperro car park which is a minutes’ walk from the cottage. The cottage itself was ok but because there is carpet in the dining and living area the first thing you notice when you walk in is a strong smell of wet dog which is disgusting. It would be much better to have a hard floor instead of carpet which would be easier to clean. There was a plug in air freshener in the hall but this was empty. We resulted in laying blankets on top of the carpet to hide the smell especially as we have a baby who is crawling. There were also several light bulbs which had gone and needed replacing. The overall cleanliness I didn’t find too great either – soap scum on the taps and bits of food debris and grease in the cupboards. We also had an issue with the shower and trying to contact the owners was impossible. We did get through to Steve who told us we need to speak to Linda. After about the 6th attempt we gave up and received no phone call from either owner. We love Polperro and Looe but definately wouldn’t stay here again which is a shame.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Smell
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2015
Response from the Owner: I read with disappointment this review for Sunny Corner Cottage. I take all comments from guests very seriously. I am in the hospitality business and since taking over this cottage last year have invested significantly in redecoration, furnishings, quality linen and new drapes and equipment throughout. I have tried to contact the author of this review to understand the issues but at the time of writing have had no reply.
The cottage is used by many guests who bring their dogs on holiday as the property is clearly advertised as pet friendly. After a previous wet weather week it is very possible that a damp dog odour may have been present. The carpets in Sunny Corner are professionally steamed cleaned and left dry on the same day (twice a year). My electrician completed his monthly maintenance visit on Saturday 19th September the day after this guest left and reported back that he had replaced three light bulbs. In total the cottage has 17 individual light points in the downstairs open plan area. All new fittings and light bulbs were installed in November 2014. After this review, Osram bulbs have been fitted to all lamps which are Osram guaranteed for 5 years.
The cottage undergoes extensive weekly cleaning and this is the first complaint we have had in forty five weeks of occupied lettings, I accept however it is impossible for everything to be perfect at all times to everyone’s standards.
An issue with the shower that was highlighted within this review was confirmed on Thursday 24th September, the current guests were happy that this was not rectified until changeover day on the following Saturday. My cleaning team do not use all the equipment when servicing the property so I encourage guests to report issues so a speedy solution can be found and future guest are not impacted.
This review states that 6 attempts were made to contact the owner. My house manager reported that she took one call from the guest at 8:30am on the morning of commencement of the let requesting access. This was not possible as the previous guests had only just left the property and the cleaning was not scheduled until 12:30pm, the arrival time is clearly published at 3pm. My house manager reports that she had no missed calls or voicemails on her phone. My e-mail address is located at the bottom of the welcome letter on the wall in the dining area, and a copy of the welcome letter can also be found in the guest directory. I have received no contact from the author of this review prior to its entry. I have now added my personal mobile number to that of my house manager’s number.
I am sorry that this guest had a bad experience at Sunny Corner as I take guest’s holiday enjoyment very personally. I do not feel on this occasion that I was given adequate opportunity of rectifying the issues but respect the author’s views and will continue to invest in the cottage to improve the experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sianyjenk...
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“After spending one night here- I then rebooked for 2015”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

After staying in numerous holiday cottages in Polperro over the last 8 years and having 10 holidays here I think I have finally found my ideal holiday home. It has everything you need!! My husband plus our 2 boxer dogs spent a week here over New Years Eve. Our 2 friends stayed with us as well and they too, fell in love with Sunny Corner. Everywhere you look you can see his much time and effort has gone into the revamp of this cottage. I could go on for hours about how great Sunny Corner is but I'll just raise my favourite parts of this cottage:

The location is ideal as the allocated parking space is a few minutes walk away.
For a dog owner the top garden is secure.
The kitchen is very well equipped.
The heating and hot water can be adjusted as and when you want ( other properties have timer controls which you cannot alter?!).
So much storage and not at all cramps for 4 adults and 2 dogs!
Great location as the first pub of many is seconds away.

And finally... The owners!!! I have never before had the owner visit us with a card and gift for our stay!! Not only that but after chatting with them you can see how much they love what they have done here . All I can say is roll on December 2015 when we will be returning to Sunny Corner and the delights of Polperro x

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing