We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We have found a gem & can't wait to return!”
Welcome to the quiet calm of Boscrowan
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the quiet calm of Boscrowan
Peace and Plenty Ring and Thimble next door - a thatched cottage for two
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Welcome to the quiet calm of Boscrowan
Peace and Plenty
Ring and Thimble next door - a thatched cottage for two
Relax in the sitting room with views over the gardens and orchard
The exceedingly well equipped kitchen
Twin  room
Half tester bed with silk drapes in the master bedroom
Friendly horses
Free rangers!
Enjoy afternoon tea in the summerhouse
Relax on a patio in the sunshine
Daffodil fields to enjoy
Peacefully located Boscrowan is a gateway to the Far West of Cornwall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Penzance, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
JamesDean...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We have found a gem & can't wait to return!”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have holidayed in Cornwall for many years and have for the best part stayed in very nice places but Boscrowan beats the lot. There are two cottages next to eachother and we stayed in the Ring & Thimble which is the 1 bed thatched cottage. The owners, Elizabeth & David, are first-class hosts and everything you could possibly need and more is catered for in the cottage. It is spotlessly clean and wonderfully decorated - Elizabeth makes the soft furnishings and they are delightful. The Aga provides constant hot water, and so taking full advantage and relaxing in the lovely spacious bathroom in the roll-top bath is a necessity! Vases of beautiful flowers are in every room to welcome you, as well as home-baked scones, jams & clotted cream, a trug of seasonable vegetables, your own home-grown lettuce patch for your sole use, etc, etc. Their care and commitment really shows throughout and Elizabeth & David put so much effort in making your stay just perfect.

There are lots of places to eat nearby, fabulous beaches, you can tap into a bit of culture if you like by way of the Minack Theatre or the nearby galleries such as the Penlee Gallery in Penzance. Or you can just stay in and put your feet up with a good book - very therapeutic, try it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2015
Thank you for your very kind compliments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Ring and Thimble and loved the cottage and also that you found the location so ideal to visit your favourite places without having to travel very far from here. What greater compliment for us than you booking your next 2 holidays here for next year and 2017 before you had left, even!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAS726
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just spent the week in Peace and Plenty at Boscrowan and thoroughly enjoyed staying in such a pretty, well equipped cottage. On our arrival we had a lovely greeting from Elizabeth and a wonderful afternoon tea was laid out for us to enjoy. The cottage is in a great position to explore the area. We felt very comfortable and relaxed. We would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting of the property, the property itself
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2015
Thank you for your kind compliments and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. A holiday at Boscrowan wouldn't be complete without the homemade cream tea awaiting your arrival, the moment you walk in your cottage door! Our location has proven to be a very popular one over the years as there are so many iconic places - St Ives, St Michaels Mount, the Minack Theatre, Lands End, numerous beaches, to mention but a few, such a short distance away. It is ideal to be staying in the countryside yet 2 minutes walk from a very well stocked local store, also a pub, chemist, baker and Post Office. There's even a bus stop just 5 mins away if you come by public transport.

We hope you returned home relaxed and refreshed!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobtbell
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pride of the West”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

What has happened here is that a couple of people have spent years figuring out how to give visitors the best possible holiday that could be imagined. Well - they have succeeded. Peace and Plenty will give you the perfect Cornish holiday. And if you can find anything missing - then just ask Elizabeth and David because they will be delighted to provide the answer. Yes Peace and Plenty is for me the second best holiday experience in the West Country - and that is because the best is next door in Ring and Thimble.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seamless quality in all directions - wherever you looked
Liked least: The road leading away
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2014
Thank you for another lovely review. We enjoy your annual or sometimes twice a year visit to Boscrowan as much as you seem to enjoy coming to stay. We realise that for some non aga owners then Ring and Thimble just gives them that extra experience and may have the edge on its neighbour but I have to say that the 2 loaves you baked for us in Peace and Plenty during your stay this week would have received top marks and a host of fine compliments on the BBC Bake Off.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelvinmos...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“just perfect, visiting once you will want to come back”
Reviewed 15 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Beautiful quiet place, owners take lots of pride in what they do, well looked after land, animals and garden. The cottage equipped to very high standards, every detail is well thought through, a touch of quality everywhere. Very good heating system with wireless control, even at a cold evening, the cottage can be wormed up in few minutes.
We used regularly fresh vegetables and apples from the garden, the location is good to explore Cornwall.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2014
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your holiday and the extra delights such as picking apples straight from the trees in the orchard - it's a lovely time of year to visit Cornwall when everywhere is that little bit quieter yet the weather still warm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HenGus
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Plenty of peace and comfort....”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We last visited this part of Cornwall forty years ago - a lot has changed. After much research, we were fortunate to come across Boscrowan Farm as the base for our holiday. We chose Peace and Plenty and we were not disappointed. On arrival, we received a very warm welcome from the owner (and her two dogs and cat) and after a short introduction to the cottage we sat down to enjoy an excellent Cornish cream tea.

The cottage was exceptionally clean and well-equipped with some nice and unexpected extras. We have stayed in a a number of Premier Cottages over the past 5 years, and Peace and Plenty was definitely one of the best. We could have lit the large wood-burning stove but elected not to do so as the cottage was already at a nice, comfortable temperature. The living and sleeping levels are reversed which means that the bedroom is cool which is something that we prefer.

Unlike some cottages that we have stayed in - things work. There is good wifi throughout the cottage, and the power of the shower is second to none. Access to the property is also very good (unlike some where the owner forgets to mention that a 4 by 4 might be helpful) and, although it is close to some useful local amenities, the cottage is very quiet by night.

The owner’s two ambassadors make daily calls to check on their guests’ welfare. We found that the occasional dog biscuit in return was much appreciated.

Boscrowan Farm is an ideal holiday location and the owners (Elizabeth and David) go out of their way to make the holiday special. If you are thinking of visiting Cornwall, then Boscrowan farm should be at the top of your list.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: As described on the website. Luxury accommodation at an affordable price. Excellent owners.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Boscrowan and that the cottage was everything that you expected. Thank you for your very complimentary review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1 070
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing