We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary treat”

The Bakehouse Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 196 Restaurants in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$32 - US$39
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Set on two floors and in an idyllic palm tree and twinkly light filled courtyard, the Bakehouse has been a part of the local community for the past 15 years. New owners Kim Letchford and Gary Francis took over on the 14th February 2017. Kim started working here over 8 years ago, when she did her work experience for school. She went on to study catering at the local college for 3 years and worked at the Bakehouse for most of that time as a chef, taking time out to work abroad. Gary for the past 6 years has been the sous chef at The very well known gastro pub The Victoria Inn, in Perranuthnoe. They are both very enthusiastic and innovative creating new and exciting dishes for their guests. They look forward to welcoming you to their restaurant to enjoy good food in a friendly modern restaurant.
Reviewed 24 September 2018

Went here for our 21st wedding anniversary after walking out of another local eatery. Tucked away but what a gem. Staff friendly and attentive. The food well presented and delicious, washed down with some good wine. OK not the cheapest in town but value for money. Good upstairs bar. Clean and tidy establishment that we would certainly recommend for that special evening.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (889)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 889 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

Came here for a family meal, the atmosphere and the service was very friendly and timely.
The starters were delicious if a bit small. Our steaks were all cooked to our liking and so was the hake. The risotto was also tasty but it was akin to a soup, and would have preferred it to have more rice.
Overall, the food was lovely albeit a bit on the expensive side. Was nice for a family meal.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Keah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

Went here with my wife off the cuff and so, so enjoyed our night. Lovely food, well presented with great service. Happy to recommend!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank ReturnorNot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

After reading a few negative reviews I was a bit nervous, but shouldn't have been. Barman was very friendly, Sunday carvery was very tasty and waitresses were busy cleaning tables and serving. The only negative was the sinks in ladies toilets needed a good clean and descale. But overall a very nice Sunday lunch experience. I will definitely visit again.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank margaret1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

Having walked 53 miles of the South West coastal path over the previous 4 days, we were delighted to find The Bakehouse. Delicious food (the hake was really special) and excellent service. A real treat, thank you

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Angela9901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bakehouse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Bakehouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing