We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy Nook”
other travellers have booked this property
St Michaels Mount nearby
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St Michaels Mount nearby
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
44 reviews
St Michaels Mount nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Penzance, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
TouringGo...
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Cosy Nook”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Old School Room. It was a cosy nook which provided a perfect base to explore Southern Cornwall. It was clean and modern and Kate, our host, was warm, friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katie G
1 review
“School room stay”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Had a lovely break here for our honeymoon the school room was perfect for our needs nice and peaceful and breakfast in the morning was great delivered at our requested time each morning. Would visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay for your honeymoon Katie would love to have you back. Xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicandNin...
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed 29 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We are returning customers to the school house.
The room is clean and quiet.
Last year we had breakfasts, very similar to the ones we received this year - but last year seemed better.
As we had an early start on the first morning (after a 9.1/2 hour drive) , we appreciated that it was too early for a 'fresh' hand delivered breakfast, but surely something could have been left in the small fridge?
An offer of cereal and milk (when we had already been out and purchased our own wasn't really good enough..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2017
Hi Nicola I called round to check everything was ok once you'd arrived and asked if you required any fruit or cereal for the next day as you had such an early start. You seemed quite happy and said no we bought bits with us don't worry. I feel this review now to be quite unfair. Glad you enjoyed the tuff en nuff challenge and Hope to see you again

Kate x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nspurlin
Temple, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy BnB with great Penzance location”
Reviewed 27 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at the School Room! Spacious, comfortable, attractive, it is exactly as pictured--very homey. Kate is the perfect host, welcoming and friendly, with great ideas of things to do and see. The School House is in Heamoor, just outside Penzance, and there are lots of things to see and do in the area--St. Michael's Mount, the Lizard peninsula, Penzance itself, Lands End, Mousehole. Every morning, Kate brought us a tasty breakfast in a basket, getting us off to a great start. It was a perfect and relaxing holiday!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2017
Lovely to meet you both and glad you enjoyed your stay please come again x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Where was my host?”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Nice room, clean and attractive, but we arrived at 3pm and waited in the rain. I eventually phoned the owner who was at a funeral and gave me the code for entry to the apartment. Heard from her later in the day asking if we needed anything and I replied to say we'd be away too early for breakfast but would appreciate some more milk. Nothing materialised and no message of apology or offer of a light packed breakfast, juice, fruit, anything at all. As a hostess myself I would certainly have made more effort to care for my guests.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2017
Hi Mary
Big apologise I do not understand why you were not sent the keycode when you booked. Unfortunately we were attending a funeral that afternoon and were out of signal hence not receiving a request for extra milk (I had left milk in the fridge for your arrival) until late that night.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing