We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great base to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Cape Cornwall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cape Cornwall
Seaview
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Cape Cornwall
Seaview
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Penzance, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Polish first
Any
English first
3Waverley
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dangerous!”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This property has two flights of steep stairs with no banisters or hand rails. There are loose rugs on polished floors, a large hole in the kitchen floor and no fire fighting equipment such as fire blanket or extinguisher.
The DVD did not work, the pillows were as thin as crisps and you could see daylight through the front door.
We left early, at considerable expense, because the people in the house next door were fitting a new water main and drilling through concrete for the entire time we were there from 8am to 8pm and sometimes 9.30pm.
The caretakers were lovely and the furnishing nice but I would rather have felt safe and had some peace and quiet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Mattress was good
Liked least: Lack of handrails and noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review, however your feedback has perplexed us.

We do clearly state in our description that the cottage is located in the heart of the town and is arranged over four floors. So you will encounter stairs to access the upper rooms.

We have one very large heavy 13ft by 8ft Persian rug on the floor in the front room but this has furniture on it and would be impossible to slip on, the rest of the house, apart from the kitchen and bathroom, is carpeted throughout.

There are a number of lovely plump pillows in each room available to you. You would have been able to use as many as you needed.

The hole we think you are referring to is a fire place and hearth which is a common feature in traditional Cornish cottage kitchens.

We have a fire extinguisher clearly displayed in the kitchen and have a number of smoke alarms situated throughout the house.

The DVD does work, so we will leave clearer instructions on how to operate it.

We are very sorry to hear that you decided to cut your holiday short. Noise from neighbours is extremely rare in the locality and is something we have not experienced before.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliette...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great base to stay”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was a great base while we travelled around the south of Cornwall over a long weekend with our teenage children. The accommodation was clean and well presented with really lovely original features.
Only issues we had were the very thin curtains in the bedrooms, which made for extremely early wake up calls, the mattress on our double bed was pretty difficult to sleep on as it appeared to be memory foam which had taken on the shape of several visitors, and the parking for our small 4x4 which was a little on the tight side.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it to family and friends if a few little changes were made for the comfort of visitors (bed and curtains).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the style of the house
Liked least: The curtains letting in too much light and the mattress on the double bed
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2015
Thank you, We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay. We welcome constructive feedback from our guests and will look into making those changes as suggested.

Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMaximuss
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Average”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed in Trezise Cottage for three nights.
Although the owners are very nice people and helpful providing all the necessary details, the place is outdated and need some proper refurbishment and decorating
Also there are too many instructions put all over the place of what to do, how as well as what not to do.
Penzance is very boring and there are not many good restaurants to go for a meal in the evening. Therefore you will be much better off to rent an apartment in St. Ives which is an excellent place.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review. We are sad to hear that your holiday in Cornwall did not live up to your expectations and that our newly re-furbished cottage wasn't to your taste.

Most of our guests find our house information useful, firstly, and especially, as it allows them to quickly familiarise themselves with the cottage so that they can spend more time enjoying their holiday. And secondly to assist in matters of health and safety.

Penzance is a vibrant town and in the cottage we have provided information on many really good places to eat, drink and socialise. it is a pity that you weren't able to find one during your short stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain F
Christchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage, well presented throughout. Ideally placed for a stroll into town but quiet location itself.”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Can recommend the Crown Pub nearby for some excellent ales and friendly staff. Also the Admiral Benbow for a character pub and good food. We visited the town for fishing holiday and the cottage offered the right accommodation for our group and well placed for all amenities.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2015
Thank you so much. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate that you have found the time to write such a lovely review and would be very happy to have you back.

Ps hope you used our special discount cards for the Crown.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruelle
New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Value for money.”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Perfect for a family of four, spotlessly clean, cozy and well positioned to get around surrounding areas of Penzance. Little corner shop for your essentials and easy walk to Restaurants and shops. Great view from the top bedroom, just lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable for four.
Liked least: Not all stairs had railings, no problem for us but maybe for others.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2015
Thank you so much. We really appreciate that you have taken the time to write such a lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$81
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing